Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No-vinegar Dill Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No-vinegar Dill Pickles

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2008

      I have not tried this recipe yet. I would like to share my tip for cleaning cucumbers. I use a sponge designed for non-stick cookware. When wet they curve around the cukes nicely and are just right for washing away all those pesky little pricklys. CAA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Excellent recipe! It is really important to use crispy cucumbers--I used a couple that were a little soft and they were mushy in the finished product so follow the recipe and use only your best cucumbers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      Great tasting pickles. Wish I had made more! These are very similar to the 'salt dills' that are a favorite with several family members and are on the request list each year. The tablespoon of pickling spice is more then in my recipe and found it made for a nice touch! I used garlic and of course the fresh dill. I was very impressed with your instructions. I highly recommend this recipe for the making of delicious dills. Thank you Jenny.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      I used to make lots of dill pickles and in the washer they would go,I would stop it just before the spin. It sure saved a lot of work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      throw a towel in with the cukes, it will help rub off the nubs and protect the cukes

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2004

      I once helped a friend of mine make pickles (hers were always fantastic) She had a super easy & effective method for cleaning cukes: THROW THEM IN THE WASHING MACHINE. I'm not kidding! There is no fuss and they come out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      This is more of a comment than a review. Fermentation makes vinegar, so the name is a misnomer. When fermenting pickles put a grape leaf in each jar and they will stay crisp. I've fermented pickles before. The white sediment is probably from hard water. Scum sometimes develops on the top. Just skim it off. As long as they smell vinegary and not unpleasant they are not bad. Anything slimy or mushy is bad. Always leave headspace or leave the lid loose so the gas doesn't build up. It is carbonation, part of the fermentation process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      If you have trouble with bowed metal lids like Stan1223 you need to find glass lids. We have been making these pickles for 40 years. The white sediment on the bottom has always been normal. In fact this is a byproduct of the fermentation. We did have problems with bowed "metal" lids as these were readily available. Some jars were sealed using the OLD glass lids and rubber rings on medium mouth jars. We have never had a jar spoil using the glass lids. We now use "only" glass lids for our no vinegar pickles and have great success. We do 48 quarts each year and they are stored in a root cellar without any hot water canning process. They last an entire year until the new cucumbers come into season. Some jars actually fizz like soda pop when first opened. These I consider the best and still enjoy a glass of pickle juice.
      I do not know if you can buy these glass lids anymore, we keep our eyes open at garage sales and also if some older folk decide that they are not canning anymore and want to give away their jars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      My experience was the same as Mrs Kette. There was a white sediment on the cucs and the brine was very murky. One of the lids on my jar was so bowed from the pressure within, I fully believe it would have "blown" had I not noticed it in time. Taste was not good. Sadly had to throw out. What did I do wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      UPDATE: I waited the time aloted and got the jar from the basement. Well, it turned out that the mold was, I believe, the salt that deposited itself on the lower cucumbers! Quite good; next time I'll just put more garlic. (Review before I opened the jar: Unfortunately it didn't work for me. Cucumber on the bottom were covered with some kind of white mold, and the water was murky. I followed the recipe exactly. I can't figure what I might have done wrong...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No-vinegar Dill Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (17 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    43%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 465.4 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pickling spices

    dill seeds

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites