Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Noodles and Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Noodles and Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2014

      I loved this and have also had a version of it made with homemade potato dumplings that my Polish aunt used to make for us.. When I made this before I did add some bacon so I added it again. Used packaged kluski noodles and did chop more cabbage, my fav. Didnt top with the sour cream but sure did enjoy my dinner. Thank you for sharing Phil! Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef - Spring 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      I've been making this for years now. I add some sliced smoked sausage or kielbasi with the onions, quarter up a whole head of cabbadge and add some granulated chicken bouillon. excellent recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Made this following recipe,then near the end tasted and just added a splash of rice vinegar, and that for some reason mellowed it to a sweeter meld. The only way you could go wrong is by adding too many noodles, I thought the one pound of cooked noodles way too much. I think I like it more cabbage than noodles, so next time will add just enough to suit the way I like it, this time I just tossed in all the cooked noodles. Also the buttery cabbage is so nice and moist it keeps the noodles moist in the mouth with cabbage juices instead of swimming in butter. Will make this again for sure. Oh I did add caraway too. Ate without sour cream as I didn't have it but next time will add it as I can see where is going to work well, overall this reminds me of perogie only with more flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was a pretty good, quick and easy meal. We made it for one of our weekly "veggie nights". I used spaghetti instead of wide noodles since that is what I had on hand. I added parmesan cheese to the top of my kids plates to get them to eat it better. My daughter loved it, my son did not. I thought it was wonderful. My husband always takes leftovers the next night to work since he works 2nd shift and doesn't eat dinner with us. He ended up forgetting to grad dinner on the way out the door the other night after a hectic day and never did get to try it yet. We did not have the sour cream on hand so maybe next time we will give that a whirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      We thoroughly enjoyed this dish, though I did make a few changes as a result of other reviewers' suggestions and also because I was influenced by my recipe for Hungarian Noodles and Cabbage. I loved Mishkapett's use of bacon grease: that meant having 3 rashers of chopped bacon to add (added in step five). Cooking the onions and cabbage as Mishkapett suggested for several hours over a low heat made the cabbage and onions just SO wonderfully flavoursome. Towards the end of the cooking time, I added 4 cloves of finely minced garlic and a sprinkling of brown sugar. Instead of sour cream, I added a couple of generous dollops of creamy Greek yoghurt. We ate half of these noodles the night I made them, and the rest two nights later. Mishkapett is absolutely right: this is one of those recipes that is even better a day or two after it's been cooked. If you are using Greek yoghurt (or probably any yoghurt) instead of the sour cream, it's best to add it only the amount to be eaten at the time, as left for a day or two, it tends to separate in a way that sour cream doesn't. Though it could be drained easily! Next time I make this, I'm going to double the recipe and add some leeks. If you've not tried onions, leeks and garlic together, try them! It's also good to know that there is a super quick version of the recipe for those many, many times when speed is the essence!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      This is true comfort food!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This was great; even moreso than I had expected. I used far more cabbage (to use the whole head) and cooked it longer, and also added 5 cloves of garlic, along with the S+P and some nutmeg. I used olive oil in place of butter. Following some other reviewers' musings, I added some prosciutto, which was nice, and topped each serving with 'shards' of parmesan cheese. Yes, these additions were beyond the 'basic' beginnings of the recipe, but would have been wasted on anything that wasn't so good to start with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      "i haven't tried this recipe but it sounds spot on... my grandma would make this for me every time i was feeling blue while i was growing up.... she's still kicking at 95 today and would love to see old homeworld recipes reinvented for a new generations..... good job

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This came out very good. I added some roasted garlic and some Old Bay seasoning along with the salt and pepper. I could see how frying a couple pieces of bacon or sausage along with it would be good too. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      This was okay, just kind of bland. I might try it again sometime with sausage or something added for extra seasoning, maybe some garlic or maybe just garlic sausage. On the up side I liked the texture and I used coleslaw mix for the cabbage and frozen chopped onions so there was no actual effort on my part and it went from boing water to the table in about 12 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      Took other reviewers suggestions and first browned smoked sausage, and then sauteed the cabbage in the sausage drippings (drain most off). Wow! This is great, hearty fare and so simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      this was very tasty. I wanted to add some smoked sausage but was out, so I used plain old weiners. Very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      Growing up in a Hungarian household we always had this at Friday night dinners. My mother always used bow-tie noodles, and so did I. Left out the sour cream because we had this with chicken (religious restriction) but did add some caraway seeds for nostagia. Good recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      This is so good, we added pork sausage, cooked seperately. You could add bacon , weiners or garlic sausage also. It would take a bit of sauerkraut too. We will make it many times. It is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      This is an excellent recipe. This is the exact one I use with one difference...I use equal amounts of bacon grease and butter to fry the cabbage and onions. I let the cabbage and onions cook on low heat for 3 to 4 hours. For some reason, the longer it cooks, it picks up an almost garlic flavor. I also don't serve it the day I make it either...I wait until the next day and again, for some reason, it tastes even better. Either way you make it, it's a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Hello Phil....I have made something very similar to this except I have never tried it with the sourcream, I usually add a little soya sauce. Next time I make this I will try the sourcream. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Noodles and Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 563.9
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    26%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 126.2 mg
    42%
    Sodium 138.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.9 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites