9 Reviews

These are amazing and so easy to make with a food processor! They are good with or without the sugar. They remind me of a cross between a fruitcake and a Larabar. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I'm sure I'll make it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefLizD September 19, 2016

I love making these for Chrismas. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds August 14, 2012

A wonderful, unique addition to a dainty platter. Easy to make, and fun for kids to help with. Five stars all the way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anemone January 31, 2010

These were perfect for the holidays: easy to make, yummy, and healthy. They will definitely become a holiday tradition for us. I used dates and fresh squeezed orange juice, and replaced the raisins with dried cranberries. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose December 26, 2009

These are wonderful little gems! I used orange marmalade instead of the OJ and skipped the raisins. This is a new holiday favorite! Thanks, Mirj

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemini08 December 03, 2009

Truly delightful--a delicious and complex blend of flavors and textures like no other!! And so much more healthful than most candy! I used dates and orange juice this time, but plan to make this recipe again at Christmas with orange liqueur (that has to be wonderful!). Like another reviewer mentioned, these are best if left in the fridge for awhile, so the flavors can come together. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing it, Mirj!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal May 31, 2009

This is a wonderful recipe, and it deserves every one of it's five stars. I used dates and orange liqueur, and rolled 1/2 tablespoon sized balls in a mixture of plain coco and hot chocolate mix. I put the balls into little candy cups, and they looked like chocolate truffles! I gave them out as Christmas gifts, and had great feedback. I'll be making these every Christmas from now on. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Harriet~ December 26, 2007

Finally I come across a quick Christmas cookie posting that is not made with pre-made cookie dough, packaged cookies or crackers, and high sugar. I make a version of this using ground cashews, almonds or walnuts. Any dried fruit (goji berries, cranberries, prunes, red dates) can be substituted for the amounts of apricots and dates. For another level of flavor, add ground spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, cardomon, anise). Since this fruit paste is already sweet, I roll the balls in dessicated coconut . I leave them as balls or flatten as coins. Best refrigerated overnight for flavors to blend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enpai December 06, 2007

These were sweet and yummy! Even the adults loved them. Thank you for sharing Mirj. Keep em coming!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 11, 2007
No-Bake Sugar Plums