14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! The Japanese restaurant we frequent adds mustard sauce to their fried rice while they are cooking it. Having this recipe takes my homemade fried rice from good to (almost) identical to theirs! My 12 yr old son wants fried rice everyday! I didn't add any water because I felt that would only dilute the flavor. I now keep this in my refrigerator all the time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rolltidemom July 10, 2012

Spot on! I love this sauce! I remember getting from the nicer Japanese steakhouses back in the day. I could eat this on a flip flop! I did take the advice of prev posts about less water. I opted for no water

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seth M. May 06, 2014

Made this last night to go with our own

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlibertto_10544791 January 08, 2014

We really enjoyed this steak sauce last night over our ribeyes prepared in the grill pan. After a busy day at work, it was nice not to have to chop/mince anything but a clove of garlic. Like another reviewer, we found the sauce a little bit thinner than what we usually like (and I used only 4 Tb of milk). I might cut back on the water next time. Otherwise, the sauce had great flavor, nice heat, and we really enjoyed it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 05, 2010

Only reason i gave it 5 stars, because i couldn't give it 6. Great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodonnell December 17, 2009

Great Mustard Sauce! The toasted sesame seed made for a wow. Tantalizes the taste buds - perfectly complimented the roast. A rerun already planned - when I next bake salmon. Can't wait to impress family and friends with this delicious sauce! Thank you for a mustard sauce that is so easily made and tastes so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry October 31, 2008

ZWT4: I love mustard sauces and this is at the top of that list!! I made it tonight and it is excellent - I know it will taste even better tomorrow with the steaks I will be making!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose May 27, 2008

Excellent! I made this ahead to go with steaks, but also tried it as a dip for barbecued pork. Wonderful! Saving the rest in the freezer to try with all kinds of things. Thanks Rinshinomori. Made for Pac Spring 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme April 04, 2008

Fantastic over our grilled steaks. Made for Aussie Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive March 08, 2008

WOW! This recipe tastes just like the sauce from a favorite resturant of mine thanks so much for posting we used it for a meat fondue. EXCELENT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladybug929 January 22, 2008
Nona's Japanese Steakhouse Mustard Sauce