16 Reviews

Delicious! The Japanese restaurant we frequent adds mustard sauce to their fried rice while they are cooking it. Having this recipe takes my homemade fried rice from good to (almost) identical to theirs! My 12 yr old son wants fried rice everyday! I didn't add any water because I felt that would only dilute the flavor. I now keep this in my refrigerator all the time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rolltidemom July 10, 2012

Spot on! I love this sauce! I remember getting from the nicer Japanese steakhouses back in the day. I could eat this on a flip flop! I did take the advice of prev posts about less water. I opted for no water

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seth M. May 06, 2014

gochisosama deshita This made a pleasant sauce. We used it for dipping sushi in. DH confessed it was too spicy for him which is strange as i'm usually the one crying in pain when he waves a chili near food. My only niggle is that is very thin, I would prefer it if it was the consistency of heavy cream, next time I will try leaving out the water and some of the milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkCherryBlossom October 12, 2006

This is an absolutely fantastic recipe! I'm so excited to be able to make it at home. I like my sauce a little thicker, so based on some of the other reviews, I left out the water completely and used 7 tablespoons of cream instead of 5 milk / 2 cream. On first taste the soy was still the dominant flavor, so I added another 1/2 tsp of mustard. At that point it was PERFECT. Tastes EXACTLY like the sauce I love so much at our local Miyabi hibachi chain. Fantastic on filet mignon. Now I need to learn to do a good Japanese fried rice. It also makes more than you think. I doubled the recipe since I usually go heavy on the sauce. It was enough for dinner for my wife and I AND four small freezer containers for later. LOVE!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charles August 26, 2015

Perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenguidi May 06, 2015

Made this last night to go with our own

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlibertto_10544791 January 08, 2014

We really enjoyed this steak sauce last night over our ribeyes prepared in the grill pan. After a busy day at work, it was nice not to have to chop/mince anything but a clove of garlic. Like another reviewer, we found the sauce a little bit thinner than what we usually like (and I used only 4 Tb of milk). I might cut back on the water next time. Otherwise, the sauce had great flavor, nice heat, and we really enjoyed it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 05, 2010

Only reason i gave it 5 stars, because i couldn't give it 6. Great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodonnell December 17, 2009

Great Mustard Sauce! The toasted sesame seed made for a wow. Tantalizes the taste buds - perfectly complimented the roast. A rerun already planned - when I next bake salmon. Can't wait to impress family and friends with this delicious sauce! Thank you for a mustard sauce that is so easily made and tastes so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry October 31, 2008

ZWT4: I love mustard sauces and this is at the top of that list!! I made it tonight and it is excellent - I know it will taste even better tomorrow with the steaks I will be making!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose May 27, 2008
Nona's Japanese Steakhouse Mustard Sauce