8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good and easy to put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HatesTooCook January 19, 2010

This stew was perfect! I also used the copycat lipton soup but did everything else exactly as written. I cooked it overnight on low. This is a keeper! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY May 11, 2009

Fantastic! Tasted exactly like my grandmother's "real" beef stew! My husband liked it, too. I used frozen stew vegetables instead of fresh, and Copycat Lipton Onion Soup Mix for the onion soup mix. I added an extra can of water (I think my crock pot lid doesn't sit perfectly flat) and after 9 hours on low it was amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness January 05, 2009

This stew was so great and easy!! I used an extra carrot and potato and one celery stalk and only one onion. We really enjoy the veggies! When I read this recipe I didn't have overnight so I cooked it from noon until 7:00 pm on high and it was perfect and tender! Thanks so much, I will definitely make this one of my regulars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy 88 April 12, 2008

I love the flavor and the ease of this stew. No need to make any changes. I've cooked it overnight and just during the day. Great both ways. Looks like this will go into the crockpot again tonight. Dd has basketball tomorrow and the high temp is supposed to be in the 30's. I love this stew with cornbread and sweet iced tea -- oh, yeah! I'm from the south!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrannyHen January 18, 2008

Really great basic recipe & being able to get it going the night before is a treat. I think I only stirred it 3 times. It was perfectly done by dinner time the next evening. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Queen Bag September 12, 2006

I let this sit all day on high and it worked out great. Added a small can of tomato paste and served with a glob of sour cream. Everyone loved it! I agree with Kris, you could add about anything to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ February 28, 2006

Wonderful Stew! I followed the basic recipe but added mushrooms, 4 or 5 glugs of shiraz wine, and in the last hour @ 1/2 a bag of frozen peas. I did screw up the timing so instead of over night and all day, I had it in the crock pot on high for 3 hours and on low for 4 hours - it was done and turned out wonderful. This recipe is obviously very adaptable. Will make it often and not worry about adding additional ingredients/seasonings. Maybe next time some garlic? chopped onions or pearl onions instead of quarters? mixed veggies instead of peas? no peas? I'm rambling. It was very good and deserves 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satisfied Kris January 23, 2006
No Fail Crock Pot Beef Stew