Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No Fail Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No Fail Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2011

      This is my 'go to' recipe for rolled cookies. I make some very beautiful fondant covered and royal iced cookies as gifts and to sell with this recipe. The shapes are retained so well, especially important when using very intricate cookie cutters. I found this recipe almost 5 yrs ago on www.cakecentral.com . It is the one most of the cookie and cake decorators use. For spring and summer cookies, I like to use lemon extract and a tablespoons of lemon zest. I often add almond extract for Christmas holiday cookies. These are always a hit on the cookie platter. The flavor of these sugar cookies is the best of any other recipes I've tried as others tend to be bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      made this with my grand daughter today and found the dough really dry. followed recipe to the exact. i have been baking for years and was really disappointed

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      My favorite recipe for sugar cookies. It's tasty, it truly holds its shape, and it's incredibly easy. I've made the whole recipe and I've taken it down to a 1/3 of the recipe, and each time it's the same perfect cookie. The only time I've screwed it up is when I roll my cookies too thin and don't watch them properly. To prevent this I've started laying out chopsticks next to my dough when I roll it out and they act as a size guard. Perfect, uniformly-thick cookies every time, no matter which batch of dough they're rolled out from. I've added various flavorings with success every time. There really is nothing bad to say about this cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      This is my go to recipe also!! I do a TON of intricate decorated cookies and this recipe holds it shape really well. The only think I have done is decrease the baking soda to 2 tsp. Mine were puffing a little too much. As far as one reviewer saying they were dry.. The humidity in the air as well as your flour can cause this. I do from time to time have to adjust for this.... I usually add more vanilla if it is too dry (because I LOVE the flavor). Once you make it a few times, you can tell by touch while it is mixing if you will need more liquid. I have had times where the flour and air were extremely dry and I needed to add up to a couple tablespoons more liquid.... Just the nature of baking and humidity, and this recipe seems to really be affected by it... But it is a great recipe!!!! My favorite. Tastes wonderful, and works with a variety of different frosting and icings! As Phunny Pharmermentioned you can change the flavoring very successfully with this recipe! I've done vanilla, almond, lavender, lemon and an orange with great results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      These cookies held their shape well, compared to other recipes. I actually halved the recipe, but ended up having to add an egg and some milk as the dough was too crumbly to roll out. Tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      This recipe is great. I needed cut out cookies without the stress and these did not disappoint. I actually left the first batch in the oven too long they became extremely brown but were still beautiful and delicious . I am keeping this in my collection! Thank you for sharing !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Love this recipe. Made these yesterday and grandkids and I had a great time. They also taste yummy. Thanks for the recipe. Have been making cookies for 40 years and these were the best. Will throw out all other recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This is the only sugar cookie recipe I use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Yumm yumm!! My first batch of sugar cookies that tasted perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      This is the recipe I use for decorated cookies, only I brought the baking powder down to 2 tsp as mine did spread a bit. I found leaving your butter out for about 15 minutes on the counter before you mix works best and make sure you chill the dough, roll, cut and rechill before you bake. These are the best!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      The name speaks for itself!! This is my go-to cookie recipe. Perfect cookies every single time. The rolling between parchment method is definitely the way to go. It's a timesave and makes clean up a breeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I can't believe I've never reviewed this recipe. I picked it up last Christmas when I was looking for a cookie recipe that would keep its shape and still taste great. This one is perfect and versatile. I've made cutouts, thumbprints, jam pies (cut circles, put a little jam on, and fold in half) and linzer-style cookies all with much success with this dough. It stores really well. I just divide it into enough dough for 2 dozen cookies, put in ziploc bags, and pop in the fridge (thaw for a couple of hours before working with). I've ground dried lavender flowers (1 tsp) with the sugar in a food processor before making the dough for a great spring/summer cookie. I've doubled and halved the recipe with equal success. And I've had to buy more cookie cutters because I am so fond of making these delicious cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I have made this a number of times now and it really is a no-fail recipe. I find that rolling it out between parchment or wax paper and then chilling is best. The cookies keep their shape and do not spread much, if at all. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This is an awesome recipe. I used it for my first cookie decorating attempt. The dough tastes great and baked beautifully. Will use again. I even prepared half of the recipe and everything worked fine. This is the only cut out sugar cookie recipe I will use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Very good recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I have been using this recipe for years and years. (Not from here tho!) By far the "BEST" sugar cookie recipe out there. Also the best technique for making sugar cookies......parchment paper and then chill works wonderfully every time! They are no fail for sure as this is the only sugar cookie recipe I get perfect results form every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Found them really flaky. too much butter flavour too. maybe i did something wrong. i also tried using a cookie press which does not work with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I make these and as soon as they are out of the oven I put a pre-cut piece of marshmallow fondant (that I cut with the same cutter for the cookie) and place it on top. It melts to the cookie and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      I'm 50 yrs old and this was the first time in my life I ever made and rolled cookies and even bought NEW Christmas cookie cutters...I also did as the hint sugessted...AWESOME...my grandson's will be excited to get a sample of what they will be helping me make in the coming wks.for Christmas..I'm making GOODIE boxes and these will certainly be included!! Thank you Ronda B. OHIO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      My daughter hosted a Christmas cookie party at our house. I wanted the perfect sugar cookie recipe and this was IT! I rolled the dough out the day before the party and as suggested in the recipe, I rolled the dough between sheets of parchment paper. There was no mess at all! When the girls arived for cookie making all they had to do was cut and decorate, which is the funnest part of cookie making anyway! The dough kept its shape beautifully while baking. Each star kept its points and each angel kept her wings! Not only were they easy ti make and pretty to look at, they tasted buttery and sweet and delicious! These are the only sugar cookies I'll ever make again! Thanks for the recipe and the helpful hint! Heather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No Fail Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1732 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 963.4
     
    Calories from Fat 433
    44%
    Total Fat 48.1 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 29.6 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 168.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 852.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 122.2 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 50.3 g
    201%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites