Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Noodles and Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Noodles and Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2011

      A nice quick and simple recipe. I add a little bit of Dashida (an asian beef soup stock), Garlic Powder, Pepper, Sugar, and a few dashes of hot sauce for spice. Just not too much of everything, just enough to give it a little something. Next time, I will add onions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      My Grandmother in law used to make this all the time too. She always served it with "smokies" (smoked sausages) Brings back fond memories of Nana! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Being from the South, we use bacon grease instead of butter. Try it!! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      My Mom used to make a version of this and she chopped up an 8oz block of cheddar cheese into cubes and added that. I make it alot. You could also use canned chopped tomatoes that come in italian and mexican style with spices already added.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      This sounded like comfort food to me so I gave it a try and what do you know.....my grandma (and my dad) used to make this for us too only with ground beef in it. Thanks for reminding me! I will make this again but add the ground beef next time :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I really liked this. Just a simple meal that was easy to make. I used blue box noodles because I was out of elbows so I had to get creative. I served it with a side salad to round out dinner. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      My parents grandparents made this all the time. I love making it, though I have never seen it with added butter. I may try it. My dads mom added crisco to it once and it was awful, but everyone else went wild.. So great recipe, I like mine with black pepper, will try with garlic powder as suggested by another poster.. This is comfort food for me. Glad to see that others find it to be good as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This recipe saved me tonight. I wasted 35 mins trying do to a different one and it didnt turn out at all so when i came across this i was very happy. my boys (ages 3 & 1) is enjoying it right now. i added some garlic powder to the tomatoes and had a can of stewed tomatoes that I needed to get rid of. I plan on buying crushed tomatoes to try with this too since the stewed ones all went to the very bottom of the pot. Thanks so much for this life saving recipe for my boys!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      I was looking for a simple recipe to use up a can of crushed tomatoes that I had and was thrilled to find this one. I was pleased with the way this came out although it wasn't what I expected. It was sweeter and tangier than I thought, but good nonetheless. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      My hubsand and kids loved it. Reminded me of Spaghetti-O's, both smell and taste and I was turned off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I just made these earlier this week for dinner for my mom, she loves this recipe. My dad and I add sugar to ours after we plate it. YUMMO! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Both my mom and grandma used to make this when I was a kid. They usually made homemade noodles. Sometimes they would use tomato soup instead of tomato. I have made it myself, but its just not the same as when they make it, lol! Great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Super quick and easy!! I added some Italian seasoning to mine. Just throw in some cooked chicken, steamed veggies and parmesan cheese and you have a decent meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      Wow! Desperate for something quick and easy to cook the family, this went down a treat. Added 1/2 a teaspoon of minced garlic to the melted butter and used some leftover linguine from the night before. Added some low fat grated cheese after the tomatoes. Can see myself adding some cooked chicken to the pot next time. Thanks for such a tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Doesn't get much more simple than this. Tastes great, too! Due to pantry limitations, I ended up using diced tomatoes (Italian) in lieu of crushed and added a little garlic powder. Simmered butter and sauce together for a bit before adding to whole grain fettuccine and topped with Parmesan cheese. Everyone in the family loved it (teenager and preschooler, included). Perfect for busy, week night dinners! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I used whole wheat bow tie noodles, it was a little too bland but tasted ok my toddler spit it out, however the next day I heated it up w/ a little garlic powder sprinkled on it and served it w/ Parmesan cheese and my 1.5 year old loved it and so did I so I will make again w/ those additions. Very simple thanks for an easy go to recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      I was in panic mode cooking dinner tonight and started cooking elbow macaroni before I knew what I was going to do with it! While I had chicken and zucchini on the grill I quickly got on 'zaar knowing I'd find a recipe to bail me out! This was it, and my 2 boys ate all the Noodles and Tomatoes before even trying the chicken and zucchini. I used Smart Balance light instead of butter. I also kept the noodle/ butter/tomato mixture on low heat for 10 minutes which I think melded the flavors together well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I love this and can also eat alot of it all by myself!!! My great-aunt Ruby (best cook in the world) used to make this with a pinch of sugar and bacon grease in place of the butter. Made either way it is delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I used Italian diced tomatoes. Used a chopper and it pretty much crushed them like a blender would. I used less butter and added some olive oil. This is way easy. I make something like this too. You know when your 5 yo opens a can of tomatoes and you don't know what to do with them...you go to Recipezaar.com to find a recipe. LOL...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      Funny....my grandmother made this too :) I'm going to make it tonight...only instead of butter a tablespoon or so of olive oil. I would also suggest cooling the pasta under cold tap water after it's cooked....for a cold tomato pasta effect. I would say this is a very easy recipie and should be a staple in my kitchen. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Noodles and Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.4
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    26%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 53.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites