10 Reviews

This is the first time I have ever assigned a rating here below three stars, but unfortunately this recipe rates very low in my book. The directions are clear, well-written and easy to follow, and that is why I assigned this two stars rather than just one. I followed them exactly. The mixture was hard to press into the pan, as it starts to set up almost immediately. But I got it levelled into the 13x9 pan, melted the chocolate and spread it over top, then let it sit at room temperature rather than in the fridge, because I didn't want it to go too hard. I needn't have bothered! This is as hard as a rock! With difficulty, I managed to crack a piece out with my chef's knife; nothing else would cut this. And it's so hard that you could honestly break a tooth on it; even if I could somehow get this into squares, I would be afraid to serve it to anyone. I hate to waste food, but I don't think I can salvage this.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie December 23, 2002

These were good tasting, but I had made them the night before to take to work and they set up so hard that you could hardly cut them. They are definately not a make ahead type snack. They were good while they were freshly made though. If anyone knows any suggestions on how to keep them soft overnight let me know!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Nurse December 22, 2002

I made these for my favorite construction crew for a morning snack break, the guys raved and it's now their favorite snack.They think I'm awesome, (they don't have a clue how easy they are)!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. November 15, 2002

Very tasty! I made a few personal tweaks with ingredients (I like to use PB & Co cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter and add about 1 c. raisins to the bars), but I think people who are having trouble with the bars getting hard are maybe cooking the syrup and sugar for too long/bringing it to too high of a temperature? I stir over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved and it just starts to bubble when I stop stirring for a few seconds, turn the heat off, add the peanut butter and stir until it's mostly melted, then take the pan off the hot burner to stir in the cereal and any other mix-ins I'm using. So far this method has worked very well for me (knock wood, of course LOL) and everyone loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dex & Eli's mama June 18, 2012

great recipe, but did you really "adopt" it??? or do you mean "adapted"? if you changed it a bit, it is adapted. if you gave it your last name, okay, then you really adopted it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earsis January 07, 2010

I had no trouble with these at all. Looking for something that I could use my honey nut cheerios that were getting soggy, I put the cheerios in the oven to toast them up a bit and it worked beautifully. I had 9 cups of cereal so I adjusted the recipe accordingly, I also added 2Tablespoons butter. I was also lazy and pressed in mini chips. I wanted to offer this help to those that might be afraid to make these, they are really delicious, great for the beget and for those going out the door in a hurry. When boiling sugar you have stages ranging form Thread Stage 215° F–235° to Hard-Crack Stage 320° F–335° this site explains all about the stages: http://www.baking911.com/candy/chart.htm I brought my sugar to Soufflé: 230 - 235 degrees. The whole family loved them I will be trying these with different cereals. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia January 12, 2009

These are so simple to make and so INCREDIBLY yummy!! I did not have problems with the "setting up" either but as as a precaution, I did add a tablespoon or so of butter into the Karo syrup/sugar mix. I also had just over a cup of peanut butter left in the jar so I used more than one cup, which made it more creamy in the end. My kids LOVE it and will be added to my favorites!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefKristine April 13, 2008

At first, this recipe was delicious. The bars are very chewy if eaten immediately. However, shortly after pressing them, they harden. This is tolerable, however. What really killed this recipe for me was how incredibly sick I get everytime I have made them. They destroy my stomache and I am not entirely sure why! Anyways, I would personally avoid these bars at all costs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. K. Filipczak October 03, 2007

YUMM! I didn't have any problems with this recipe. I used corn flakes instead of cheerio's, (maybe that had something to do with it??) But they turned out delicious! Mine were very chewy and sweet! I used a spatula to press the mixture into the pan evenly, and didn't run into any problems with it "setting up" quickly. LOVED THEM!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juju Bee September 05, 2004

This is wonderful! You can also use Special K or Corn Flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary6 October 15, 2001
No-Bake Cereal Bars