9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh wow, this is a really, really good cake recipe! It is easy and rather quick to throw together and the cake tastes sooooo yummy! It is moist, with a nice crust on top and a fruity flavour. The tomato doesnt come through at all, only the colour of the cake makes it guessable that there is some tomato in it.
I used both raisins and chocolate in the form of chocolate covered raisins and they added a nice flavour to the cake. As I dont like my baked things to be too sweet I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and that was just perfect.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, NurseJaney!
Ill surely make it again as everyone just loved it!
Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #44 September 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 08, 2010

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC recipe, TRUE!<br/>Love recipes that have family history too!<br/>Let me tell you this cake did not last,<br/>I am certainly glad this recipe of NurseJaney's, I did not pass!<br/>Made for the AUS/NX May Recipe Swap<br/>WHOO HOO!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder May 29, 2013

This is really nice, is really moist and keeps well for quite a few days...it is very sweet though..I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and would cut it even more next time..I love the fact that this has no eggs as my little one is allergic to egg white so he can still have this as a treat. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 05, 2011

I have been hesitant to try this cake for many years! I tried yours and my family, kids at school, friends all loved it. I made the one with the chocolate chips, I added a few extra ;) If you have not tried this please do because superb does not do it justice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelalberta_22 June 16, 2009

Took this to the DS's music recreation group where it was thoroughly enjoyed and devoured. My loaf tin measures 21.5cm(8 1/2") x 11.5cm (4 1/2") x 5.5cm (2 1/8") and I had to divide the mix between two of these (with the mix coming just over 1/2 the way up the tin. I baked for 45 minutes at 160C in a fan forced oven but could have done with 40 minutes. I used the option of chocolate chips and iced one with chocolate icing. Thank you NurseJaney, made for Recipe Swap #20 September 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 09, 2008

Well! I must say I'm surprised at this cake! The consistency was just right. Hubby accidentally bought condensed soup, so I added a can of milk to the cake and made a double lot, and sent one to work the next day. He came home with requests for the recipe- and he didn't know the soup was in the cake, I called it "Spice cake"! I personally thought there was too much ground clove, I might tone that down next time. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee June 13, 2008

Made for the Aussie/NZ Swap ~ I choose recipes to make that I expect to enjoy, but I chose this because using tomato soup in a cake intrigued me. I am a hopeless chocoholic, so I used choc chips but no raisins. I intended to frost it as suggested, but the aroma fresh from the oven was so divine & DH so impatient that our 1st taste was warm & plain w/some fruit. DH looked at me & said *Forget frosting* & I agreed w/him. I admit I was anxious during the prep. It smelled like tomato, looked like mashed carrots & I do not have a loaf pan right now. So I baked about 2/3 of it in a 9-in rd pie plate & the rest as muffins. It is an easy-fix ~ wonderfully dense + moist w/a lovely flavor hard to define ~ & nearly gone after 1 dy as DH adores it w/vanilla ice cream. Thx for sharing this keeper recipe w/us. ~ Edited to Add: Both 1 tsp clove + 1 tsp grd cloves are on the ingredient list & confusing, so I used 1 tsp grd cloves. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis May 19, 2008

Yum! Like a few other reviewers I used 1/3 cup of sugar and found that to be spot on for my tastes. I used raisins along with some halved cherries instead of the chocolate chips and served along with a little thickened cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J April 17, 2013

Well who would have thought you could make a loaf with a can of tomato soup that comes out as delicious as this. I swapped the 1/2 cup of butter for 1/2 cup olive oil, as I wasn't sure how to measure out a half cup of butter. Added some raisins and didn't ice. To keep me from temptation I took it to work and left it on the kitchen table. All who tried it that I was able to catch up with had no idea there was tomato soup in it, until I told them. The look on some faces was priceless. A lovely loaf and one that I will be making again. Thank you Nurse Janey. I'm very pleased I chose to make this recipe. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap August 2012. Sorry no photos, but it looked very much like the one currently on display.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy August 15, 2012
"no Egg" Tomato Soup Cake