Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No Cheese-Whiz Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No Cheese-Whiz Broccoli Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-94 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2007

      We thought this was pretty tasty; the only complaint was that it was too bland. That would be my fault. I did not use canned cream of chicken soup; instead I used Healthy Substitute for Cream of Chicken Soup #18157, which pretty much removes ALL salt from the dish. I would definitely recommend adding a tsp of salt or seasoned salt in that event. I really enjoyed not having Cheez Whiz (is that even really cheese) in this; the shredded cheddar was so much better. I will probably be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I made this recipe exactly as written. The casserole was too thick, rich and salty for our taste. I will try it again but next time, I think I will add some milk to thin it out a bit. I love the fact that it did not have any cheez whiz though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      This was fast, easy, and absolutely fantastic! I will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      FABULOUS recipe!! I had made my own mushroom soup using Cream Of Mushroom Soup and I used a can of cream of celery soup. I had cooked rice lefted over so all I did was added everything together in a large mixing bowl expect for the cheese and stirred well and poured into my lightly sprayed baking dish, cover with lid and baked for 30 minutes than took out of oven and put the cheese on top and back in oven til the cheese melted (10 minutes). My husband usually doesn't like broccoli casseroles but he LOVED this one! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! Its one I know I will make again in the future! DELICIOUS!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

    • on August 23, 2007

      very good, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This was really good! I too, like real cheddar better than cheez whiz. I also used brown rice instead of white rice. Very good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      This was the best broccoli rice casserole EVER!! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone RAVED about it. I doubled the recipe and froze half in little containers after it was cooked. I was impressed at how well it reheated. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I, too, like that this casserole doesn't have Cheese-Whiz. My husband really enjoyed this recipe, and the kids ate it, too (which is always a plus)! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      Finally! A recipes broccoli-rice casserole without cheez-whiz! This recipe was great, only thing I did different was to use brown rice instead of white. Turned out wonderful. Thank you much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I was in an awful rush tonight. I used 2C instant brown rice , I left the broccoli frozen ( broken up ) and I only had cream of mushroom soup to use. The casserole came out perfect . Thank you for a quick tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      I've made a lot of broccoli/rice casseroles and always felt guilty for all the fat that was in them. I liked this recipe because of the (no cheese whiz) and lack of added butter the other recipes have. It comes out perfect without all that added fat and calories! I used cream of celery soup (just a preference) and minced dry onion (1 Tbs) as changes. I also baked it with the casserole lid on since there wasn't much liquid added and topped it with a little cheddar at the end. This is a keeper for sure! Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      I made this recipe for the Freezer Tag game the in OAMC forum. I did not cook the onion or heat up the cheese, simply mixed all the ingredients together in a large bowl and split the mixture between two square casserole dishes. One I froze (for a week) and the other I made right away. The first dish seemed a bit bland to me(I would add some garlic, and two or three different cheeses like colby, monterey jack, and maybe marjoram and salt and pepper) but my husband loved it. A week later, the frozen mixture, thawed overnight and then baked for one hour, turned out better tasting the the unfrozen casserole! The cheese taste seemed to intensify with freezing. It turned out great! For OAMC, simply mix all ingredients together (start with your rice cooked, not raw) and spoon into two or even three smaller casserole dishes (I used the square Glad Ovenware), cover, label and freeze. If you thaw overnight, just cook the hour. If cooking from frozen state, add ten minutes or so, check for doneness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      Oh My I am in love. This dish is wonderful. I did not change anything as it. But... But I did add Sausage. Link Sausage. One dish meal for me. I have the left overs in the freezer for yet another day. I just know it is going to taste just as good. Thank You very much for a wonderful recipe. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No Cheese-Whiz Broccoli Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.8
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    52%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 58.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1005.2 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites