Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Non Food Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Non Food Cinnamon Ornaments

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2002

      Made these a few years ago and they smell SOO good! I've since lost the recipe but am glad to see it here. Made several for drawer inserts and used cinnamon and sugar oil to enhance the natural cinamon. Perfect for christmas gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      I just love these. I needed only 1 Tbs more of applesauce. I baked them in the oven at 150 for 1 hour then shut off the oven and left them in all night. (that was since supper was still heating on that temp. Use the cinnamon just like you would flour while rolling. used a gingerbread man cookie cutter and a straw to cut holes in the head to hand. They curled up a bit so they look like a gingerbread man trying to give you a hug. Smell nice too and after being used as a name tag it can be an ornament. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      Addendum: I made these again last night as an ocean mobile - hung from the ceiling ( my passion is the ocean / surfing ) for my DS. I free handed the fish, starfish, seashells, dolphins and seagulls, oven dryed them, used invisible thread of varying lengths so as not to break / crack as they swing in the air ( buy invisible thread in the notions dept.) I then lightly sprayed them with unscented hairspray and quickly sprinkled each one with various colours of glitter. I then bought a small plug in spotlight nightlight which points up onto the mobile highlighting it. My DH now wants me to make a " universe mobile " to teach him of the planets, moon and stars. My DH's passion is astromony, I'm starting to think that one may be for him too. I'm still the " Bestest Mommy "... Thanks to you !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      I make some almost the same as these every year, never put the extra oil, will have to try it. To keep them from curling up, dry them on a wire rack and turn them severl times a day until dry. Thats how I do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2003

      We were really strapped financially for Christmas so I made a quadruple batch of these as well as some other ornaments to off-set the cost of Christmas gifts this year. Like others have mentioned, I used a straw for the hole to hang them. I did end up using half the cinnamon oil called for as I didn't realize I had so much cinnamon and could otherwise quadruple the recipe. I also only had to add about a tablespoon of applesauce for the dough to be of good rolling consistency. I used Christmas cookie cutters, gingerbread men and hearts. To decorate them, I mixed white glue (I used Elmers) 50% glue and 50% water, then took paint brushes and brushed it on and sprinkled with glitter or dotted with the glue and put on sparkly sequins. I dried them in my dehydrator (it has a fan which improves air circulation) and they didn't curl up at all. When they were about half way dry, I flipped each of them over. They were dry the next morning. We usually go back to bed for naps on Christmas morning after opening gifts, but this year the whole family was at the dining table decorating these and we all thought it was the best Christmas morning ever! Thank you for sharing a recipe with me that helped to contribute to a really special Christmas this year Annelies!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2002

      Thank you Anneleise, this was my zaartag recipe and they are wonderful. If you can make cutout cookies you can make these! I used cinnamon oil, and made hearts and stars, used a straw to punch a hole and tied them with red and white checked bows to my kitchen tree. Really cute and smells great too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I made these with my son a long time ago and forgot to review them. This is a great project to do with kids. It's important to make sure that the holes for the string are far enough away from the edge so that the outer part doesn't break off--I had trouble with a couple. They're fun and easy to make. They make the house smell good, and store very well. Great crafts recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      I've been making these cookie ornaments every year for the past 10 years or so; I even had a few last that long! A few drops of oil on the back freshens them up. This a great dough, easy to work with, easy for the kids too. They really do make wonderful gifts; be it to teachers, neighbors, family members or postman …I gave them to the garbage collectors one year for x-mas and one of the gentlemen came back on his day off to ask my for recipe because his wife loved them and wanted make them too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      i love these!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      These worked wonderfully! I added a little more cinnamon and craft glue than called for, since my dough was quite wet and sticky when made as directed. I haven't had any problems with them crumbling, and they seem quite durable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      what a wonderful recipe!! smells great! i used apple cinnamon oil and instead of the ground cloves i used applepie spice and allspice in another batch. my daughter and i had great quality time making these. after we decorated them i took a paint brush and brushed apple cinnamon oil on the entire front and back of the ornament. i showed them to my mother and she wants several for her tree so we decided to give them as a before christmas gift so that others may enjoy their wonderful fragrance

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      This smells heavenly! I made a reduced batch and shaped 2 ornaments using a large clay mold and then used the scraps to shape several small gift tags. I cut a hole for hanging with a straw and then air dried. A week later the large ones fell apart with handling. I would definitely bake the larger ones next time. The small gift tags dried fine & are ready for decorating. The broken ones still smell good so I have the pieces in a bowl. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      Thank you so much for such a great recipe!! I had a holiday sleepover with a couple buddies last night and was in the forums requesting a non-food ornament recipe. Someone gave me the link for all that type of recipe and I found this one, I'm so glad I did!! It is nice and spongy and smells great (I used apple fragrance oil). We had a blast with it, bake at 200 degrees F for 1 and a half hours, decorated with 3-D craft pain and acrylic paint, and they were ready to seal into plastic baggies in just around 3 hours. Just make sure to dust your rolling out area with plenty of cinnamon, we had a bit of trouble with it sticking to the rolling pin! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      We all made these ornaments and let them harden in the oven at 200 as suggested. Decorating made them look wonderful... and they smelled great as well. Thanks for the detailed instructions and for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      We made these as a family 3 years ago. We store them in a tin during the year and they still are in great condition and have a lovely cinnamon smell. The only thing my recipe didn't call for was the oil. The kids loved decorating them and giving them as gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Beautiful dough! Doubled the recipe~i got 32 out of a double batch. I added the applesauce until the desired consistency. Used powdered cinnamon to roll out, cut into gingerbread man shapes, and I used a straw for the holes. They have been in the oven at 200 for 1 1/2 hours, and I have been flipping every 20 minutes. I also have a piece of foil over my cookie sheet (cleanup) and then paper towels over the foil in a 200 oven. When I flip, I flatten with my hands. I am a decorator and I am going to paint these, and paint names and faces to use for gift tags. Will post photo. These smell wonderful and I am going to make another double batch!! Thank You so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      This is an incredible recipe, if I could give it more stars I would. I used penzys cinnamon as they are xmas gifts and a cinnamon spice oil. This dough not only smells wonderful but the texture is the best. I did have to use exta applesauce but the dough texture was so good my son did not have any problem using it. I did both the air dry and oven. The first batch was in the oven, while the smell was wonderful after the ornaments came out and cooled off they curled up and lost some of their design from the carved mold I used but the second and third batch were air dried and I had no problems. The best part of this recipe is that the dough doesn't loose its scent a lot of the recipes out there do. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      I have always wanted to make gingerbreadmen ornaments and this recipe was just perfect! I used vegetable oil and baked them @ 200°F for 2 hours turning them twice. I love their dark brown color and used puffy fabric paint (white, red, and green - squeezed from the bottles) to decorate them. I tied some of them to wooden spoons with red ribbon to go with "food mix in a jar gifts" and the rest are on the Xmas tree. I had so much fun making these, they are adorable and smell heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Non Food Cinnamon Ornaments

    Serving Size: 1 (525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 48.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    98%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fragrance oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites