13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent cake, very yummy. I wanted to use eggs, so I cut the baking soda in half, left out the vinegar and used two eggs. It took a little longer to cook but turned out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shaelatoo January 08, 2009

Great recipe!! I was a little leary at first with the vinegar in it, but read all the reviews and they were all so fantastic. My friends' daughter is allergic to dairy, so I wanted to make sure that she could have cake at my sons party. I did this recipe into cupcakes - turned out great. So nice and moist, a bit hit. About 14-15 mins in the oven on 350F for cupcakes!! Also, my friend and husband were very greatful that their little girl didn't have to go without a chocolatey treat!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen.lovelace February 09, 2008

My son has a friend who is allergic to dairy and eggs so I searched for a cake recipe that I could make for a party that this child would be attending and tried this recipe. The cake was a huge hit with both the kids and the moms. It was easy to make and very yummy. I will be using this as my standard chocolate cake recipe from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betsmonster December 22, 2006

thank you Stacie for a wonderful recipe. this cake is extremely moist,rises quite nicely,tastes wonderful and is so easy to prepare! These ingredients are always on hand so it can be whipped up at a moments notice. I highly recommend this recipe. Awesome with or without frosting. I'm going to make this cake next time by adding some chocolate chips and omit frosting so i can have it on hand as a *snack cake* for my sons lunches and after school. Yummy :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canadianhockeymom September 15, 2003

Just tried this recipe today. Excellent chocolate flavor and moist! I actually forgot to add the vinegar, but somehow it still came out great. I used 1 cup sugar (that's all I had) and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It worked! Just want to add that this recipe is super easy and quick to make. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maiy March 18, 2015

I have a friend who has kids who are allergic to eggs and dairy. She gave me this recipe to try and I just found it on Zaar! My DD also is allergic to dairy so I'm always looking yummy treats for her. The only difference was that her recipe called for 2 tsp. of vinegar instead of 2 Tbsp. and hers had 2/3 c. oil instead of 3/4 c. oil. So, apparently a little more or less doesn't hurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristiJoy April 14, 2010

After learning my newborn is allergic to both milk AND soy, the chocoholic in me panicked until I found this recipe... Its super-easy and tastes great!! (And since frosting is out with those allergies, we topped each piece with cherry pie filling and marshmallows for an extra sugar jolt. Great fresh-out-of-the-oven or cool!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahnose August 22, 2008

Awesome cake!! We make this all the time! I got the recipe from my MIL and we know it as Screwball Chocolate Cake- it's great with ice cream!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MistressRach July 28, 2008

fantastic cake, my son is allergic to dairy and eggs, its now the only cake I bake now a days. It's even better after being in the fridge the next day, freezes well too. It makes great cupcakes with melted Lindt dark chocolate (dairy free) as icing topped with fresh raspberry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jill June 13, 2008

Something is wrong with this cake. It's the worst chocolate cake I ve ever had , and believe me, I ve had many. I didn't know you could mess up a recipe so much.... The cake looked like a big rock, and when you have a bite of it, you have to chew it for a least 5 minutes before giving up and spitting it. Moreover, it serves like 20 people, so I ended up throwing out the whole thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuisine #2 May 14, 2008
Non-Dairy Chocolate Cake