20 Reviews

I think I'm finished with "boxed" mixes. This was easy to put together and it made a terrific meal with just a salad. Think next time I may use Bisquick and add a Tbs or two more. This was not too thin but I like it thicker. Still a great recipe. Glad you posted it.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo October 18, 2001

These were great!! With just a couple of minor alterations they tasted just like my Mom used to make. I have tried so many recipes before and this one was clearly the easiest and best tasting one I hace ever found. My Mom would be proud of me, if only I could tell her. Thanks!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young September 10, 2001

Thank you for this recipe! I have always wondered how to make good potato pancakes. I used Bisquick instead of flour and it worked fine.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane August 21, 2001

it is not that good,even the kids were crying they did not want to eat it

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheila October 30, 2001

My family has also been doing it this way for years, but we use an egg or two, no milk. Also try adding a little oatmeal with the flour (about 1-2T) YUMMY!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Schmidt August 29, 2001

I had a lot of trouble with these. I doubled the eggs, but think I should have left out the milk because they were too runny. Then I pulsed them too much (about 4 pulses would have been enough with my VitaMix). Then they stuck/ burned on my pan. I like the idea of using the blender, but I think I'll use my old recipe ingredients and just use this method. Thanks for the idea, even if I had trouble executing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna Matthews March 30, 2005

THANK YOU SO MUCH for this recipe! I love potato pancakes, but most of the time I'm too lazy to do all the grating and just use a mix. Shortcut recipe? Sounded like a good one to try, and I'm glad I did! These are exactly the texture I prefer for my potato pancakes - no thick pieces of potato but not quite at mashed-potato level either. They are thin, and that's precisely what I want, crispy on the edges and soft in the middle. I used a little more than 2 cups potatoes (maybe 2 1/2), 1 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper, and fried them in bacon grease. Served with some of my homemade chunky applesauce. PERFECTION. I will never use a mix again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama November 03, 2011

Loved this easy, quick, no mess, no fuss recipe. So nice not to drag out the grater or feed processer when you are in a hurry.. I added a little more flour based on two other reviews and they turned out perfect. Next time, I will pulse them just a little less to leave bigger pieces of potatoes in the mix. Very tasty. Thanks for making Friday night fish dinner much simpler.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cameo February 12, 2010

I absolutely love this receipe, it IS quite and EASY, I also added a little ham to some of them and served with sweet chilli sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosanna #2 December 02, 2008

Don't know where I went wrong but these were not good- too thin , poor texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef vally UK September 29, 2007
No Fuss No Mess Potato Pancakes