Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Niku Jaga (Japanese Beef Stew in the Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Niku Jaga (Japanese Beef Stew in the Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2012

      I was so excited to try this recipe but was very disappointed with the end result. Although the beef is tender, there's no flavor at all. The aroma was also very bland, boring. My house smelled like potatoes, which wasn't appealing at all. It'll probably all end up in the trash. I won't be making this recipe ever again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I followed the recipe except using light soy sauce instead of soy sauce, which I didn't have. The end results was pretty tasty, albeit being a touch too sweet. I will use a little less sugar next time to adjust for substituting soy sauce with light soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

    • on October 12, 2009

      It was enjoyable but I wanted it to have a little more taste. We ate it all though! I think it's really worth it to buy the better meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      My family wasn't wild about this. The sugar made it way too sweet. It was simple, but overall the effect was not good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      This is really an easy recipe, and the results are quite good. I do want to work on it a little as there is no "zing"...did make the veggies the same size as the stew beef, and used a bit less sugar; and used beef broth in place of water and saki (this may have reduced the flavor -- may try again with no substitions!). Mine was done after 8 hours on low. A definite keeper...thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      This was a very nice stew, and quite different to the tomato based heavy sauce stews we typically make. A little bit sweet, but not in a bad way, just not used to it. Was filling but not heavy. I quarted the potatoes and cut carrots in thirds. I would make this again, especially as I love cooking in the crock pot! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This was really very tasty. It's not quite the same as authentic nikujaga with very thinly sliced beef and konnyaku noodles, but it comes fairly close in flavor and is delicious in it's own right, especially served with rice. Easy, yummy and wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Excellent and easy beef stew!! I used a can of beef broth instead of water and wine. I also used a cup up cross rib roast which was very good. I love easy and simple dishes and this filled the bill. Thanks for the post Miss Diggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Looking over the recipe, the simplicity and what little preparation it required had set my expectations pretty low. When all assembled however, it wasn't like any of the Italian or American stews where nearly everything is immersed with the liquid reaching approximately half way through the crock pot. But after setting it all up to go with great concerns about the meat that isn't in the liquid cooking properly, I had came home to a very well cooked meal. The rice had tasted wonderfully with the broth and I had happily devoured it. Overall, awesome recipe. Will definitely do this again. Oh and I had followed the steps that C. Chatwin had mentioned of giving it a coarse chopping of the vegetables and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Loved the flavor of the beef in this stew. Fabulous one-pot meal over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I LOVED this! I was starving all day because my house smelled so wonderful and not one bite was left after dinner. My husband raved about it. I did use vermouth in place of the sake because that was what I had on hand and it worked just fine. I will DEFINITELY be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      The stew was a bit too sweet for my liking but I might've put to much sugar:) Otherwise, both my girlfriend and I found it to be very tasty and easy to prepare. Thank you! By the way, thank you C Chatwin for the comment about cutting the ingredients for this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      My parents came to visit me and I wanted to try something new. I liked it... my parents liked it... my husband wasn't to fond of it, but... he's the all american guy and is hardly ever willing to try new foods. All in all... great crock pot recipe! The meat was tender and the sauce... perfect with rice... yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This is delicious and hearty. Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar as I thought it was a little sweet. I would definitely make this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This is still cooking on the stove, burt i've tried it already! tastes great! cant wait to eat it for lunch tomorow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Reminds me of a dish I used to get in a Japanese home-cooking restaurant. Loved this dish, but I'll reduce the sugar and increase the soy just a bit next time. Also, don't do what I did and double the sauce to have lots to soak into rice. I actually got tipsy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Liked this a lot. I took Chatwin's advice and made the vegetables the same size chunks as the beef. I also browned the beef in flour first, a technique I often use when making stews. I kept the liquid ratio intact and really liked the brothy quality -- I look forward to having it again on the sticky rice that Diggy suggests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Will make this one again, but I will use a more tender cut of meat. Thank you for posting. Lovely dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      The meat was tender but I found the broth to be too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Niku Jaga (Japanese Beef Stew in the Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (394 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.5
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    17%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1217.1 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 36.8 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes