23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How to use the leftovers? If I don't make a double recipe, I never seem to get any of it! Seriously, this is a great recipe but tomatillos are scarce or really ugly in Ohio supermarkets. I found that my homegrown, homemade Salsa Verde works as an off-season substitute. (P.S. Tomatillos grow like wildfire here and keep for a while if picked before getting too ripe.) Just mix salsa with avocado, sour cream and cilantro - don't add salt until you taste it. Also, just in case there are leftovers, adding lime juice to the avocado can slow the darkening and add some flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graffixalley December 07, 2006

Love it! Not as spicy as I remember. I can kick It up a notch. In future I will use 1/2 as much sour cream....maybe sour cream/plain yogurt mix. 5 stores and NO green tomatoes....so I used firm red. Instead of blender, I just used a stick blender after it had cooled and used a pot big enough for everything. Since the jalapenos are cooked, in a pinch I could use jar or canned ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim September 13, 2013

Loved this sauce! DH ate it with chips and likes it better than guacamole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 12, 2012

Wow! So good! Only change I made was cutting back the sour cream to one cup. As many reviewers have stated already, it does make a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 August 02, 2012

I loved this recipe, I brought the sauce to work.(we were having Taco Tues.)....Every one loved it so make it and enjoy.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frenchy Cabernet January 12, 2011

This is the best! No other resturant makes it like Ninfa's! I get request for this dip all the time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachTx March 28, 2009

I used this sauce to top some enchiladas and it was awesome! Everyone was licking their plates!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 February 23, 2009

This was pretty good! Everyone seemed to like it at the Mexican themed party I made it for. Seems to me like it might be missing something though. Tasted too much like sour cream. Maybe a little cream cheese would help? I did a recipe similar to this before and it had cream cheese, so next time I'll try that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tatiana May 12, 2008

This is a very good sauce! I'm not really able to give stars, however, since I was forced to use red tomatoes; I couldn't find green anywhere! I think it would have been much better with green tomatoes, although it was still very good without. So good, in fact, that I'll definitely make this again as soon as I can get my hands on some green! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 May 02, 2008

Just like at the restaurant! We have moved away and don't have Ninfa's here, so now we are in heaven! It does make a LARGE batch, so if making it for a few people you may want to cut it in half. You can always use it as a sauce over enchiladas or even as a salad dressing the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christaheiner December 27, 2007
Ninfa's Green Sauce