Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nome Rhubarb and Onion Relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nome Rhubarb and Onion Relish

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2002

      This is an excellent condimant to serve with any roast, like horseradish or crsnberry sauce or mint jelly. I'e made it as Alaska Rhubarb and Onion Relish, but in all the years I've made it and all the times I've seen the recipie, no one knows where the Alaska comes from. I put up a batch every year. Makes great Xmas gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      Great recipe! I did omit the table salt and reduce the clove to 1/2 teaspoon. I tried the relish out on some friends as a glaze for grilled chicken and got rave reviews. So far I have put up 16 8oz. jars. We'll see how many I give away and how many I keep for myself...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      Wonderful recipe! This is my first review and I made this on a whim and I now have gifts for my gourmet friends. I can't wait until they taste it. Need more recipes like this. I also omitted the salt and reduced the cloves to 1/2 tsp. Five stars and more!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2003

      At this time of year I always seek out recipes for relishes and condiments to put up in jars in preparation for Christmas. Since I adore rhubarb with pork, this recipe is ideal and am grateful for its inclusion in RecipeZaar, and particularly its mention in the latest Eater's Digest. I do not have to search postings for good relishes. One click and there you are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      After reading other comments about the final product; I decided to adjust the cooking times a bit. I just mixed all ingredients in the saucepan as the first step. Brought them to a boil for 10 minutes. Then, I removed the solids with a slotted spoon, and shocked them in an iced water bath. I continued to reduce the liquid down quite a bit. Did this till the volume matched the reserved onion and rhubarb pulp. Mixed all back together, and chilled. This produced a chunkier, fresher end result. I used room temp. as a relish for sirloin pork roast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      This is a delicious condiment. I wanted to keep some texture, so I started by simmering the cider vinegar, added the spices and sugar, and then added the onions and rhubarb. The rhubarb cooked down, but the onions kept some shape. I didn't have any celery salt, so I just left that out. Delicious, savory, tart, and just wonderful with roast pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      Absolutely delicious!! Decided to whip up a batch to give away as xmas fillers but now I don't really want to share it!! I halved the salt and added a chopped chilli, 1c sultanas, 2t crushed garlic, 1t minced ginger & 1/2t ground ginger & it's just perfect!! So simple!! Looking forward to making over & over again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      I just finished making a recipe very similar to this (from Recipezaar #12546) except with less vinegar,3 cps brown sugar and I added more pepper & some chili pwdr. The original was fantastic! So unusual, but full of flavor over meats... it's worth the experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      I also thought this might be a strange combination, but this relish is very tasty. My husband loves it and I got 8 cups from this recipe. It is more like a sauce, but it will be condiment for pork or chicken and sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I was kinda turned off at first. This is more the consistance of a sauce. I guess the word 'relish' gave me the impression that it would be chunky, sort of like pickle relish. Of course, once I tasted it.....who cares what it looks like. :) The flavour is wonderful. I had it on burgers tonight, and I even gave a jar to our supper guests. They also enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      This is SO GOOD. A delectable combination of sweet and spicy. Perfect made as is if you really like a kick to your condiments. 1 batch made just 4 pints so I am off to the kitchen to double the batch and make more! I will definitely be giving this for Xmas gifts (if there is any left by December!) Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      First time trying this and it taste great. Hope to make more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nome Rhubarb and Onion Relish

    Serving Size: 1 (2525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3913.9
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    98%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2640.4 mg
    110%
    Total Carbohydrate 977.7 g
    325%
    Dietary Fiber 22.3 g
    89%
    Sugars 913.7 g
    3655%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes