130 Reviews

When it comes to granola bars, I'm not sure you can get any better than this ~ I especially liked the inclusion of raisins & PB! And, although I like light corn syrup, since I now have a great deal of honey on hand (thanks to the recent honey swap!) I followed others who made this & used half honey & half corn syrup! This is definitely a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in All New Zaar Cookbooks tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 08, 2009

These were awesome and so easy! My husband took them to work, a woman there tasted them and wanted the recipe to make for her kids. I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and added coconut. Like another reviewer, I did 1/4 corn syrup, 1/4 cup honey. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxie Mama 26 April 27, 2009

This recipe was fast and easy! My husband just found out he has high cholesterol so I was looking for him a snack that was better for both of us with me trying to loose weight also. The best part was that I had all the ingredients already on hand. I did substitute half the corn syrup for honey. I would have used all honey, I just didn't have enough so I used half corn syrup half honey. I also substituted 1/2 cup of the rice cereal for cheerios and I used chunky peanut butter because that was all I had on hand. I omited the brown sugar except for about 1 tablespoon full just to see how it tasted with a litle. I didn't put raisins only because neither one of us like them. I added a little coconut to mine and about 1/4 cup applesauce right before I mixed all ingredients. Oh, yeah I sprinkled cinnamon in there too. Instead of stirring it with a spoon I sprayed some nonstick cooking spray to my hands and mixed it all up like that. Then I patted it into the pan (that I lined with wax paper so they come out easier) by hand too and the spray made it not stick to my fingers. The only thing is that I may add a little more honey next time because my bars were a LITTLE crumbly. It just needed more to bind it together a little better, but if yours crumbles you could just put it into a zip lock bag and eat it like trail mix :) This is an awesome recipe and I will definitely be making it over and over again!! Kudos!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aidoosmommy April 22, 2009

These are very good. I skipped the brown sugar, and used honey instead of corn syrup, because corn syrup is way to nasty to feed the little ones. I used brown rice rice crispies, added 1/4 c. wheat germ, ground flax seed, and 1/2 c. pecans. My two year old will love these "cookies". Thanks for a great place to start.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 March 24, 2009

Fantastic! I made some substitutions... I used 1 1/2 cups of raisin bran (which I put in the food processor to grind) in place of some of the rice krispies. I skipped the 1/2 cup of raisins and added about 1 cup of diced dried fruit. I used honey instead of corn syrup, and I added more than 1/2 cup to compensate for the extra dry stuff I had. I also added some milled flax seed and a handful of cinnamon chips. They were awesome! The only adjustment I would make next time is to leave out the brown sugar. I found them a little too sweet, and I think they would be just perfect without the sugar. Thanks for a great base recipe! I can do a lot of experimenting with this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs.mamacita March 18, 2009

This was delicious. All 5 of my kids (with a little help from our teen friend and me) ate the entire recipe today. Will definitely make these again. Oh I accidentally left out the brown sugar but no one missed it not even me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2five March 12, 2009

Yummy and simple. I was worried about the peanut butter flavor not matching well with the Craisins I wanted to use here, but after reading other reviews, I tried this recipe-- it's great! The peanut butter taste is there, but more adds a richness versus being a main flavor. It works really well! I added in some white chocolate chips as well- they got a little melty, and I'm not sure they'll be noticed (or needed). Regular chocolate chips might stand out better. A great recipe- THANKS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely February 15, 2009

I am very impressed with this recipe and myself! I made these to pack in my son's lunch but am finding myself munching on them! Easily adaptable to what is on hand......I think next time I will try craisins. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus February 08, 2009

Very GOOD! I used cheerios instead of the crispy rice with EXCELLENT results (it is what I had on hand)..I will always make them this way now. Reminded me of those newer "cereal" bars. Good recipe to play around with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drsarauf January 19, 2009

Like others, I will never buy store made granola bars again!! This was so easy! I made a few changes with what I had in our pantry/fridge-I used 2 cups crispy rice, left out the raisins and light corn syrup but added agave nector instead. I also sprinkled in some ground flax seed and wheat germ. I am addicted to this and feel so much better knowing exactly what my family and I am eating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sjohns January 11, 2009
No-Bake Granola Bars