19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

loved these cookies as a child. mom always made them with carnation evaporated milk though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie L. February 02, 2014

Excellent! I only used 1 1/2 C sugar and it was still very sweet. I boiled it for only 2 min and it turned out great. I love the coconut in it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deanie37 April 27, 2012

this recipe has been a family thing for years. my mom baked it every christmas for the whole family now that she no longer lives close by i hope to be able to accomplish the same happiness from this recipe as she did. if you dont want to sit there waiting for the timer to go at 5 minutes my mom use to use a glass of cold water let a little drop into the glass if it forms a soft ball it is ready

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ldy_Adele December 09, 2008

We just love these! The only changes I make are to increase the vanilla to 1tsp, cook at a rolling boil for one full minute and add 1/2c crunchy peanut butter before adding oats. I find that my cookies are less likely to be dry and fall apart when they are cooked for a shorter time. Thanks ! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanzacp November 01, 2008

This gets 5 stars in my book, because it's relatively more nutritious than other cookies, as well as being delicious! I cut back on the sugar a bit, using about 1 1/2 cups instead of a full 2 cups. I added the walnuts also, but increased them to 3/4 cup, and toasted them first. YUMMY COOKIES! Thanks for this quick and easy recipe, Shawnee TX!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too November 28, 2007

I whipped up a batch of these tonight. My kids loved them! Thanks for making me a hero for the night! Very yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nessa, Texas Housewife September 22, 2006

This is one of our favourites too since a long time now. These are truly delectable and go so well with kids, big and small. I haven't tried it with marshmallows or walnuts. I'll bet this only gets yummier!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani December 14, 2004

I used to cook on oilfield camp and no matter how many dozens of these I made they were all gone the next morning they were easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa S. January 27, 2015

I found the recipe dried too quickly, making the cookies too crumbly. So, I altered the ingredients just slightly: <br/><br/>*1 2/3 cups sugar<br/>*2/3 cup milk<br/><br/>The less sugar and extra milk makes for a smoother mixture, fully coating the oats and coconut shreds. After the oats are coated, there is extra liquid so I mixed the combination together for a few extra minutes and the oats soaked up the extra liquid! <br/><br/>Very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debra P. December 23, 2014

the only thing i would add would be some lemon rind with lemon sprinkles and tinkles.<br/>I bumped up my servings size to 1 million so if someone could convert:<br/><br/>20833 1/3 cups milk<br/>41666 2/3 dashes salt<br/><br/>Into more realistic servings like litres for milk and cups for salt that would be greaaaaat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikolaus.gillies November 11, 2014
No Bake Chocolate Haystack Cookies