11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I made this for a two family backyard pool party/BBQ and this dessert was a cool, refreshing end to the dinner. Enjoyed by all kids and adults! I used crushed graham crackers for crust with butter (didn't have margarine on hand), omitted the lemon juice and cut banana into round slices. I topped with cherries and some chopped peanuts; I warmed hot fudge in the microwave and placed the warm fudge in a squirt bottle to decorate topping. Will definitely make again, thanks for posting! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 11, 2013

Excellent, Easy and scrumptious dessert. I loved how easy it was to put together and the kids ate it up. I followed your recipe exact and it was a hit. Thanks for sharing such a delightful dessert! ~V (Made for Bevy Tag Comfort Food)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) January 09, 2008

Wow was this good! One of the easiest deserts I have ever made. I followed the recipe exactly. The first one I made was such a hit the family insisted on having another one the following week; but that one I did cut the bananas into round slices and added more pineapple. One of the reviewers suggested wringing out the pineapple first and I do think that was helpful advice. I also made one to take to Thanksgiving dinner. It didn't travel well, I am guessing because I had it out of the fridge too long. I am sure this is a desert I will be making again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mstout December 04, 2014

I did not use the cherries or nuts, and used strawberry flavored Coolwhip in place of the regular. I also left off the coconut because my husband is weird. This got rave reviews from everyone. My kids are calling it "bowl of love". Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom September 02, 2007

Oh this was delish! I love banana splits and this was perfect. It made simple with the use of pudding. I used vanilla instant by the way. I took the advice Mama's Kitchen and just layered the wafers on the bottom and it just doesn't get any better than this. I'm going to take this to work, they will love it. I served the nuts on the side cause some of us like them and some do not. It worked great. Thanks Nora-This is a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jan August 27, 2007

Wow! This is great! Everyone liked it. I made a half recipe in an 8x8 pan, and used mandarin oranges for the pineapple, since that's what I had. I topped with maraschino cherries-it was lovely. Thanks for such an easy, pleasing dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin November 06, 2005

Years ago, I made a recipe similar to this except it had raw eggs in it. Now that you've posted this one, I can make it again without the worry!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doglover61(aka Earnhardt) October 26, 2005

This was so yummy! I was lazy and didnt crush up the vanilla wafers I just laid them in the bottom of the pan and it worked. I only put nuts on half bc I have 'nuts' here who dont want to be cannibals! lol I also added some chocolate syrup on top- cuz I love chocolate! Thanks for a great and easy recipe Nora!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) October 25, 2005

What a delicious treat! I served this to guests and they were all asking for the recipe. I mixed vanilla wafers and chocolate wafers together, as that is what I had on hand and it turned out fantastic. What a simple, crowd pleasing dessert. Well written and easy to follow, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ September 23, 2005

This was a hit! I brought it to work for treat day and everyone raved how yummy it was. I used Vanilla wafer and crushed them in a bag and for the pudding I used Banana Cream. Thanks for sharing NoraMarie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Petrill September 19, 2005
No Bake Banana Split Cake