Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No-Fat Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No-Fat Gravy

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2002

      This recipe is a Godsend to me - most bought gravies are loaded with salt. I was able to reduce the sodium even more by using reduced sodium broth. Sometimes I make homemade beef broth, so I'll use that to try making a beef gravy with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2002

      Also tried this recipe using beef broth and beef powder. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2002

      Marvelous Creation! I bought some potato flakes just for this recipe. and thank god i did - i will definetely be making this in the future. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Great gravy Uncle Bill! Our turkey thanks you too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This gravy can't be beat! It had amazing flavor, and no lumps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I made a roast and wanted to make a good beef gravy. I substituted anything saying chicken for beef, and made as directed in the recipe. I also used the drippings from the meat, as there was really no fat to speak of from my Tri Tip roast. The gravy was excellent! Nice and smooth and really flavorful. A perfect addition to my meat and mashed potatoes. I will treasure this technique for making gravy. Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This works WONDERFULLY! I actually have started using the 'instand potato approach' to thicken many other sauces I make, as it takes less of it to accomplish the job than flour would. I didn't have canned mushrooms, so I did my version with fresh mushrooms and just added a bit of extra broth to compensate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Great recipe when you need some gravy. Really easy to make and has a good flavor. Thanks for coming up with this recipe Uncle Bill :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Great recipe Bill. Thanks so much for sharing. It was a huge success at my house for Thanksgiving! Arlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Thanksgiving gravy was Wonderful using this recipe! Everyone loved it. I used the leftover gravy today in my Turkey Pot Pie. MMMMMmm Thanks Uncle Bill. Debbie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This gets 5 stars on originality alone. I had never heard of doing gravy this way before, and wanted to find a way to make it fat-free. It worked! My husband didn't even know the difference! This is a great method, one I will be using often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I made baked chicken breasts tonight for dinner and because my husband prefers dark meat I wanted to make something to put on it. This gravy was perfect! He (and the rest of us) loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      Quick and easy way to makeshift some gravy when the cupboards are bare. Used beef boulion and did add the extra beef concentrate/browning liquid. Was good with the meatloaf and mashed taters we had for supper- thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      What a wonderful gravy. I also used no salt soy sauce and no salt worcestershire sauce (from another site). I did have to add another tablespoon of instant potato flakes. This will what we use for the big turkey day. Thanks so muxh for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      Uncle Bill, I really don't want to give this a bad review, after 6 positive ratings. This recipe really had me stumped, followed it exactly with the exception of increasing the potato flakes. So I was shocked on how horribly salty it was, so much so that I couldn't eat it (my boyz and DH opted for no gravy). I gave this alot of thought, (something I normally try not to do), Used reduced sodium/reduced fat chicken broth, I breathed a sigh of relief when I found the culprit-it was the CHICKEN BASE! 1 tsp equals 29% sodium-x 3 to equal 1 Tbsp. as stated in the recipe amount came up to 87% sodium-for the Chicken Base along. I have been able to sleep once again since the mystery was solved! Next time I'll change it to 1 tsp.-not 1 Tbsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      Easy do ahead recipe - good flavor I found I had to use 8 tbsp of potato flakes not 4. I made the gravy the day ahead and after I had cooked the turkey, removed the grease from the roaster I then poured this gravy into the roaster to heat and got all the little turkey bits in it. Thanks Uncle Bill this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Really delicious,but I also had to improvise with about 7 stemmed mushrooms, chopped and sliced, and I addded 2 tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with a little water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      This really hit the spot with my chicken cutlets yesterday. When I make it again, and I will, I will have to cut the sodium down as I found it too salty for my taste, but my students did not think the same. Thanks for your great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      I had to improvise because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used fresh chopped mushrooms instead of canned, 1 chicken bouillon cube for the chicken soup base, and two tbl of cornstarch mixed with 4 tbl or water instead of the potato flakes. Pretty tasty! (Looking forward to trying the recipe as it was written to taste the difference.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No-Fat Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 18.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    29%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 388.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites