23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What an amazing pie crust. All others are being deleted. It is wonderful to work with. I half the recipe and still use 1 egg. I will use one part, roll it out, prick it all over with a fork, spread butter, sprinkle with raw sugar and cinnamon bake at 400 for 10 to 15 minutes comes out flakey and tender. I use this wonderful pie crust for grandma's egg custard pie Grandma's Egg Custard Pie. I would never bake pies because I could not make pie crust, so Nikki Kate I and my family thanks you. My mistake Nikki. I was sooooo happy that I now can make a pie crust in 5 minutes. P.S. Just so you know I would give it 100 stars!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmrealty November 24, 2008

Sweet Jesus! *pause for heraldic choir of angels* Yes, please! Fabulous crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 16, 2013

I have NEVER EVER been able to make a decent pie crust. Came across this one today and decided to try it. It was not the prettiest that I've seen, no fault of the recipe, but it is very easy to patch with the extra dough. Someday I will master it and do thank you for this recipe. It is easy and so much better than my past endeavors. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debishan January 01, 2013

I have looked and looked to find this recipe and there are thousands of different ones, but this one is by far the best one there is!!! Truly no crumbling, no cracking, no mess... just roll out and so tender, flakey and tasty!!! You want the crust as much as the goodies in the pie!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nuname2006 November 15, 2013

Very nice pie crust. It was quick and easy. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 17, 2012

This was honestly one of the hardest pie crusts to work with. I was very exact in my measurements and rolled it out fairly cold, but it still was VERY sticky. It did taste good, but boy was it ugly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
962822 December 08, 2009

This crust was great. I used 1/4 right away and froze the rest. Used a second 1/4 a couple days later and it was very flaky and tasty.I added 3 more Tbsps of sugar because I made it for a sweet pie but ended up using it also for a savoury pie ( onion pie) and it was very good. It was a bit soft after being rolled but it is very forgiving. I just used some scraps to cover any holes I had and it came out great. I think you could even press it in the pie pan directly without rolling it and it would still turn out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachoubrun December 06, 2008

Great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mitziebella_fly January 10, 2008

Great balance of flakiness and sturdiness. This is the ONLY pie crust recipe that I like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsheathbar December 09, 2007

Certainly did not fail me! Edith, this worked like a charm. I halved the recipe and had pastry for a deep dish apple pie, lots of decorations for the top (leaves all over the top) and enough for a cute little turnover or two. The pastry is flaky and rich tasting, slices and serves beautifully. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate November 28, 2007
No-Fail Pie Crust