Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No-fail Moist Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No-fail Moist Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2007

      I made this cake for my Dad's Birthday and it is absolutely awesome! I now have 3 more requests for this cake at upcoming parties! LOL! The only thing I did differently to the recipe is that I added 1 cup of chopped pecans to the frosting recipe. I also used sifted self-rising flour and left out the salt in the recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2004

      Absolutely delicious! I am all for simple recipes made from scratch and this could not have been any easier- didn't even have to use my electric mixer. I made this into a bundt cake and had no problems with excess batter. It baked up in exactly 45 minutes. This is a very moist cake with a very deep chocolate flavor without it being too sweet. Because this is not one of those hurt-your-teeth-sweet cakes, it is able to handle a chocolate glaze on top which I did. I used the glaze recipe from Chocolate! Chocolate! Chocolate! Bundt Cake With Chocolate Glaze which is very easy to do- just mix together 3 tbsp cocoa, 2 tbsp melted butter, 1 cup powdered sugar and 3 tbsp hot water. I also found the cake better the next day. Will definitely make this often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      No kidding. Easiest and most delicious cake. I switched the vanilla for almond and buttermilk for mango yogurt and came out perfect! Thank you so much for this recipe. Whole family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      When they say no-fail, they mean it! I forgot the salt when I was preparing it! I was so worried, but it still turned out GREAT! It tastes really good and is moist! I added one bag of melted semi sweet chocolate chips! It was even better after that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      This is a wonderfully tasty no-fail cake!! It was so easy to make and the layers were huge. I made them in ceramic rounds which were quite deep so they didn't get over 2/3 full. I just went with it and the cake looked like a three layer cake. I could even see cutting each layer in half and making a 4 layer cake out of it. Thank you for this keeper!! I'll never need a box mix again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      As a cook, baking is one of my weakest areas so I specifically looked for a recipe described as "no-fail," and I think this really is no-fail! I made this recipe as cupcakes (it made 30 decent-sized cupcakes) and frosted them with a maraschino-cherry flavored frosting- worked great! Very tasty, moist, and just the right texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Wow! For me to give a baking recipe 5 stars it needs to meet 5 criteria: 1) I love it (cake must be both moist and light), 2) ingredients must be cheap and easily available, 3) my husband loves it (and he usually finds home-made cakes either too heavy or too sticky), 4) it must survive the trauma of being baked in my insanely temperamental oven, 5) it must be a no-brainer to prepare, tolerant of last-minute ingredient substitutes, long pauses in preparation to accomodate toddler tantrums, and general absent-mindedness. This met all 5. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This cake is AMAZING! It is, as stated, no-fail moist. It turns out perfectly every time. Everyone that I make it for loves it, even my Hubby, who really never comments on cakes, said this was really good. I wish it was a bit firmer so that it could support the weight of being decorated, but if it was, I'm sure it wouldn't taste the same. Absolutely Wonderful cake, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      This was a simple to make cake, and as the title says very moist - almost too moist - I would have prefered finer cake texture, I also thought the chocolate flavor was light. I made a basic chocolate fudge frosting which helped to give it more umph. My kids liked it and and so did others at the potluck I took it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      This cake was exceptionally moist,and so easy to make I thought i was doing something wrong.Even my girls who normally makes no comeent siad how moist this was......will MOST definately be making this many many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      I am a 13 year old girl, and I made this cake. This cake is sooo moist and soo delicious, that my MOM wanted the recipe. I am only 13 and this cake was very easy to make. I just used spatula to mix it and it was fine. When i bakes it, it took 50 min. Since the cake wasn't too chocolatey I made a icing to top it with. I amde my cake into a bundt cake, it will turn out gorgeous if you, cut it in half length wise, and put icing there too, it will turn out really nice. I used a chocolate icing which consisted of 1cup icing sugar, 2tbsp cocoa, 2tbsp milk, 1tbsp butter. I will rely on this recipe for a great moist chocolate cake. I ma only 13 and this cake was very easy to make, and turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No-fail Moist Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1571 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4928.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2254
    45%
    Total Fat 250.4 g
    385%
    Saturated Fat 41.4 g
    207%
    Cholesterol 753.8 mg
    251%
    Sodium 4249.3 mg
    177%
    Total Carbohydrate 641.7 g
    213%
    Dietary Fiber 28.1 g
    112%
    Sugars 414.0 g
    1656%
    Protein 71.7 g
    143%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites