13 Reviews

wonderful,a bit bland, but the great texture made up for it. My wife added a bit of parmesan-EXCUISITE! COULD USE SALT? BUT OVERALL, GREAT AS IS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!instead of noodles,always add fettucini(sp)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larry #2 October 19, 2007

A nice basic dish that would benefit from salt and pepper, also would highly recommend fallowing the suggestion to use bacon grease. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl October 26, 2013

Great! Used more butter than it called for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenny.harnish November 21, 2009

I'm 6 monts pregnant and yesterday, I was craving Polish food like never before. This hearty comfort dish totally fit the bill! I added smoked paprika and bits of vegetarian sausage for more flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Pumpkin November 03, 2009

Pittsburgh-style Haluski is simpler. Just saute the onions & shredded cabbage in butter until soft, then add to cooked noodles. No sugar, no oil, no apostrophes in plurals!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anorris583 April 14, 2009

This was excellent. I used about 3 cloves of garlic, and added some parmesan cheese to give it some added flavor. The brown sugar gave it some sweetness which made the taste more interesting. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ron Davis October 13, 2008

Tasty and easy, we had a cabbage to use up and this fit the bill. I used the ingrediants noted above and the recipe as a guide generally, but didn't measure anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos January 01, 2012

Tasty and filling. DD (toddler) and I liked this a vegetarian meal in itself with corn free ketchup! I made ours gluten free by using rice penne pasta. I used some extra butter as I love it, unrefined extra virgin olive oil, dark brown sugar, sea salt, plus the rest of the ingredients. I followed version #2 but covered the pan most of the time for quicker cooking, it still browned a bit. I did add the salt and pepper although it leaves that instruction out in that version I believe that was a mistake. I would make this again for an easy meal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 19, 2011

This tasted really good. We had a bunch of Germans and Canadians for dinner last night. I think that the Germans didn't know what to think of it, but after rave reviews from the cabbage lovers in the crowd, most of it got eaten up. Good comfort food recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 February 22, 2009

Simpley the best, comfort food cannot get any better than this! I increased the garlic and added in crushed red chili flakes, I love your choice of variations, good job! this makes a wonderful side dish to any meal thanks for sharing Di!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz August 22, 2008
Noodles, Cabbage and Onions - Halushki