13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We liked the no sugar pecan pie a lot. Since our diet is low carbohydrate, we did not use a crust and it still turned out well. We'll make it again. Soon!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petty February 21, 2003

My husband is border line diabetic and really enjoyed this. Before becoming borderline diabetic pecan pie was his very favorite so I was happy to surprise him with this to see how he liked it. He ate 2 pieces the first day!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosemary Chapman February 15, 2002

My father who loves pecan pie, but is also diabetic, liked this pie very much. It is more of a custard pie than the traditional corn syrup based pie. It was not sickenly sweet, yet you can't tell it's sugar free. It's defintely a keeper!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marge February 04, 2002

This was a nice pie

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 29271 January 21, 2002

My husband is diabetic and I can't tolerate sugar, but I desperately wanted pecan pie-This is absolutely divine! While it is more of a custard than corn syrup like a previous review--the taste and texture were wonderful..and it was so simple. Thanks so much

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssinderella January 23, 2004

I really dislike giving bad reviews. I believe that everyone should give something a try and decide for themselves if the recipe works for them or not. However, the ingredients in this recipe are expensive to buy, and in my experience not worth it. The pie was a unappetizing gray, spongy in texture, and while I didn't expect a SWEET pie, I did expect it to be somewhat sweet. It wasn't, it was devoid of flavor except the taste of artificial maple. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraBlueEyes October 26, 2012

I made this for some friends that can't have sugar. They liked it alot. I think next time I will add cinnamon & toast the pecans. Perhaps even add a touch of maple flavoring. I cut up frozen pie dough & made individual pies in a muffin tin. I used 2 pie crusts & this made 12 individual pies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej December 05, 2007

We made this today. The color was grey-I am very visual so this was unappealing to me. I followed directions exactly. The flavor was just not there for us. It was very pretty on the top- but once cut and plated it was unappealing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyelee October 19, 2006

This has a good flavor of maple syrup. I used Splenda instead of Equal. The finished product is good, but...I didn't care much for the color. I guess the coloring of the syrup was a little grey. I will try this one again, and use the Smuckers to see if that makes a difference in coloring Thanks for posting this, Steve..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie December 27, 2005

I made this for my insulin dependent husband as a treat, and I must say I think it tastes great! In some ways, it's better than the real mccoy because sometimes pecan pie is just too sweet. I used sugar free Log Cabin syrup with great results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2bizzy December 24, 2005
No Sugar Pecan Pie