12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are really good and very simple to make. The only problem I had was removing them from the muffin tins. I liberally sprayed the tins but still had hard time keeping these together even when removed 2 hours later!! Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll try paper cups. Thank you Inez. Update: I did these again but this time I used paper cups and it worked like a charm. I also omitted the choco chips. Do use paper cups. I've frozen a bunch for emergencies!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo June 10, 2002

I made these for a bake sale and they were a hit! They came out very moist and delicious. I also did another version with strawberry batter and white chocolate chips. A hit with kids and adults alike.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaC May 11, 2010

Excellent easy recipe...the kids loved them! Alot less messy than the frosted ones for those toddlers to eat. Thanks for a great recipe that I'm sure to try again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Cline August 19, 2003

Very easy and VERY GOOD. Thank you, MizzNezz for a KEEPER. Next time, I'm going to fix these in mini-muffin tins. As you said, good picnic or carry-out fare.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsEl May 30, 2003

Very yummy. So easy to make, for a not-so-adept-at baking kind of gal! Had good reviews from those who tried at the bake sale! Thanks MizzNezz and also to those who suggested alternatives.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jh992 November 24, 2011

IMO its not a recipe if it includes using a box mix. Making cupcakes from scratch isn't that hard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizzi6692 August 10, 2011

These puffed up beautifully but I am disappointed that they closed up completely and just look like unfrosted cup cakes. I know I had plenty of filling mixture for each. It all sunk inside. They are delicious though!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvstacook Italian! August 13, 2008

A great recipe - very easy to make and tastes great! My boyfriend says these are the best cupcakes he's ever had. I sprinkled a little bit of cinnamon on top before baking for a little extra dash of spice. I used paper cups and had absolutely no problem sliding them out of the pan. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alycia bv February 15, 2008

such attractive little devils, i had extra batter left and so got suck with two plain chocolate cupcakes and they look boring in comparison. i love black bottom cupcakes, but i can never get the batter chocolaty enough, this worked great. oh and i did use mini chips instead of the regular kind. cute accesssories for cute cakes i suppose.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zombiesgirl July 10, 2007

The flavour of these cupcakes is fabulous and they are so easy to make! I love that I didn't have to frost them, which made them easy to cover up and store for a party later in the day. My muffin tops didn't round up as well as I'd have liked but that may have been my cake mix. These taste great! Thank you, MizzNezz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo June 25, 2007
No Frosting Needed Cupcakes