54 Reviews

This has a wonderful flavor. I actually wanted even more broth and added another 3/4 cup of water. Also, I followed some of the reviews and added a can of mushroom at the last hour of cooking. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adinahc January 19, 2010

Wow! This was one of the most delicious recipes I've made. I loved coming home to such a fragrant kitchen, and just grab bowls and eat. I didn't have sake, so used plain white wine, but will invest in sake soon to see if it's even better. Per one reviewer's suggestion, I upgraded the beef to chuck steak and it was tender and juicy. I added refridgerated udon noodles and mushrooms. Thanks !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaRN August 11, 2009

This is a favorite and is always eagerly consumed by my co-workers. I do it the quick way by using a pressure cooker instead of a crock pot. Brown the meat in the open pressure cooker with a little oil, add the sauce, lock the lid and cook for 5 minutes. Release the pressure, add the vegetables and stir, lock the lid again and cook for another 5 minutes. Release the pressure, serve hot over rice and enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wekiu78 November 21, 2015

Maybe my crock pot is too hot, but using 1c of water (with the crock pot on high) resulted in my meat getting scorched. I had to use about 4c of water to rescue the dish. It does taste wonderful and reminded me a bit of sukiyaki.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiaSumitra May 06, 2015

Excellent! I omitted the salt and the sugar entirely, used low sodium soy sauce (because that's the only kind I use) & used dry white wine (because I didn't have sake) with beautiful results. A lot of reviewers commented on blandness, I added about 4 cloves of garlic and some ground black pepper and just a few drops of sesame oil. I was tempted to thicken it, but decided not to and was glad I didn't. This was warm, filling and flavorful. I cut the veggies in a large chunk and sliced the onions thin into rings, I also threw in a handful of frozen peas at the last hour of cooking for some pretty color. A really great fix it and forget it meal, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau October 21, 2014

GREAT recipe! I added shittake mushrooms and to make this gluten-free, I used Gluten-Free Soy Sauce. Cooked on high and had a fabulous dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katiuscia O. December 23, 2013

So easy and so tasty! I left out the sugar (by mistake) and it was still really great. A nice gluten-free alternative. When served over fresh rice, you really don't need a thickened gravy. Unlike others I would have used MORE liquid in order to get more sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCinLA December 09, 2013

Great stew/soup. I didn't have any sake or used 1 can of V-8 - just served as is with crackers. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ July 13, 2013

very nice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anozira86 November 09, 2012
Niku Jaga (Japanese Beef Stew in the Crock Pot)