12 Reviews

This is an excellent condimant to serve with any roast, like horseradish or crsnberry sauce or mint jelly. I'e made it as Alaska Rhubarb and Onion Relish, but in all the years I've made it and all the times I've seen the recipie, no one knows where the Alaska comes from. I put up a batch every year. Makes great Xmas gifts.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife May 18, 2002

Great recipe! I did omit the table salt and reduce the clove to 1/2 teaspoon. I tried the relish out on some friends as a glaze for grilled chicken and got rave reviews. So far I have put up 16 8oz. jars. We'll see how many I give away and how many I keep for myself...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beanwean May 05, 2003

Wonderful recipe! This is my first review and I made this on a whim and I now have gifts for my gourmet friends. I can't wait until they taste it. Need more recipes like this. I also omitted the salt and reduced the cloves to 1/2 tsp. Five stars and more!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
34state May 12, 2003

At this time of year I always seek out recipes for relishes and condiments to put up in jars in preparation for Christmas. Since I adore rhubarb with pork, this recipe is ideal and am grateful for its inclusion in RecipeZaar, and particularly its mention in the latest Eater's Digest. I do not have to search postings for good relishes. One click and there you are.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA May 09, 2003

After reading other comments about the final product; I decided to adjust the cooking times a bit. I just mixed all ingredients in the saucepan as the first step. Brought them to a boil for 10 minutes. Then, I removed the solids with a slotted spoon, and shocked them in an iced water bath. I continued to reduce the liquid down quite a bit. Did this till the volume matched the reserved onion and rhubarb pulp. Mixed all back together, and chilled. This produced a chunkier, fresher end result. I used room temp. as a relish for sirloin pork roast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potatohead September 22, 2009

This is a delicious condiment. I wanted to keep some texture, so I started by simmering the cider vinegar, added the spices and sugar, and then added the onions and rhubarb. The rhubarb cooked down, but the onions kept some shape. I didn't have any celery salt, so I just left that out. Delicious, savory, tart, and just wonderful with roast pork.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two February 08, 2014

Absolutely delicious!! Decided to whip up a batch to give away as xmas fillers but now I don't really want to share it!! I halved the salt and added a chopped chilli, 1c sultanas, 2t crushed garlic, 1t minced ginger & 1/2t ground ginger & it's just perfect!! So simple!! Looking forward to making over & over again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondnz December 18, 2012

I just finished making a recipe very similar to this (from Recipezaar #12546) except with less vinegar,3 cps brown sugar and I added more pepper & some chili pwdr. The original was fantastic! So unusual, but full of flavor over meats... it's worth the experiment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JWS May 08, 2010

I also thought this might be a strange combination, but this relish is very tasty. My husband loves it and I got 8 cups from this recipe. It is more like a sauce, but it will be condiment for pork or chicken and sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alnkathy May 07, 2010

I was kinda turned off at first. This is more the consistance of a sauce. I guess the word 'relish' gave me the impression that it would be chunky, sort of like pickle relish. Of course, once I tasted it.....who cares what it looks like. :) The flavour is wonderful. I had it on burgers tonight, and I even gave a jar to our supper guests. They also enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 May 20, 2007
Nome Rhubarb and Onion Relish