16 Reviews

I loved the flavour, the convenience and the excellent nutrition of this recipe, but I have to admit that even though I read the list of ingredients it did not occur to me that the eggs would be brown. My husband was suspicious of eating something so unfamiliar, but I gently reassured him that he enjoys Indian food, and that he would find this omelette delicious, which fortunately, he did. If I had been thinking, I would have served it to him for the first time disguised, rolled up in a chapati as suggested in the intro , and others with children (or husbands) who are not food adventurous might consider doing the same. Eating it, of course, will win them over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo February 01, 2009

I really liked this and will make it again. Since some reviewers said there is too much spice, I cut the coriander, cumin, and turmeric in half... to me that was perfect. While looking for this recipe, I was specifically searching for an egg recipe without any salt, but with other spices to make up for not having salt. Thanks! That's just what I needed. This is the perfect size for a light meal for one person. I ate mine with cut up tomatoes on the side. If you are looking for a restaurant size omelette, then double the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW March 18, 2015

You need to have more eggs for the amount of spices. And start the onion and spices cooking on very low heat so they don't burn. Based on the ingredients I thought this would be amazing. But it was ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond December 31, 2013

Wonderful earthy flavor! I'm glad I bought fresh ground turmeric and ground coriander; I think it made a world of difference. (Spices keep 6 months in the refrigerator. If over a year old, they can deflate your enjoyment of the recipe.) I used one jalapeno pepper. This was very mild. I used jumbo eggs, and did not stir the eggs while cooking, instead flashing the pan under a very hot broiler as recommended. My eggs then still showed a lot of yellow, and I liked the pockets of spices. I used safflower oil and would use it or grapeseed oil next time; I like the "clean" taste. This goes to my Best of 2013 cookbook. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL December 03, 2013

Nice, especially wrapped in chapati.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 19, 2012

This was quite nice. I forgot to add the onion, and I used red pepper flakes in place of the peppers. I thought that there were too much spices, because I couldn't really taste the egg, ut I'll definitely make it again because it's a nice change of pace(: Thanks Noo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeggieCook98 March 06, 2012

I made this awhile back and forgot to review it. The recipe was made for 2. The spices were mixed into the eggs and half was cooked at a time. They omelets were easier for me to roll and serve on small gluten free tortillas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 07, 2011

Very, very nice omelet, & now that I've made & enjoyed it all alone, I'll be making it again soon for my other half to enjoy! I did mix the spices & eggs together but other than that, the recipe was followed (even in the using of but 1 chili) & much enjoyed! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 07, 2011

We really liked the flavors in this omelet. I think it would work better to mix the spices into the eggs or sprinkle them over in the pan, as they clumped up on the green onions and weren't evenly distributed in the omelet. I added salt and pepper and tomatoes to it - got the idea from several of the photos. This does take some time to set, I used a medium pan (eventually I covered it so it would be completely set). Very filling for one person!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 30, 2010

I had this for breakfast and ate it with ketchup. I used a little jalapeno. Enjoyable! Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 03, 2009
Nigella's Masala Omelett