12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this cake for my Dad's Birthday and it is absolutely awesome! I now have 3 more requests for this cake at upcoming parties! LOL! The only thing I did differently to the recipe is that I added 1 cup of chopped pecans to the frosting recipe. I also used sifted self-rising flour and left out the salt in the recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyBird July 13, 2007

Absolutely delicious! I am all for simple recipes made from scratch and this could not have been any easier- didn't even have to use my electric mixer. I made this into a bundt cake and had no problems with excess batter. It baked up in exactly 45 minutes. This is a very moist cake with a very deep chocolate flavor without it being too sweet. Because this is not one of those hurt-your-teeth-sweet cakes, it is able to handle a chocolate glaze on top which I did. I used the glaze recipe from Chocolate! Chocolate! Chocolate! Bundt Cake With Chocolate Glaze which is very easy to do- just mix together 3 tbsp cocoa, 2 tbsp melted butter, 1 cup powdered sugar and 3 tbsp hot water. I also found the cake better the next day. Will definitely make this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelcakes July 12, 2004

Definitely a NO FAIL cake recipe. For years, I have been trying my hands on the so called no-fail cake recipes but I end up messing them all. I had come to the conclusion that I can never bake and store-bought bakery products are what I have to deal with all my life. But this new year I thought to give baking a try again and Voila! I succeed. Awesome recipe :) Thank you so much for sharing it!! <br/><br/>P.S.- I followed the recipe blindly except for one tweak: since i had no baking soda, I used baking powder (4 tsps). Worked fine me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya A. January 09, 2015

No kidding. Easiest and most delicious cake. I switched the vanilla for almond and buttermilk for mango yogurt and came out perfect! Thank you so much for this recipe. Whole family loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
edgegeri2005_4717977 February 06, 2014

When they say no-fail, they mean it! I forgot the salt when I was preparing it! I was so worried, but it still turned out GREAT! It tastes really good and is moist! I added one bag of melted semi sweet chocolate chips! It was even better after that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timelord_Snape August 15, 2013

This is a wonderfully tasty no-fail cake!! It was so easy to make and the layers were huge. I made them in ceramic rounds which were quite deep so they didn't get over 2/3 full. I just went with it and the cake looked like a three layer cake. I could even see cutting each layer in half and making a 4 layer cake out of it. Thank you for this keeper!! I'll never need a box mix again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth December 05, 2012

As a cook, baking is one of my weakest areas so I specifically looked for a recipe described as "no-fail," and I think this really is no-fail! I made this recipe as cupcakes (it made 30 decent-sized cupcakes) and frosted them with a maraschino-cherry flavored frosting- worked great! Very tasty, moist, and just the right texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahnity June 25, 2011

Wow! For me to give a baking recipe 5 stars it needs to meet 5 criteria: 1) I love it (cake must be both moist and light), 2) ingredients must be cheap and easily available, 3) my husband loves it (and he usually finds home-made cakes either too heavy or too sticky), 4) it must survive the trauma of being baked in my insanely temperamental oven, 5) it must be a no-brainer to prepare, tolerant of last-minute ingredient substitutes, long pauses in preparation to accomodate toddler tantrums, and general absent-mindedness. This met all 5. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigrrboxer January 04, 2010

This cake is AMAZING! It is, as stated, no-fail moist. It turns out perfectly every time. Everyone that I make it for loves it, even my Hubby, who really never comments on cakes, said this was really good. I wish it was a bit firmer so that it could support the weight of being decorated, but if it was, I'm sure it wouldn't taste the same. Absolutely Wonderful cake, thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgw68 May 14, 2009

This was a simple to make cake, and as the title says very moist - almost too moist - I would have prefered finer cake texture, I also thought the chocolate flavor was light. I made a basic chocolate fudge frosting which helped to give it more umph. My kids liked it and and so did others at the potluck I took it to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet March 08, 2005
No-fail Moist Chocolate Cake