17 Reviews

I had a craving the other night for some chocolate chip cookies, but soon realized that i did not have any shortening. I looked on line for a recipe that did not require shortening, and came across this one. I mixed everything the way the recipe said to. I have been baking for a long time, so i know i measured accurately. This has to be the WORST recipe ever! I got a big bowl of crumbs. I guess I could have tweaked the recipe or added something to make it less dry, but after trying to even make a ball out of this dust, I tossed the whole bowl. I will never trust an online recipe again because of this post. Warning cookie lovers.....this is either a joke or someone has never baked a thing in their life. Sorry.....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reneerichard March 28, 2009

I'm sorry to give this a 2 star rating but I had a few problems with the cookies and they didn't taste as I expected they would. The dough was very crumbly so I was not able to 'drop a heaping tablespoon of dough onto a cookie sheet.' I had to hand form each one. To me, using all brown sugar gave the cookie a caramel taste so it tasted more like a cookie with chocolate chips, rather than a chocolate chip cookie. It is a different taste than a toll house cookie or one of the Mrs. Fields chocolate chip cookie clones.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon October 30, 2006

This is a fair basic chocolate chip cookie recipe but unfortunately somewhere in your measurements something is wrong as the dough is extremely dry and very crumbly. There is no way you can make a cookie out of the original measurements. To save the dough I added one egg white and then the dough was workable. They still bake up in mounds - no spreading at all and still are a bit crumbly/dry. I'm sorry this just did not work as well as expected. Made for Zaar Cookbook tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 17, 2011

Don't trust the bad reviews on this one! If you look at the bad reviews they pretty much have one thing in common - "I started making the cookies but the dough looked too dry so I threw the instructions out the door and did my own thing and they turned out terrible!". Of course they didn't turn out you didn't follow the recipe! The top review said they didn't even bake the cookies they just tossed the dough because it didn't look right! Look people. This recipe isn't your traditional grease pancake recipe. Its amazing! But you have to follow the recipe exactly and the dough does turn out dry! BUT IT STILL WORKS! That being said I did add about 1/4 tsp of salt (although it's probably healthier without it) and when it says to mix the sugar and butter well, I mixed them until I had soft tips, added egg and vanilla and again mixed until I had soft tips. Make sure you don't over bake them (8 mins was perfect) if you do they might not be chewy. Seriously, These cookies turn out light and puffy and don't spread, which is what I like about them. If you like flatter cookies right when you pull them out of the over press them down with a spatula and they will still be amazing (though even then they are about 3/4 of an inch thick). In short, don't trust the bad reviews, trust the recipe and it will all be alright!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
radrobby November 18, 2013

I don't know why the rest of these people are having problems with this recipe but this is one of my favorite recipes to use, it's clear that obviously you measured wrong...I will give this one 5 stars

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salina F December 28, 2012

this IS the worst recipe ever!! i made the dough and it tasted sooooo good and i added a little extra sugar and chocolate chips and i had to bake them for 20 min. before they were done. then i took them out and tasted them and they tasted horrible very bland i do not recommend at all

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkwilson April 15, 2011

Definitely one of the best chocolate chip cookie recipes! Unfortunately, I ran out of brown sugar after 1/2 cup, but using white sugar turned out fine. Otherwise I stuck to the recipe and I'm glad I did! I got 42 good-sized cookies out of this yummy recipe! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeswickianRaider July 12, 2010

GREAT cookie recipe! I added a little cocoa powder (2 tsps) to the flour mixture...turned out great. The trick is in the butter, after you melt it, you have to let it cool down till it reaches a thicker state...not solid, but just a little more than liquid.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Walz, Jr. November 30, 2009

You know how you have been searching for that perfect chocolate chip cookie that is not pancake thin but more thick and chewy? At least I have been. Well, now I've finally found it. This IS the perfect chocolate chip cookie. At first I thought the melted butter would make it flat like all the other chocoloate chip cookies I have made. But, no, it doesn't. Maybe that's the secret? The flavor of this cookie is delicious, too. I love using all brown sugar instead of brown sugar. I know these are not going to last long around my house! I got 2 1/2 dozen cookies out of this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 October 28, 2006

This is wrong! These are sooooo good! Omgosh!!! At first I was dissappointed because they didn't turn into a perfectly flat round cookies. But you can't beat them for flavor. I hope you don't mind but I did use milk choc chips and through in alittle leftover Heath Bits I had. They are to die for warm and can't wait to try them cooled!!! I got two dozen cookies after ds and I had our samples of the dough. It was a great cooking experience for my four year old. I chose this recipe for PAC Fall 2206. Thank you daggle, you have been a great adoptee!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie October 15, 2006
No Fuss Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies