Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No Fuss Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No Fuss Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2009

      I had a craving the other night for some chocolate chip cookies, but soon realized that i did not have any shortening. I looked on line for a recipe that did not require shortening, and came across this one. I mixed everything the way the recipe said to. I have been baking for a long time, so i know i measured accurately. This has to be the WORST recipe ever! I got a big bowl of crumbs. I guess I could have tweaked the recipe or added something to make it less dry, but after trying to even make a ball out of this dust, I tossed the whole bowl. I will never trust an online recipe again because of this post. Warning cookie lovers.....this is either a joke or someone has never baked a thing in their life. Sorry.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I'm sorry to give this a 2 star rating but I had a few problems with the cookies and they didn't taste as I expected they would. The dough was very crumbly so I was not able to 'drop a heaping tablespoon of dough onto a cookie sheet.' I had to hand form each one. To me, using all brown sugar gave the cookie a caramel taste so it tasted more like a cookie with chocolate chips, rather than a chocolate chip cookie. It is a different taste than a toll house cookie or one of the Mrs. Fields chocolate chip cookie clones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      This is a fair basic chocolate chip cookie recipe but unfortunately somewhere in your measurements something is wrong as the dough is extremely dry and very crumbly. There is no way you can make a cookie out of the original measurements. To save the dough I added one egg white and then the dough was workable. They still bake up in mounds - no spreading at all and still are a bit crumbly/dry. I'm sorry this just did not work as well as expected. Made for Zaar Cookbook tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Don't trust the bad reviews on this one! If you look at the bad reviews they pretty much have one thing in common - "I started making the cookies but the dough looked too dry so I threw the instructions out the door and did my own thing and they turned out terrible!". Of course they didn't turn out you didn't follow the recipe! The top review said they didn't even bake the cookies they just tossed the dough because it didn't look right! Look people. This recipe isn't your traditional grease pancake recipe. Its amazing! But you have to follow the recipe exactly and the dough does turn out dry! BUT IT STILL WORKS! That being said I did add about 1/4 tsp of salt (although it's probably healthier without it) and when it says to mix the sugar and butter well, I mixed them until I had soft tips, added egg and vanilla and again mixed until I had soft tips. Make sure you don't over bake them (8 mins was perfect) if you do they might not be chewy. Seriously, These cookies turn out light and puffy and don't spread, which is what I like about them. If you like flatter cookies right when you pull them out of the over press them down with a spatula and they will still be amazing (though even then they are about 3/4 of an inch thick). In short, don't trust the bad reviews, trust the recipe and it will all be alright!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I don't know why the rest of these people are having problems with this recipe but this is one of my favorite recipes to use, it's clear that obviously you measured wrong...I will give this one 5 stars

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      this IS the worst recipe ever!! i made the dough and it tasted sooooo good and i added a little extra sugar and chocolate chips and i had to bake them for 20 min. before they were done. then i took them out and tasted them and they tasted horrible very bland i do not recommend at all

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      Definitely one of the best chocolate chip cookie recipes! Unfortunately, I ran out of brown sugar after 1/2 cup, but using white sugar turned out fine. Otherwise I stuck to the recipe and I'm glad I did! I got 42 good-sized cookies out of this yummy recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      GREAT cookie recipe! I added a little cocoa powder (2 tsps) to the flour mixture...turned out great. The trick is in the butter, after you melt it, you have to let it cool down till it reaches a thicker state...not solid, but just a little more than liquid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      You know how you have been searching for that perfect chocolate chip cookie that is not pancake thin but more thick and chewy? At least I have been. Well, now I've finally found it. This IS the perfect chocolate chip cookie. At first I thought the melted butter would make it flat like all the other chocoloate chip cookies I have made. But, no, it doesn't. Maybe that's the secret? The flavor of this cookie is delicious, too. I love using all brown sugar instead of brown sugar. I know these are not going to last long around my house! I got 2 1/2 dozen cookies out of this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This is wrong! These are sooooo good! Omgosh!!! At first I was dissappointed because they didn't turn into a perfectly flat round cookies. But you can't beat them for flavor. I hope you don't mind but I did use milk choc chips and through in alittle leftover Heath Bits I had. They are to die for warm and can't wait to try them cooled!!! I got two dozen cookies after ds and I had our samples of the dough. It was a great cooking experience for my four year old. I chose this recipe for PAC Fall 2206. Thank you daggle, you have been a great adoptee!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      Please do not waste your time with this recipe. I have never wrote a review for travel or food but this was such a waste of time I HAD to. I was going to use my moms old 'go-to' recipe but decided I wanted to avoid shortening. Never again.<br/><br/>Like many have mentioned, after following the recipe to EXACT measurements, I was left with a bowl of very dry dough. The lack of liquid was so much so that about 1/4 of the flour would not combine with the rest. <br/><br/>I saw this and wondered "how is this meant to be chewy?". I am NOT a baker or chef by any means but I had to do something to salvage my cookies. I added another egg and about 4 tbs of milk, the liquid needed just to mix the flour in any nothing more. <br/><br/>At this point I added the chocolate. The dough was still quite dry.<br/><br/>The first batch just came out of the oven....result? CAKE COOKIES. Fail? Fail.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      A really really bad recipe. The cookies didn't turn out anything like in the picture and I followed the directions to a tee. The pioneer woman has really great recipes that actual turn out like they are suppost to. I'm sticking with that site from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      I read through all the reviews and almost didn't try these. I'm glad I did. I added 1/2 teaspoon salt ("too bland"), and did 3/4 cup EACH white and brown sugar ("caramel taste" Really, if I wanted Mrs. Field's cookies, I'd pay the exhorbitant prices to get them.)
      Daggle, it's a keeper. I've been making chocolate chip cookies for years and they turned out just fine. I did follow your "melted butter and cooled" recommendation. Also, I used 1 egg-worth of an egg substitute. (Lower cholesterol and you get toSAFELY eat the dough!) The dough was NOT dry. I baked them almost 13 minutes to make them perfectly golden brown on the top, not doughy or chewy in the middle. And they do mound and spread very little. Good recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      unfortunatly I started mixing this recipe before i read the comments about how it was wrong--- so instead of wasting the batter, I simply added about a half cup of applesauce to give it a little moisture since it was SO DRY! and guess what? came out pretty darned good! so if anyone does what I did...save the batter and add some applesauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I have to agree with the first review. Something is amiss with the ingredients. My batter wasn't ascrumbly as hers was but it wasn't very moist as traditional choc.chip cookie recipes. They did not flatten out and were not very chewy but I must say they were still enjoyed by my family. When I crave a basic choc. chip cookie I will turn to this recipe but for a chewy cookie, I will continue my search.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I just found this recipe through Google. I was looking for a recipe for choc. chip cookies that doesn't use shortening, as I didn't feel like getting out and going to the store right now!! I tweaked it a little, by using 1/2 c. butter and 1/3 c. of vegetable oil instead of 3/4 c. butter. As I was stirring everything together, the mixture got a little dry, so I added a little milk. The dough is chilling in the fridge right now. Hopefully they turn out good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      Well, most of my comments seem to come out this way, but: I screwed up the recipe (I accidentally added 1 TABLEspoon as opposed to 1 TEAspoon of baking powder), and it still came out fine. I also addedd 1 cup of Skor toffee pieces, and next time I'll try it with butterscotch. I'm just happy I finally found a cookie recipe without shortening! EDIT: Made these again today without screwing up, and they're even better this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No Fuss Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.1
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    39%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 46.0 mg
    15%
    Sodium 221.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes