16 Reviews

Great recipe, tasted really good. We like ours really juicy like so I am gonna double the flour and milk next time. Plus add more garlic

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
regina b. May 09, 2016

Soooooo good!!!! I made this last night & the whole family LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princesa7 August 13, 2014

This was delicious! My 2 year old loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cool.mom80 July 06, 2013

Delicious! Just whipped this up and my whole family devoured it! I love that it was a bit lighter than the regular creamy pastas out there! Only thing I added were some crushed chili flakes for a bit of heat.
Thanks so much !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine F. April 16, 2012

I used regular bacon and cooked it until crispy. I used 2 garlic cloves. For us, there was too much oregano. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried. The sauce was a bit too thick. Next time I would reduce the amount of sour cream and add more milk to make it more creamy. Thanks Lori :) Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 26, 2010

This was an excellent dinner and took no time at all! It was nice to use low fat ingredients and still have all the flavour. I think I would use more garlic next time. For the people who found this dish too dry it may have been step 4 that caused the problem. They may have been cooking on medium-high for 5 minutes - it would have dried out a lot! I only cooked it for about 1 minute after it came to a simmer over medium heat at that stage. This meal has large portions and was loved by us all! Made for Holiday tag. Thanks Lori Mama! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif March 30, 2010

This was great. And I love how it is so flexible - I can see adding all sorts of yummy extras depending on mood and what's around the kitchen. I'm thinking sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms next time! I did make a few changes - I cut it down to about 8-10 oz spaghetti, but kept the rest of the ingredients the way they are, except for the sour cream, which I scaled down to 2 tablespoons. That way I could also add some veggies - used broccoli this time- to the spaghetti for the last 2-3 minutes of cooking and have enough sauce to go around. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews January 06, 2009

I loved the flavor and ease of this recipe but I had the same trouble as another reviewer in that the sauce ended up very think and dry before it could be eaten. I used low fat turkey bacon, fat free milk and sour cream. By the time the pasta was cooked the sauce was ready and waiting. I like the fact that with the parm cheese no added salt is needed. My 4 stars is based on the flavor and health attributes of the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 14, 2008

We thought this had a good taste, but it really didn't turn out well for some reason. It was VERY dry at the end and the sauce was way too thick. I double checked the ingredients and directions and didn't see anything we did wrong so I don't know what happened. I think even if the sauce weren't as thick it would need more of it to really cover that amount of noodles. We actually only had a 14.5 oz. box of noodles even. I did cook our bacon seperately to keep it crispy and added it at the end. We served this with some parsley bread which was a nice match. I may or may not try this again sometime to see if it was just an error somewhere.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer April 29, 2008
No Egg/Cream Carbonara