16 Reviews

I did not notice the cardamon flavor in this bread. I made the dough in the bread machine and baked it in a 9x5 loaf pan at 350○ for 50 minutes. The bread continued to rise in the oven, it hit the top heating element. Next time I would increase the amount of cardamon and make 2 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 loaves.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisF December 19, 2004

I just took a loaf out of my bread machine--what a wonderful smell! I grew up around Scandanavian people who used alot of cardamom, and spent my summers in Upper Michigan where there were alot of Finnish people, so the smell of bread with cardamon in it is like my childhood relived! Good texture and it rose beautifully. Can't wait to try it for breakfast. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando August 03, 2003

Loved it, I make it about once a week! I slice up whatever is left at the end of the firsrt day and. Freeze it in a big ziplock bag, then toast up the slices as w need them. So that it keeps that fresh baked taste. I increase the cardamom to 1 Tbsp and add 1/2 cup golden raisins (sultanas). The last few times I have made this, I break the egg into 1 cup measure and then add enough water to make 3/4 cup in total. The eggs I get can be all different sizes and if there isn't enough moisture, the bread tends to come out heavy and dry. Sometimes save the water from boling potatoes to use itin place of the water. This bread is sooooo good.. tastes just like the swedish cardamom braid mom used to make. And it is super easy to make in the bread machine!.. forgot the stars..reposting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee_tah August 24, 2012

This bread was AMAZING! I made it today and have uploaded a photo. It did want to climb out of the bread machine a little bit but no harm was done, I just got a bigger loaf. I did increase the amount of cardamom to 2. I think the next time I make this I will up it to 3 because we love cardamom here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roseann0617 June 20, 2012

Thanks for sharing this recipe LiisaN! I went to school in the UP where I was introduced to nisu. The first time my DH and I made this, we tossed in all 4 cups of flour which seemed to be a bit much since I had to moisten the dough the loaf hit the roof of our ABM (an Oster). The second time I used this recipe I started with 3.5 cups of flour and sprinkled flour on the dough ball until it stopped sticking to the sides. Still a high rising loaf, but only a little bit of the loaf touched the lid. I love the recipe so I'm going to keep working with it! And as other commenters have mentioned, the cardamon can be increased to taste - this past loaf I used 1.5 tsp, and have a hint of cardamon in the bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seblumer April 16, 2012

Made this to make eggnog french toast with for Christmas breakfast. It was a big hit, the bread held plenty of french toast batter and the cardamom went perfect with the nutmeg/cinnamon of the nogg. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matt_maples December 25, 2010

I made this as challah for our congregation when we had a Scandinavian themed Erev Shabbat dinner. [after the ABM mix cycle, I braided it and baked it off in the oven] It got rave reviews and requests for more! Wonderful bread! Thank you LiisaN !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B July 03, 2009

I took this out of the ABM after the rising and shaped and baked in the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel June 20, 2008

Very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
{forgetmenot} January 05, 2008

This is great! I make it into two braided loaves and then brush with milk and sprinkle sugar on the top before baking. Reminds me of what my great Aunt Mary used to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momsthecook December 20, 2005
Nisu Bread (Finnish Sweet Bread) -(ABM)