129 Reviews

i made these to have sth somewhat healthy to bring to school because the cafeteria is disgusting and i don't want to have to go to the pizza place across the street every day. i couldn't find rice crispies or corn syrup (i live in germany) so i used crushed cornflakes and maple syrup. i omitted the sugar and used about 2/3 cup of syrup. unfortunately the bars didn't stick together, but i just crumbled them up and now i eat it as cereal for breakfast. very tasty and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlöxölA February 19, 2010

I brought these bars to work on "Go Red for Women Day" and everyone that tried them raved about them. Yes, they were extremely easy to make and very delicious. The only issue that I had was trying to get them out of my 9 x 13 inch glass dish. They were very hard. I know the recipe says "ungreased" pan but perhaps it should say "greased"? Just curious. Has anyone else had that issue?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senseicheryl February 06, 2010

These were so yummy and easy to make! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajean77 December 16, 2009

I, personally, didn't like these all that well. (Then again, it could have been because my Rice Krispies were quite stale.) I guess I'm just too spoiled by the recipes that contain butter or margarine and are baked. So, after trying a bite or two of these, I crumbled them back up, added some margarine, and baked them for 30 minutes, taking tips from another recipe. I will say, once they were baked, I REALLY liked the taste of these ingredients, with the addition of margarine. So, I will probably keep your ingredient list as my default to use with the modifications I made. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire October 17, 2009

Wow! These are so good and so easy, I am wondering just why I haven't done this before? I did add about 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips. My husband thinks I am a the bomb for making these! Thank you for sharing this easy and remarkable little recipe. LOVE IT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. October 02, 2009

Update: I now make these granola bars on a weekly basis to pack in lunch boxes. I love that you can change up the nuts/dried fruits and add spices. I have posted some photos to show others how I prepare and wrap these, so I hope someone finds it helpful. I prepare the recipe and press it into a cookie sheet. Cool and cut into approx. 18 bars. For the kids, I wrap one bar individually in waxed paper, but for my husband I wrap 2 per pkg. Each bar is roughly the size of a commercially packaged granola bar. This recipe is so economical, it is unbelievable how much money I save. So thanks so much Spatchcock, this is one of my top Zaar recipe picks. Original review June 15/09: Delicious and budget friendly. I hate to pay $3.49 for 6 little granola bars! This is very budget friendly and I know exactly what is in them. I added coconut and almonds and increased the corn syrup just a bit to make up for these additions. They were great! Thx so much spatchcock!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 01, 2009

Fantastic! I used honey instead of corn syrup, and sprinkled chocolate chips on top after pressing into the pan. Totally had the crisp yet chewy texture of the store bought granola bars. Thank you for this hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinkerpuppet September 13, 2009

I doubled my fluid after reading some of the reviews and the result is great and addictive too - made a big slab too ! No problems with setting or crumbling - made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew September 09, 2009

Five stars doesn't do this recipe enough justice. Let me give you guys a hint as to how good this is. 1) I signed up just to tell everyone how good this is 2) I made some yesterday and its all gone. In fact, I shared with my neighbors and they already are asking for more! We all agree this is the best granola bar we've ever had. 3) This is GREAT as is, and needs no alterations but you can also play with this. I got an idea to make honey nut bars instead, swapping honey for the corn syrup and chopped walnuts instead of peanut butter and it was good too! I also plan on swapping choc chips instead of raisins in the original recipe to make chocolate chip granola bars. Perfect recipe and thanks soooo much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alaena24 August 31, 2009

This was great! Very easy to make with minimal ingredients needed. I followed the recipe as stated except I added chocolate chips. Just don't make the same mistake I did and add the chocolate to the warm mixture...all the chocolate melted!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmusolf707 August 18, 2009
No-Bake Granola Bars