Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Non-Dairy Cream of Mushroom Soup Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Non-Dairy Cream of Mushroom Soup Substitute

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      Excellent! I used this as a vegan cream of mushroom soup for green bean casserole, and let me tell ya, this is da' bomb! Very delicious indeed, and was so perfect in all ways. I used *Silk* organic unsweetened milk. Thickened perfectly, and was so delicious, people were hoping I made extra soup. No. Sad faces abounded. Thank you! Made for Thanksgiving 2009

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      My son is allergic to dairy and soy - what a great recipe this is! I used shortening instead of margarine because it's hard to find a completely dairy-free one in my area. Rice milk worked well, although I used some corn starch in place of one of the T of flour, because I thought that might thicken the thin rice milk better. It did thicken it - no idea if it would have been OK anyway. I doubled the mushrooms and onions and added a very finely minced spicy pepper. It was so good we were tempted to just eat it straight, but I did forge ahead and put it in the tuna casserole. It was actually the best tuna casserole ever. I think we'll keep using this even if he outgrows his allergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Fantastic! Used it for a chicken and stuffing casserole. I used about 1/4 cup more milk though so I'd have enough and it still came out tasting great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Perfect! I decided to go kosher myself a year ago, and while visiting my mom, realized that I couldn't eat tater tot casserole anymore (I have gluten-intolerance, so I can't use fake meat). Thank you for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Oh, my goodness!! This was an amazing soup. I sub'd cornflour ( 1 1/2 Tbsps) for the reg. flour to make it gluten free and rice milk for the soy milk. No dairy, no gluten, no soy, but so yummm! Thanks for such a great post :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

    • on February 14, 2009

      Thank you, thank you, thank you...one of the hardest parts about going kosher is the fact that we loved so many of the dishes that used the cream of mushroom soup...my kids and I were so happy with this substitute and you helped me convince my husband a little more that we can keep kosher and not give up the things we like. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Don't forget to add the mushrooms back in at the end! Also, I used a bit less pepper. I also made a batch of this with a little extra soy milk to make a wonderful mushroom gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Thank you! My father is on a low salt diet and lactose intolerant. I simply omitted the added salt and the end product was better than the canned version. I've already adapted by using celery and more onion to make a variety of cream of __ soups. Tonight we're having baked pork steaks in gravy using this soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I can't tell you how excited I am to be able to eat a green bean casserole again!!! My green bean casserole tasted almost dead on like the dairy filled original! I did make a couple of changes - I add a little minced garlic in with the mushrooms and use onion powder instead of minced onion. I also use less soymilk - between 3/4 and 1 cup - it seems to be a more accurate consistency that way. Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Awesome! I was in a pinch tonight when making turkey tetrazzini. I was sure I had the cream of mushroom soup at home already. Well, I didn't. So I had to figure out what I could substitute. I didn't use the dairy-free items but I sure did love the end product! I would eat it as a soup by itself. It was yummy! And I feel much better about this version than the canned version. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Wow! I would have never figured this out on my own. Lol This really works great. I'll use this recipe in multiple ways with variations of seasonings and such. I've been looking for substitutes for all dairy products for quite a while. This is the first one I have found for cream of any type of soup. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Wow, I like this better than what comes in a can! So simple to make too. I used canned sliced mushrooms, drained them, put them in the pan and choppped them up. I added a dash of garlic salt to give a little extra flavor. THANK YOU FOR POSTING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This is a great substitute and I'm glad to have it in my arsenal! I used double the mushrooms, added a small clove of garlic, and tweaked the salt and onion levels a bit. I have used this recipe to make a vegetarian tater tot casserole, as well as green bean casserole - and got delightful results. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Instead of mushroom, I used garlic and I also used butter and spelt flour. I used it in a turkey-rice-mozza casserole I threw together... it was absolutely delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      This was surprisingly good! I used rice milk instead of soy, so it was a tad sweet... i added an extra 1/2 tsp of salt, and a clove of garlic. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Non-Dairy Cream of Mushroom Soup Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.0
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    19%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1319.6 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dairy-free margarine

    dairy-free margarine

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites