33 Reviews

What a blast of orange flavor, excellent! My girls and I just finished making these, very easy. I used the larger end of a melon baller to make our tiny bite size cookies. Sorry Lennie, our cookie count was 157.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 25, 2001

Made these for a party - man were they good. Substituted flour for about a third of the powdered sugar due to error... I accidentally poured a whole 12 oz can of orange juice in instead of the 6 without thinking, forcing a double of the recipe. Since I was almost out of sugar and don't prefer too sweet of cookies I subbed flour. I think they were perfect.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu September 30, 2002

This sweet treat is a real delight. I left out the nuts due to a family member's request and they taste just great without them. Vanilla wafers come in 250g boxes here in Canada, so I had to use 1-1/2 boxes to equal the 12-oz box called for in this recipe. One important difference: my yield was 76 balls, using my 1-inch scoop. Rolled in coconut, these are terrific!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie December 22, 2001

My daughters made this last night and I couldn't stop picking at the dough before they formed the balls. They used finely ground almonds and also added some grated orange rind. We're going to be making this a lot from now on!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj December 17, 2001

This recipe is a blast from my past. My mother and I stood in the kitchen, rolling up these OJ balls when I was in elementary school (25+ years ago!)in Florida- We didn't use the nuts in the cookies, but they're delicious either way-we rolled them in coconut, powdered sugar, and crushed vanilla wafers-3 ways to enjoy these little balls of sunshine! I had lost this recipe years ago--thank you for helping me recapture a childhood favorite memory!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGirl,RN January 02, 2003

These cookies have a great taste, but they were a bit too sweet for me. I am wondering if substituting flour for about 1/3 of the sugar would work, to cut down on the sweetness...gonna try. But, my dad (who LOVES sweets) gobbled them up!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda January 29, 2002

OH WOW! I'm glad I waited to review this....I tasted these right after making them and the orange flavor was a bit too much for me BUT then I tried another after sitting in the refrigerator overnight and it was PERFECT! So I would suggest preparing a day in advance for the ultimate results. I also would recomend letting the batter chill before forming into balls as they fall apart. The next time I make these I will also try coating these in a simple glaze instead of rolling sugar or coconut.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chic Lil Chef February 15, 2009

Everyone loves these plus they freeze well. I use 1 stick of butter, 1 c. finely chopped pecans and about 1/2 c. of coconut in the overall mix (easier and quicker than rolling in the coconut), shape using a 1" melon baller and then roll in the powdered sugar. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roswell Recipe Reader August 04, 2008

This recipe did not work out for me at all! I carefully measured all the ingredients & the mixture was still soupy. Since I didn't have any more vanilla wafers, I added 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs but still couldn't get the mixture to stay in ball form. So, I decided to refrigerate the mixture. I ended up refrigerating overnight & it didn't make much difference the next day. The last resort was to pour it into a pan & freeze it. I did try a piece of the frozen stuff & it was so unbelievably sweet, I chucked the whole pan :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb February 11, 2012

These are good. I love no bake cookies. You don't need more then the 1/2 cup oleo (or butter in my case) The 6oz of concentrate is about 3/4 cup (I subbed a little bit of that for mango vodka :) Rolled in coconut since everyone agreed these were sweet enough! Their flavor is great, but out of the fridge they're kinda hard/dense and if you leave them out they get a bit to soft. Oh just wanted to add also - if you (like me bought the ginormous 4 lb bag of powdered sugar - 1 lb is = to about 3 1/2 cups)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma December 14, 2010
No Bake Vanilla Orange Balls