Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No-Fail Easy Cake Mix Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No-Fail Easy Cake Mix Brownies

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2010

      I've been in a " Brownie Craving Mode " lately and I came across this recipe and decided to try it. Since I didn't have any walnuts or chocolate chips, the same amount of peanut butter/chocolate blend chips were used Other than that change, the recipe was followed as it was written.After pouring it into the prepared dish, I realized that I didn't have the required patience it took to spread this out.:) So I sprayed a plastic spatula with a bit of cooking spray, spread the batter around that way.After the intital baking time, I did have to bake the recipe a bit longer than stated.( I think my oven isn't working right, but as long as it worked out it's o.k..) Now, on to the best part, the tasting :) All I can say is, " OMGoodness !!!! The one that I had was so good, I had to have another one right away. Thanks for posting this recipe which will be made again and again. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      absolutly delicious, I made a few changes cuz that's what I do.
      No Butter, instead 1/4 c. oil
      1/4 c. brown sugar
      1 Tbsp Powdered Espresso AND 2 Tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
      Baked in a 9x9 pan, topped with chocolate chips or mint chips

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      These were ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS !!! Very enjoyable. I used walnuts instead of chocolate chips. I also used chocolate frosting. Got to make another batch for the guys at work. Yet another 5 starer by kitten. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      Awesome recipe! I follow it as written with exception of the pan I use. We have one of those mini cupcake pans- they make the yummiest brownie bites! This recipe typically yields about 55 brownie bites for me. I cut the cook time down to about 12 minutes per pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      Wonderful recipe. Doubled the recipe and followed it perfectly. Used 2 Devils Food Cake mixes, baked in oversized 14 x 17" glass pan with lots of Baking Pam for add'l 10 min. AMAZING!!!!! Children now prefer these to our favorite Ghirardelli Triple Brownie Mix. Caution: It smells and looks like it is burning .... leave it alone ... Bake total of 40 min MAX. Great recipe! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      yum :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      I promised my two daughters I would make brownies...only to find no brownie mix in the cabinet. I found your recipe and went to work only to discover I had only yellow cake mixes. I used the yellow cake mix and added chocolate chips. This was loved by my whole family! Next, I will try with the chocolate cake mix, but will use the yellow as a variation! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I followed the directions exactly, but they ended up tasting a lot like a cake mix to me with a texture similar to cake (rather than brownies). I used the chocolate chips, so maybe they'd taste better with the walnuts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      My mom has made these or her church bake sale a few times. They sale rather quickly so usually we're lucky if there are any left post bake sale. She's also recently made this as one of her Thanksgiving desserts we still have some left over but I'm not complaining...Yummm:P Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      I can only give full stars but this really deserves 4.5 stars. Easy, easy and great results. Hubby made them with the kids and he said he'd have preferred more nuts than the recipe called for. Definitely going into the recipe box. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      These are the best brownies I have ever had. And believe me, I have had a lot. I baked them in a 13 x 9 glass pan and I added both walnuts and chocolate chips. They are perfect except for one thing, WE CAN'T STOP EATING THEM.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      These brownies will be our go-to brownies from now on. My husband said they are the best brownies he has ever eaten. I have NO idea how anyone can say they turn out like cake, unless they made some sort of error. The brownies are rich and dense just like a brownie should be. When I pulled them out of the oven they looked like a delicious pan of brownies. They look NOTHING like cake. I used a chocolate fudge cake mix. I added 1/2 cup each, chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. To top them off, I made a chocolate cream cheese icing. They were absolutely delicious and the only change I made was adding the butterscotch chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Thumbs down for me on this one. I found them to be dry and caky. I baked in a 9X13, they seem to rise more than I expected. I prefer the real brownie mix versus this cake mix brownie recipe. Sorry guys I would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      I had a box of brownie mix and a box of Devils Food cake mix, so I opted for the cake mix brownie recipe just to try it. Not the greatest outcome. It was just okay, and a tad bit dry even though it cooked for just 25 minutes. Made in a 9x13 glass pan, it came out like a condensed sheet cake, didn't rise much at all, but doesn't crumble like you'd expect a slice of cake might. I don't think the people at work will rave about it tomorrow, but it's edible and I won't be embarrassed. I don't have to worry about my husband sneaking samples as soon as I go to bed tonight, and he is glad I saved the brownie mix for another time when he'll get more of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      I made these for my hubby because brownies are his absolute favorite treat. Unfortunately, he didn't really care much for these. He said he'd much prefer regular brownie mix brownies. I did not try the baked brownies myself, but I did taste the batter and thought that was good. They were very easy to make. I don't think I'll make them again though as most of the pan I made went into the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I had high hopes that this recipe would turn out brownie-like rather than cake-like, but sadly it did not. I think another reviewer mentioned using Betty Crocker mix, which is what I used as well. This may have impacted the texture. The taste is good, but I had hoped for a denser, chewier texture. I'll have to try again with a different brand of mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      I have to assume the wildly different descriptions of the final product are due to the different brands/flavors of cake mix being used. I used a Betty Crocker Devils Food mix. I followed the recipe and added the nuts (walnuts). The results tasted more cake-like than brownie-like. Not chewy and super-dense like the box brownie mix. I would not make it again. I wish I had just made the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Not quite the texture or flavor of brownies, but really hit the spot when I was craving brownies and only had cake mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This cake came out very brownie-like for me, despite the negative feedback from others. By itself, it's pretty good. I also made a peanut butter icing which adds another component of sweetness to it.
      I didn't have measuring cups, so I estimated the amounts and it still came out fine. Very good brownie cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      I made these "brownies" while pregnant and having a brownie moment. While they were more fudge-like then cake mix should be they didn't quite have taste of a real brownie. Sadly no one really ate them for that reason. While these weren't bad they are also not a substitute for brownies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No-Fail Easy Cake Mix Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.7
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    53%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 439.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 22.8 g
    91%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites