Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No Grief Paper Bag Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No Grief Paper Bag Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      This is a wonderful pie recipe. The one I make is identical except I use white sugar in the topping. I like yours with brown sugar better! I throw mine together and pop it in an oven cooking bag-no fuss, no muss, no hassle! When things cool down, I just cut the bag away. Super-safe and simple method. Thanks for sharing. Laudee C. Colorado

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      I got this recipe from a friend and it is great - I didn't smell any toxic fumes while it was baking and the pie turned out great. Her family does it this way all the time with no problem so I'm not fearful of making this recipe again! My dh was wary that the bag would catch fire (I had to leave while it was baking.) so I made sure he was aware of the location of the fire extinquisher! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      I love apple pies and this sounds delicious. But a warning. The paper bags of today are not all pure brown paper. Many of them are made from recycled materials that could be harmful. We ussed to cook whole turkeys at Thanksgiving in bags but were told not because of the materials. Just use caution!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      My mom used to make a pie like this and it was our favorite. The first time I made it I used a paper grocery bag and it tasted great. Crunchy topping and excellent filling. After reading the concerns about recycled paper, I used an oven roasting bag the next time. Although I cut holes to let the steam escape, the topping did not get crunchy so I don't recommend that. I'm going to make it again and on another site, I saw a recommendation to use two large sheets of parchment paper criss-crossing them and then bringing them up over the top of the pie and fastening with either paper clips or staples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This is a great recipe . . . I clipped the same one out of the newspaper 20+ years ago! I like to sprinkle some cinnamon sugar over the top before baking. Definately serve warm with some real vanilla ice cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I have had this recipe for years and everyone who eats it, loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      I have this same recipe. I am always requested to make this for Thanksgiving and Christmas when the family gets together. It is my nephews favorite pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was great. I used a deep-dish Pyrex pan, and 2.75 lbs. of apples, a combo of Grannysmith and Golden Delicious. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      I was going to post this recipe, but then I checked to see if anyone else already did. I got this recipe from my mother. About 10 years ago, the paper did catch fire and I stupidly opened up the oven and turned on my ceiling fan and had little bits of flying fire all over. It's funny now. Since then I use the oven bags and it comes out just as good. According to my family it is the best apple pie there is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No Grief Paper Bag Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.4
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    43%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 205.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 35.6 g
    142%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes