Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No-Flour Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No-Flour Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2006

      This cornbread was really delicious! We had it with white chicken chili and I love the fact that it doesn't have sugar in it. And I'm sure it would have tasted even better, had I followed the recipe exactly. We don't really eat bacon that much, so I just used butter and melted it in a 9x9 pan in the oven before mixing in the rest of the ingredients (my skillet isn't oven-safe).. The whole family loved this and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      We made this cornbread for a get-together with a gluten free friend, and it turned out great! I used yellow cornmeal, because that was all I had on hand. Also, I used butter instead of the bacon grease. The cornbread was moist and tasty, and went well with chili. Also very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      A great southern recipe. I have made these many times over. Very easy and delicious. I always use a preheated cast iron skillet when making cornbread for a nice crisp crust. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2014

      This is very close to the recipe I use that was passed down from my Mother and Grandmother. We call it Cornbread With A Crust because of the crispy crust the bacon grease creates. No sweet cornbread for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I have made this many times it is the only cornbread recipe I use now. Taste like the cornbread my grandmother and mother always made. If you haven't tried this then give it a try, you want be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      A huge hit with my gluten-intolerant friend. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using yellow cornmeal instead of white. Thanks for posting AzArlie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This is what I was looking for! A no flour, no sugar, easy to remember recipe that turns out just right every time. I could eat this and pinto beans three meals a day and have it for dessert with a little sorghum syrup and butter. Yum! Thanks for the real deal recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This is REAL cornbread as taught to me by my ex-husband's granny. She made cornbread three times a day, always in an iron skillet (with a wood-burning stove!), and never, ever added flour or sugar. Slap this down on the table with a big pot of pinto beans and you're in for some goooooood eating!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      i found that southern corn meal seems to be finer than the corn meal purchased in the north. don't know why but southern makes a better finished product.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      My mom and I don't eat wheat flour, so we love this. But not just because of that - it's also a great recipe that the rest of our family loves. It's a little crumbly, but the yummy flavor totally makes up for it! We use margarine or butter, not bacon grease, and it's still awesome!!! Oh, our skillet isn't oven-proof, but we always cook it on the stove at medium-high heat for about 15-20 minutes and it cooks just fine!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      This is my favorite cornbread too. I don't know who thought of adding sugar in the first place....Thanks for sticking to the basics.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      One of my all time favorite recipes.I too like it with buttermilk.I also love it with collard greens.I do not like sweet corbread,never did.This is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      I was looking for a cornbread with no sugar and no flour, and I found it. I'm vegetarian, so I used butter instead of bacon grease. I also quartered the recipe because I was just cooking for myself and my 3-year-old. To make things easy I just used 1/2 tsp baking powder, no baking soda. Oh, and I used whole milk and a bit of vinegar instead of buttermilk. Of course, I had to use a whole egg, and the mixture sort of separated with a layer of egg on top of the bread. It was still very good. This is a great basic cornbread recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Just like the Johnny Cake recipe we use all the time, except we just don't add the baking powder and we use butter instead of the bacon grease. It's a staple in our house and my Southern husband loves it. He'd eat it at every meal if I'd make it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Great! Just like my grandma made. I am on a special diet, so I had to substitute plain yogurt for the buttermilk (1 to 1 worked perfectly) and olive oil for the bacon grease. Turned out just the same as when I was a kid!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I have meade this twice. the first time i : used 1 c white CM & 1C coarse. Substituted 1portion of the milk with powered milk and water, and added 1 Tbl Honey. No bacon fat, so I used Crisco. I was in a hurry and didn't read the directions through carefully...So I poured the batter into the Hot oil. This was yummy, almost like a polenta...pudding bread. 2nd time I used 2 C local ground cornmeal, 1 egg, 2/3 C powderd milk, 2 C water everything else the same except still had to use crisco...but did it right this time...Still Yummy. I am looking forward to next weekend when i will have some bacon grease to try it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This was pretty much my mom's cornbread also. And she'd do the buttermilk and cornbread also. Her's only differs in that she used 2 teaspoons of baking powder no baking soda and used butter instead of bacon grease. So all we had to remember was 2 of each. I've got beans and rice on the stove and the cornbreads in the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This recipe is great, the best I've tried thanks. Unfortunately I didn't have bacon grease so I had to use cooking oil. I'm positive it would be so much better with bacon grease. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I made the batter and added a can of whole kernel corn and 2 cups of shredded pepper jack, then used it as a topper for a chili-cornbread casserole. The cornbread had really great texture and was extremely moist. Very happy with the results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      With red floriani cornmeal, awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No-Flour Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.9
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    39%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 55.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 305.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites