Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nogales Steak Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nogales Steak Tacos

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2010

      This IS really great. I loved the onions and I can't wait to try them as a side to something else. Even the non-onion-eater ate MY onions. I used fresh cilantro and oregano, mexican chili pods and queso fresco. I used flank steak and marinated for 6 hours. The flavor was awesome...so much so that I felt the other ingredients sort of over powered the delicious meat. I ate some of the meat by itself so I could really enjoy the flavor. Delicious recipe! This can be a taco recipe, onion recipe or steak marinade...lots of options.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Neither DD or I tend to like onions unless they are cooked, however we both liked these marinated onions. I used low carb tortillas and low fat sour cream. Still they were delicious. Going to use the left overs tomorrow and maybe try throwing the tortillas on the grill and crisp them up to see how they are that way. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      These are the best steak tacos I've ever made and eaten. Onions are the perfect compliment. I use jalapeno peppers and cayenne pepper since I really like the heat. The steak flavor is awesome. Don't forget the tequila. Fantastic recipe..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic steak tacos, loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      So good and healthy!! My BF loved these tacos. I reduced the marinade into a sauce (I simmered and boiled the sauce until the sauce thickened with a 1-2 tbl of cornstarch) and served a little sauce on top of the tacos. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I liked this recipe very much. My BH loved the steak, very very tender. We used a NY strip (1 1/4" thick), poked holes to marinade, then grilled whole 20 minutes. I agree with Pismo, not as complicated as it seems. I preferred the flour tortillas, tried both ways. I also used Manchego cheese, very nice. My BH enjoyed the onions. I personally can't eat raw onions, but enjoyed all the rest. Will be doing this one again as a "special" taco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      These turned out SO good! I thought the recipe was going to be more labor intensive than it actually was. Super easy and delicious! This is a new favorite around here. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Terrific flavor! Zippy lime... the red onions are perfect (although I'd cut that part in half next time because there was a lot of onion leftovers). Too much snow, broiled these inside. Skipped the tortilla cheese steps completely. Served steak on warm corn tortillas with the red onion & guacamole. Nothing else was needed- it had a lot of flavor on it's own. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      We loved these! Very fresh tasting soft tacos. I used the orange juice + lime juice and omitted the tequila (not by choice, the liquor store was closed). I did not have Ancho chili pepper so I used regular ground chili pepper and added a dash of liquid smoke to the marinade. Next time I will eliminate the 2 t. salt as they were just a bit too salty for our taste. We didn't feel like firing up the grill so I grilled the steak in my grill pan on the stove. The steak turned out perfectly and was very tender. I offered my guests all the suggested toppings plus chopped fresh cilantro, chopped tomato, and sour cream. The onions were very good...the lime juice really mellows them out. I did skip the step about putting the cheese on the tortilla and then melting in the oven...we just sprinkled the shredded monterey jack cheese as we each "built" our tacos. Great recipe! Thank you, we will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      These are the best tacos I have ever had anywhere, ever. As a personal preference, I cut the ancho powder and tequila in half and added red pepper flakes. Although I thought the onions were delicious, thought they distracted from the yummy goodness of the steak. I don't think I will make tacos or fajitas any other way, ever, and I make Mexican a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Awesome!! I looked for Seville oranges but had no luck so I used the orange/lime combo. The lime pickled onions were the perfect accompaniment to the steak. I am so glad I tried this very original recipe, thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Most excellent flavor on the steak! I was not too impressed by the asadero cheese, so next time I will use monteray jack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Perfect! I grilled these at a family beach picnic yesterday and every carnivore there went nuts for them. The one herbivore went nuts for the pickled onions wrapped in tortillas with other veggie goodies. I grilled the poblano chilies with the steak, and it worked beautifully. Served with chopped avocadoes, rinsed black beans, and lime quarters. I can't wait to make them again....thanks so much for such a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      OH.MY.GOODNESS! These are excellent. I was making them for dinner when we were invited to go swimming at a friend's house. Well, I offered to bring dinner cuz it was ready to cook. Everyone loved them and couldn't get enough...I was hoping for enough leftovers for my lunch the following day, but they were devoured (even by my 3 yo). The only changes I made were to the onions...I added a split serrano pepper and a clove of cracked garlic. YUMMY! and Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      holy cow! this recipe is so yummy! i used only 1 lbs. beef that i thinly sliced before marinating. i only used a splash of o.j. and lime juice, but used a bit more tequila. i always sub fresh parsley for the cilantro (personal pref). i marinated for about 3 hrs. and it was extremely flavorful! sauteed in a pan with some red onions, serrano peppers, and garlic. the pickled onions are a must for these tacos...or any tacos for that matter! i added some garlic and serrano peppers to the onion mixture. used grated cojia cheese and homemade guac as additional toppings. served with rice and beans. this is a real keeper. thanks for giving me such a great recipe to make time and time again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I love this recipe. The first time, I tried to follow all the rules; but the second and third and fourth times, I made some adjustments. I used flour shells. I used regular concentrated orange juice along with the lime juice. No tequila and I didn't do the whole melt the cheese in the oven bit. I just put everything in the tortilla at the table. I also used thin sliced steak--it doesn't take as long to cook, and it looks like fajita meat. I know it doesn't sound like I followed any of the directions, but the marinades for the meat and the pickled onions are out of this world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This is FABULOUS! One of our family's favorites. Tastes like something you'd find in a GREAT Mexican restaurant. Yes, it takes a little more preparation. But it's absolutely worth it. The marinade is very bold and might be a little much for just steaks, but in these tacos, it's perfect and really 10 steps above the normal steak taco. The marinaded steak is also wonderful in a steak salad with blue cheese or ranch dressing. I can't say enough good about this recipe. Our family uses monterey jack and skips the chiles, just our preference. But whatever you do, don't skip the lime onions. They're perfect in these tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      The flavor combination of the steak will all the fixings is outstanding. Great party food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I really liked this recipe, especially the onions. But not everyone loved the flavor of the meat. But overall a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Can I rate only the pickled onions? They were worthy of 5,000 stars..I added some chopped tomatoes and had the freshest tasting pico ever! After the onions marinated, I added some boiled shrimp and cubed avocado, which we ate with chips...this recipe was so easy and versatile! I will try the whole recipe soon. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nogales Steak Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 841.2
     
    Calories from Fat 383
    45%
    Total Fat 42.6 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 169.0 mg
    56%
    Sodium 2015.3 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 58.1 g
    116%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites