Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ninfa's Flan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ninfa's Flan

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2007

      Yum Yum Yummmy! I have made this twice and taken it to work. Everyone just adored it!!!! Here are a couple tips I've found when prparing this recipe. I don't have a food processor so I used my blender and it worked just as well. Cool carmelized sugar before adding egg mixture. I used 9" cake pan and placed it on a cookie sheet. Place the pan on the cookie sheet before you pour in egg mixture. Then place the 2 pans in the oven. Once pans in the oven add the water to the cookie sheet. This helps prevents possible water spills during transport. To check for doneness place a knife in the flan and if it comes out fairly clean it is done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      I'm not a flan eater, but my husband, who has always enjoyed flan, says this is the best flan he has ever had. The recipe was easy to follow, and I made it exactly as directed. I had no idea how to clean the caramelized sugar from my skillet, as it seemed permanently fused on, but I found that boiling some water in the skillet causes the sugar to easily dissolve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      I no longer need to drive across town to find my favorite flan because this is better than any I have tasted anywhere! Who would guess that a dessert this wonderful could be so easy to prepare. The only thing that is a little tricky in caramelizing the sugar. Don't let it get away from you or it will get hard. That is the only thing that requires attention and a little experimentation to get it right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      NOw even I can make flan! I loved this recipe it came out perfectly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      Oh so good. Easy if you use a blender. My family loved it I will make it again soon. Thank you for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Best flan I've ever had. Have made this at least 10 times so far with great results. So easy to make in the blender! Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe Emilee G!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      WOW!! This was GREAT! I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk only cuz that’s all I had. I also used small/short (oven safe) coffee cups (didn't have a pan) and put THEM in a large baking pan w/water. Cooked for 40min. I have NEVER made flan before...EVERYONE LOVED this ....( my family is from South America ). The only thing that I noticed was that a lot of the caramel stuck to the bottom. I DID get some sauce out of the cups.. but not all of it ... any suggestions??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used little ramekins, using the same oven temp and time and it turned out great. It makes for a beatiful presentaion on it own. I was worried the cream cheese would make it taste to much like cheese cake but not at all. It had a very traditional taste, like the flan on my Abuelita's dessert table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Hands down the BEST flan I have ever had. The only dish I had to bake it in was my casserole, which I think was too deep. It resulted in a thicker flan. When 50 min. was up, the top layer was dark golden brown, but the middle was very liquidy. I peeled off the top layer and added about 15-20 min. baking time. And it still turned out DELICIOUS. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      This was the best flan I have ever had! Rich & creamy & worth the effort. Though not difficult to make it did require some "juggling" with multiple pans & the food processor. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ninfa's Flan

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.8
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    31%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 131.3 mg
    43%
    Sodium 113.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 36.9 g
    147%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes