23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for bringing back a taste of home! I took some advice posted previously and used a small bottle of tomatillo salsa, 2 avocados, garlic and 1 cup sour cream. I forgot to pick up cilantro at the store and then just plain forgot the jalapenos...but I'll add both next time...and there will be a next time. Thanks for posting Kim!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend August 03, 2007

I made this for my boyfriend, since he loves spicy dips. He ate it all in one sitting. I liked it too, even though I hate spicy things.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baimeefish August 01, 2007

I give this 5 stars, but I can't see the "stars" next to the place to make my choice, and don't want to risk picking the wrong one! First, I want to join with Denver Dee and ask how else can this sauce be used? It's GREAT with chips, but there's so much! I was thinking maybe over quesadillas? What all does everyone use it with? I FINALLY got to make this today, had to wait for some green tomatoes! I used 1 small anaheim, 1 large jalapeno WITH seeds, and 2 large jalapenos without seeds. Also used 5 cloves of garlic, and that wasn't too much. Used about 1/4 cup loosely packed cilantro leaves. My blender was too small for this amount, next time I think I will use the processor as suggested by Andrea. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Kim!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pandamommy July 30, 2006

FANTASTIC! My DH and I loved this sauce. It is so easy to prepare and has such complex flavors. Best to prepare at least l day before serving for flavors to meld. It makes alot, but keeps well in refrigerator for 2 weeks or so. Here in Texas you can never have too many sauce/salsa recipes and this is defintely one you should add to your favorites. I guarantee you will be asked for the recipe when you serve it to others. Thanks so much for posting. It's heaven. P.S. Do not add water to saucepan (our mistake the first time) and as long as you stick with the first 3 ingredients, you can add more or less on the garlic, cilantro and jalapenos to taste for your family. We used 5 lg. cloves garlic and about 1/2 cup chopped cilantro and 1 1/2 lg. jalapeno. Bon appetite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
transworldco May 24, 2006

omg! when I went to san diego I visited a mexican restaurant and they made these amazing burritos which had a special sauce that I didn't know how to make, and this is it! oh I'm so happy :) I added beef peices and some lettuce to it and made the same burrito

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lullabella April 06, 2006

I LOVE this dip. We just ate at Ninfa's 2 weeks ago and I told my DH I wish I knew how to make it. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty Mathews March 23, 2006

I made this liked it very much. I served it with chips but I really would like other ways to use this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DenverDee February 06, 2006

Oh, how I miss Ninfa's! We used to have one here in Midland, but they shut down about 6 years ago. For anyone who hasn't tried this sauce, it's a MUST TRY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindi Bunch September 10, 2004
Ninfa's Green Sauce