129 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were awesome and so easy! My husband took them to work, a woman there tasted them and wanted the recipe to make for her kids. I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins and added coconut. Like another reviewer, I did 1/4 corn syrup, 1/4 cup honey. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxie Mama 26 April 27, 2009

This recipe was fast and easy! My husband just found out he has high cholesterol so I was looking for him a snack that was better for both of us with me trying to loose weight also. The best part was that I had all the ingredients already on hand. I did substitute half the corn syrup for honey. I would have used all honey, I just didn't have enough so I used half corn syrup half honey. I also substituted 1/2 cup of the rice cereal for cheerios and I used chunky peanut butter because that was all I had on hand. I omited the brown sugar except for about 1 tablespoon full just to see how it tasted with a litle. I didn't put raisins only because neither one of us like them. I added a little coconut to mine and about 1/4 cup applesauce right before I mixed all ingredients. Oh, yeah I sprinkled cinnamon in there too. Instead of stirring it with a spoon I sprayed some nonstick cooking spray to my hands and mixed it all up like that. Then I patted it into the pan (that I lined with wax paper so they come out easier) by hand too and the spray made it not stick to my fingers. The only thing is that I may add a little more honey next time because my bars were a LITTLE crumbly. It just needed more to bind it together a little better, but if yours crumbles you could just put it into a zip lock bag and eat it like trail mix :) This is an awesome recipe and I will definitely be making it over and over again!! Kudos!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aidoosmommy April 22, 2009

These are very good. I skipped the brown sugar, and used honey instead of corn syrup, because corn syrup is way to nasty to feed the little ones. I used brown rice rice crispies, added 1/4 c. wheat germ, ground flax seed, and 1/2 c. pecans. My two year old will love these "cookies". Thanks for a great place to start.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 March 24, 2009

Fantastic! I made some substitutions... I used 1 1/2 cups of raisin bran (which I put in the food processor to grind) in place of some of the rice krispies. I skipped the 1/2 cup of raisins and added about 1 cup of diced dried fruit. I used honey instead of corn syrup, and I added more than 1/2 cup to compensate for the extra dry stuff I had. I also added some milled flax seed and a handful of cinnamon chips. They were awesome! The only adjustment I would make next time is to leave out the brown sugar. I found them a little too sweet, and I think they would be just perfect without the sugar. Thanks for a great base recipe! I can do a lot of experimenting with this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs.mamacita March 18, 2009

This was delicious. All 5 of my kids (with a little help from our teen friend and me) ate the entire recipe today. Will definitely make these again. Oh I accidentally left out the brown sugar but no one missed it not even me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2five March 12, 2009

Yummy and simple. I was worried about the peanut butter flavor not matching well with the Craisins I wanted to use here, but after reading other reviews, I tried this recipe-- it's great! The peanut butter taste is there, but more adds a richness versus being a main flavor. It works really well! I added in some white chocolate chips as well- they got a little melty, and I'm not sure they'll be noticed (or needed). Regular chocolate chips might stand out better. A great recipe- THANKS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely February 15, 2009

I am very impressed with this recipe and myself! I made these to pack in my son's lunch but am finding myself munching on them! Easily adaptable to what is on hand......I think next time I will try craisins. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus February 08, 2009

Very GOOD! I used cheerios instead of the crispy rice with EXCELLENT results (it is what I had on hand)..I will always make them this way now. Reminded me of those newer "cereal" bars. Good recipe to play around with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drsarauf January 19, 2009

Like others, I will never buy store made granola bars again!! This was so easy! I made a few changes with what I had in our pantry/fridge-I used 2 cups crispy rice, left out the raisins and light corn syrup but added agave nector instead. I also sprinkled in some ground flax seed and wheat germ. I am addicted to this and feel so much better knowing exactly what my family and I am eating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sjohns January 11, 2009

Super quick, easy, and customizable. I tried a half batch on some coworkers, then I handed these out to relatives at Christmas. I omitted the peanut butter and substituted dried cranberries (Craisins) for the raisins, but left everything else the same. (I plan on making some with dark chocolate chips, which will be interesting with the addition of the hot sugar mixture.) To press the mixture in the pan I applied a sheet of waxed paper to the top and used a flat bottomed dish to squish the mixture down so the bars would be a little more dense. The waxed paper then peels right off. You can use some on the bottom of the pan to keep the bars from sticking, too. Anyway, my coworkers promptly scarfed down the samples I made for them, and my little nephew said I make the best granola bars ever! What more can a cook ask for? Thank you for the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spaceoops January 07, 2009
No-Bake Granola Bars