Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No-yeast Naan bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No-yeast Naan bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2010

      Deliciously simple ... I didn't have yogurt or cumin seeds, so made buttermilk (1tsp white vinegar, 1c whole milk - very low pasterized milk) ... added a tsp of salt and a 1/2 tsp garlic powder. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      This is a glorified giant biscuit...not naan at all

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This is a very non authentic attempt at naan bread. I have tried it twice now hoping it would turn out better... it did not. I would rather go pick up the frozen kind or the trader joes brand naan. Wouldnt waist my time if you are looking to make authentic naan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I have made this bread twice. Once broiled and once pan fried, and I prefer the pan fried. I found it's best to roll a handful of dough in your hand, and then flatten it thinner than the 1/2 inch thickness stated in the recipe so it will cook all the way through without burning too much. You get about 5 small breads this way. This bread is very easy to make, but it's not like the puffy naan bread you get in an Indian restaurant. It's much heavier/denser. Nice to nosh on. Definitely needs the cumin seeds, and a bit of salt to keep it from being bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      This recipe is all the right things: quick, easy, tasty. I made some changes based on the feedback - added a little more cumin seed, added a little salt, quite by accident added a little more sugar, buttered one surface, oiled the other. I would add, though, that if you've never made this kind of bread before the directions were a little sketchy. When you bake them under the broiler the baking sheet should be oiled or the stone should be lightly floured; make sure not to over-knead (makes some breads too tough). But this recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Since I also doubted the idea of broiling this in the oven, I chose to divide the dough into 6 parts, roll it thin like a tortilla, and cook on a lightly oiled pan (wok worked great). After it began to form raised bubbles and was lightly browned on one side, I flipped it. I added 1/2 tsp. of salt. The dough will rise some, and the result a bread-like texture (not a tortilla or biscuit one). Cooked in this way it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      After many attempts at Naan bread (all of them failures), this recipe was surprisingly easy and delicious (even after a few mishaps along the way)! You really have to watch it in the broiler, our first batch turned out really burnt. It is MUCH better with salt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Thanks for this excellent recipe. Really easy and really good. Even better if you add some salt (though obviously it's healthier without).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Nice and easy. They were a little thick, and I didn't have any cumin, so I am going to try again! Definately worth working with though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      excellent, excellent, excellent!!! i read your recipe as I was surfing recipezaar and it looked so easy and simple i decided to throw it together for dinner last minute and it turned out great! The first naan i made was a bit off since I was trying to figure out how to work the dough but once i figured it out, it was easy. Its super quick both to make the dough and cook the naan in the oven. I would have never come up with this on my own. My husband was first really surprised to have home-made naan for dinner, then he couldn't stop raving about how great it was- he used to own a restaurant of his own and wanted to pass on the recipe to new management to improve their naan! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Fantastic naan bread! Easy to make and really delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I really loved this, it was delicious and quick and easy to make. The bread puffed up and was fluffy and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      When you get to step 7 don't use a lot of flour on your surface. Otherwise it's easy to do at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      Easy and straight forward. However, not authentic in texture (i didn't expect it to be)... a little on the bready side... I casually called it the "White Man's Nan" at my dinner party. I will make it again because it's so easy! Thanks! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      This was great! I made it in combo with Butter Chicken and Dhal last night, was quick and easy to make. I added more cumin and buttered it as mentioned in the reviews. I made mine way too thick but it is delicious. I'll upgrade to 5 stars if it's this good thinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      After a failed attempt at Naan bread using yeast, I found this recipe and it was great! The bread wasn't too puffy or too crunchy and it was easy to make. I brushed the tops with a beaten egg before cooking (to make them golden brown) and brushed with butter when they came out of the oven. These were a hit with the Indian dish I served tonight. This recipe will be made many more times in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Considering how quick and easy these naans are to make, they are great! Not exactly like yeast naans, but they fill the bill when you decide you want naan one hour before supper... We liked the taste of the cumin seeds a lot, but we will definitely add some salt to the dough next time. We cut the dough in four pieces, stretched each of them into a 5" by 10" oval (approx, baked them at 425F on a preheated baking stone (rather than broiling them) until golden spots appear on top, then brushed them with melted butter (out of ghee:( )and sprinkled some salt over the breads. Thank you, Cheekyangel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Not exactly like restaurant naan, but not bad either, and really easy to do. I agree that you have to spray them with oil or maybe butter them to keep them softer. I put some cheese on the inside of mine. I should have made them thinner, but the general idea was there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      I didn't use any cumin on the breads and they were pretty plain without it, hence the 3 stars. They were definitely easy to make and baked up nicely under the broiler. If I make these again, I'll definitely use some spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      Thank you cheekyangel! It is so hard to find bread recipes for singles. I halved this and used egg substitute,nonfat milk and sprayed them with nonfat cooking spray just before baking. I was so delighted with how well they baked up! Ended up with 2 good sized very tasty loaves. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No-yeast Naan bread

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.8
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    18%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 54.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 251.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites