Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nigella's Masala Omelett Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nigella's Masala Omelett

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2009

      I loved the flavour, the convenience and the excellent nutrition of this recipe, but I have to admit that even though I read the list of ingredients it did not occur to me that the eggs would be brown. My husband was suspicious of eating something so unfamiliar, but I gently reassured him that he enjoys Indian food, and that he would find this omelette delicious, which fortunately, he did. If I had been thinking, I would have served it to him for the first time disguised, rolled up in a chapati as suggested in the intro , and others with children (or husbands) who are not food adventurous might consider doing the same. Eating it, of course, will win them over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      You need to have more eggs for the amount of spices. And start the onion and spices cooking on very low heat so they don't burn. Based on the ingredients I thought this would be amazing. But it was ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Wonderful earthy flavor! I'm glad I bought fresh ground turmeric and ground coriander; I think it made a world of difference. (Spices keep 6 months in the refrigerator. If over a year old, they can deflate your enjoyment of the recipe.) I used one jalapeno pepper. This was very mild. I used jumbo eggs, and did not stir the eggs while cooking, instead flashing the pan under a very hot broiler as recommended. My eggs then still showed a lot of yellow, and I liked the pockets of spices. I used safflower oil and would use it or grapeseed oil next time; I like the "clean" taste. This goes to my Best of 2013 cookbook. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Nice, especially wrapped in chapati.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      This was quite nice. I forgot to add the onion, and I used red pepper flakes in place of the peppers. I thought that there were too much spices, because I couldn't really taste the egg, ut I'll definitely make it again because it's a nice change of pace(: Thanks Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      I made this awhile back and forgot to review it. The recipe was made for 2. The spices were mixed into the eggs and half was cooked at a time. They omelets were easier for me to roll and serve on small gluten free tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Very, very nice omelet, & now that I've made & enjoyed it all alone, I'll be making it again soon for my other half to enjoy! I did mix the spices & eggs together but other than that, the recipe was followed (even in the using of but 1 chili) & much enjoyed! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      We really liked the flavors in this omelet. I think it would work better to mix the spices into the eggs or sprinkle them over in the pan, as they clumped up on the green onions and weren't evenly distributed in the omelet. I added salt and pepper and tomatoes to it - got the idea from several of the photos. This does take some time to set, I used a medium pan (eventually I covered it so it would be completely set). Very filling for one person!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I had this for breakfast and ate it with ketchup. I used a little jalapeno. Enjoyable! Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This was an interesting way to serve eggs, very spicy but I liked it alongside my sourdough rye, always nice to try something new, thanks Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I was torn between giving this 3 or 4 stars, this was good but the combination of spices just didn't stand out for me, thanks Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Wonderful and oh so filling breakfast with lots of wonderful flavour. I did basil for the coriander as I don't like coriander. Thank you Noo for a great recipe which I will be making again but in a bigger version and slice it into wedges to serve, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This was such a nice change from my usual egg entrees! The color was more appetizing than I thought it would be based on other reviews which I was thankful for. I also loved the crunch from the onion. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      One look at my own recipe collection and you will see that eggs are one of my favorite meals. Could eat them any time and now I have a better reason to do so. This dish was simply divine and snap to assemble. The combination of spices along with the chilis, garlic and onions is perfectly balanced and join together in a way that makes a quick fix dish sumptuous. Served with a green salad and pan roasted potatoes. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This is delicious ! a great change from a plain omelette, I added fresh mushrooms after they were browned up I then added the eggs. Yummo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nigella's Masala Omelett

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.2
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    59%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 152.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites