Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nisu Bread (Finnish Sweet Bread) -(ABM) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nisu Bread (Finnish Sweet Bread) -(ABM)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2004

      I did not notice the cardamon flavor in this bread. I made the dough in the bread machine and baked it in a 9x5 loaf pan at 350○ for 50 minutes. The bread continued to rise in the oven, it hit the top heating element. Next time I would increase the amount of cardamon and make 2 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 loaves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      I just took a loaf out of my bread machine--what a wonderful smell! I grew up around Scandanavian people who used alot of cardamom, and spent my summers in Upper Michigan where there were alot of Finnish people, so the smell of bread with cardamon in it is like my childhood relived! Good texture and it rose beautifully. Can't wait to try it for breakfast. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Loved it, I make it about once a week! I slice up whatever is left at the end of the firsrt day and. Freeze it in a big ziplock bag, then toast up the slices as w need them. So that it keeps that fresh baked taste. I increase the cardamom to 1 Tbsp and add 1/2 cup golden raisins (sultanas). The last few times I have made this, I break the egg into 1 cup measure and then add enough water to make 3/4 cup in total. The eggs I get can be all different sizes and if there isn't enough moisture, the bread tends to come out heavy and dry. Sometimes save the water from boling potatoes to use itin place of the water. This bread is sooooo good.. tastes just like the swedish cardamom braid mom used to make. And it is super easy to make in the bread machine!.. forgot the stars..reposting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      This bread was AMAZING! I made it today and have uploaded a photo. It did want to climb out of the bread machine a little bit but no harm was done, I just got a bigger loaf. I did increase the amount of cardamom to 2. I think the next time I make this I will up it to 3 because we love cardamom here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Thanks for sharing this recipe LiisaN! I went to school in the UP where I was introduced to nisu. The first time my DH and I made this, we tossed in all 4 cups of flour which seemed to be a bit much since I had to moisten the dough the loaf hit the roof of our ABM (an Oster). The second time I used this recipe I started with 3.5 cups of flour and sprinkled flour on the dough ball until it stopped sticking to the sides. Still a high rising loaf, but only a little bit of the loaf touched the lid. I love the recipe so I'm going to keep working with it! And as other commenters have mentioned, the cardamon can be increased to taste - this past loaf I used 1.5 tsp, and have a hint of cardamon in the bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Made this to make eggnog french toast with for Christmas breakfast. It was a big hit, the bread held plenty of french toast batter and the cardamom went perfect with the nutmeg/cinnamon of the nogg. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      I made this as challah for our congregation when we had a Scandinavian themed Erev Shabbat dinner. [after the ABM mix cycle, I braided it and baked it off in the oven] It got rave reviews and requests for more! Wonderful bread! Thank you LiisaN !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      I took this out of the ABM after the rising and shaped and baked in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      This is great! I make it into two braided loaves and then brush with milk and sprinkle sugar on the top before baking. Reminds me of what my great Aunt Mary used to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      A high rising bread, that's for sure! I can't wait to cut this bread into slices when it's day old and try as French toast or biscotti as another reviewer suggested. The recipe should state this is a 2 pounder. Will also try raisins in this bread recipe next time. I pulverized the cardamom seeds. cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      I also make this recipe.. I make a braided loaf for the holidays.. but I turn it into stuffed French toast , sandwiching thin slices of it with Orange Marmalade and cream cheese. Then browning them in a fry pan and finishing off in a 325? oven while we are opening gifts.. makes a great addition to our Christmas morning brunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      Hei Liisa! Very good recipe. Easy to make. I am finn, husbond & son are english. All off us liked your "nisu=pulla" with coffee. Smells like back home in Finland. I add raisins in (30g) and it make it more sweet. Thanks! Marja from England

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      Nice! I used half hard whole wheat flour and half unbleached hard flour. The bread was fairly dense in texture, but not unpleasantly so, as a result of this substitution. I showed this recipe to a Finnish friend and she said she remembered it from her childhood, and that when it got stale they would toast it like rusks, or biscotti. I won't be trying that though, because it will be long gone before then. Lovely stuff! Doesn't even need any jam; just a little smear of butter lets you enjoy that subtle cardamom flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      Liisa~ I can't wait to try this. My grandmother used to make this bread for her family all the time (although not in a bread machine). Now, I am the one who keeps with "tradition" and bakes the braids around the holidays and my Dad just can't get enough. It will be nice to let the machine do all the work every now and then. :) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      Wonderful bread that smells so good when it is baking and tastes so good when done. Thanks Liisa for sharing this -- I will be making this often for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nisu Bread (Finnish Sweet Bread) -(ABM)

    Serving Size: 1 (1020 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2953.8
     
    Calories from Fat 576
    19%
    Total Fat 64.0 g
    98%
    Saturated Fat 35.8 g
    179%
    Cholesterol 350.6 mg
    116%
    Sodium 2984.9 mg
    124%
    Total Carbohydrate 511.8 g
    170%
    Dietary Fiber 16.2 g
    64%
    Sugars 101.3 g
    405%
    Protein 78.9 g
    157%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes