Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / No-Beat Popovers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    No-Beat Popovers

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2010

      Super easy to make and mmmm delicious! (And that's coming from a non-cook) I bake mine using a silicone muffin pan (grease only the bottom) - and the popovers fluff up nicely. (I could be wrong, but it also seems to turn out better when I whip the eggs & milk before adding in flour.) I have made this recipe a few times now and it has turned out fine every time. (I especially like that I can dump it into the muffin pan - lumpy batter & all and then into the oven - no hassle cooking!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      This is the same recipe I use to make Yorkshire pudding. It works great every time. The only things I do different is omit the salt and heat the muffin tins (real hot) with beef drippings in the bottoms. Perfect no fail recipe. Leaving the batter sit once mixed (1 hour) also help them rise higher and they seem to be fluffier and not as dense. Try cheese whiz or peanut butter on the leftovers, I always make a double batch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Great, I would not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      These came SO good! I'm making them for the second time. I couldn't believe how well they rose. This is going to replace my old popover recipe that I've had for over 25 years!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      This recipe turned out perfectly. I think the key is putting the batter in a cold oven. Fluffy and perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Absolutely TOO EASY.....Again the SECRET is to start with a COLD OVEN!!! Short note for the no dairy version. I tried 1 cup of Almond flavored Soy milk. It did'nt change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      Because I'm cooking for one, I cut this recipe in half, to avoid too many leftovers. I love how quickly and easily they come together, and how perfectly they turn out. I don't have a popover pan, so I used a muffin tin, and checked (via oven light) at about 20 minutes--which was plenty of time.

      Overall, this is a great recipe, and one that's will add to my rotation very easily!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      I agree with DeeCooks, mine didn't come out like the pics or like everyone else's :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Very nice, super easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I just don't know why, after all these great reviews, mine were terrible. I have a popover pan, followed the directions, and got dense, overly brown lumps. I have yet to find a good popover recipe...and I'm really trying! I wish this had worked!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Muffin tins for 20 mins. SO GOOD! they stuck a bit to the non-stick muffin tins (go figure) even though I greased them all up with a LOT of butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Wow & Wow & Wow. I will never cook a roast again without making these. I just recently bought a popover tin and came upon this receipe. I was so impressed and my Husband could not stop raving. I watched them rise in my oven as if by magic. Now I need to buy another tin so I can double the receipe. Six of these are definitely not enough when we have guests ............everyone would be fighting over them. Thank you Laurie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      I've never heard of these but I found this recipie on accident and I decided to make them since they looked so easy. I cooked them for 27 minutes which was way too long. They were unexpected. I didn't think they would be hollow inside but I liked them. I made 9 and I ate 6 in one sitting. Haha. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Excellent and Tasty! These popovers were so easy to make and tasted great. I will be making these again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      These taste exactly like the cream puffs I've been making since I was a child. We had them plain, but would be great with chocolate or vanilla pudding, or a whipped cream filling and sprinkled with powdered sugar...cream puff! Thanks for posting...I've never had a pop over until now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I will never make any other popovers than these. They were so simple, and took very little time to whip up. The only thing I did differently was instead of mixing well with a spoon, I mixed it well with a fork. The fork also worked very well when it came time to discard the lumps. My popovers were done in 30 min, and everyone at home scarfed them up. My husband ate 3, and would of eaten more had there been any left. This is definitely taking a spot in my recipe book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      These turned out great. The recipe is easy because it uses things I always have on hand! I baked mine in large muffin pans, and they were done a little sooner than 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I've never had popovers before, but I tried these anyway...and they didn't come out. I think in the directions, where it says "disregarding lumps," i.e. it is ok to have them, it should say "discarding lumps," i.e. it is not ok to have them. I plan to try this again, hopefully with better results :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Simple ingredients and very easy to make. I used a muffin tin and managed to make 8 pop-overs with the recipe. Some had a more cakey texture but that's because I didnt discard the lumps in the mix, before I pour the batter into the muffin tins. So make sure you remove all the lumps for a perfect rise. The pop-overs are light and soft. Very good bread substitute when you run out, or just for a change in your breakfast routine! Taste best when served hot, with HONEY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      Very easy, very tasty! This was my first time making or eating popovers, so I don't really have a "standard" to compare these to, but they were really good. I made mine in a muffin tin and got 6 lovely puffy, airy but still very moist and slightly chewy on the inside. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white, which worked just fine. I had mine with butter and honey and BF enjoyed his with butter and cherry jam. Thanks Laurie- this is one I'll surely keep on-hand for those "whoops, there's no breakfast!" mornings. The hardest part about this recipe was not opening the oven door for 30 minutes! The suspense was killing me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for No-Beat Popovers

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.6
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    23%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 67.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 237.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites