13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tweaked this recipe a bit and lioved the end result. Used Hot Turkey sausage instead of pork and used no green peppers.

Also added in a 1/2 teaspoon of Cumin and a 1 tsp of Ancho CHile powder (in addition to all of the other spices)

cooked in the crock pot for 10 hours and the result was fabulous..I am on my 3rd day of eating it and love it with some cheese, a lil sour cream and some tortilla chips to scoop it up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckobran January 29, 2012

I was nervous at first because I never made chili before. Not a big fan of beans so searched "no bean chili". I must say this was great. There was a lot of flavor and it made enough for leftovers. We love heat so the only thing that I did to change it was added a 10 ounce can of diced tomatoes with green chilis. Also, I am not a fan of chunks so I pureed the diced tomatoes but I do that with everything! Great! I would definitely try this one again and recommend to friends!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kibs1982 February 06, 2011

Two critical mistakes I made with with this chili and it still came out AWESOME!!! First, I totally ignored that the ingredients called for pork sausage and I simply bought ground pork. It didn't matter -- the combination with the ground sirloin was great. Then I neglected to note it was a crockpot recipe. So it's on the stovetop simmering away as I type this. How does a cook as old as I am make mistakes like that and still get lucky to come out with an excellent dish!? LOL!! The only thing I added to it was a a teaspoon of cumin. I can't compliment you enough on this wonderful pot of comfort food! Pure magic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adrienne in Reisterstown October 03, 2010

Awesome recipe! I changed it a little I used 1 and half pounds of turkey sausage and 1 pound of ground turkey. Amazeballs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srv18 January 29, 2014

I added cumin, as well as a small can of mushrooms, and used Muir Glen Organic fire roasted diced tomatoes, Red Gold for the rest, I believe tomatoes can make a big difference in chili. Add a few good dashes of Cholula hot sauce (with the wooden cap) for zing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra R. October 13, 2013

awesome! my family loved it. will be making this one again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joanfield March 04, 2013

I can't stand beans or macaroni in chili, so this fit the bill pefectly. I like to try other chili recipes & am happy I tried this one 'cause it is VERY GOO!!! I used green chilies in place of the green pepper & I didn't have any red pepper flakes, so I used hot sauce instead. The results were GREAT...will most definately make this again!!! THANKS for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman December 08, 2012

I also tweaked this; but it turned out to be the best chili EVER. :D I have never tried a chili with sausage, and since it was B1G1 at my grocery store, had some extra to use up to decided to try this. I used a can of "chili-ready" tomatoes, rotel, and tomato sauce. I pureed all three in our food processor as picky DH doesn't like "chunky" chili. I then added the spices to that mixture, mixed it all together, added some cumin & cayenne pepper and cooked on LOW for 10 hours. Even my little toddler loved this. DH raved about it. Going in my stars cookbook - thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ November 26, 2012

I have made this recipe many times and it always comes out awesome!!! Share it and tell a friend.. My whole family loves it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
globalgabe November 23, 2010

I love this recipe. I make it as the recipe states, minus the celery. Then I take a bowl out for myself and then add beans for the rest of the family. We all LOVE it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brooklynchic1980 October 05, 2009
No Bean Chili