Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nigella Lawson Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nigella Lawson Brownies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2014

      I can't tell you how many times I've made these brownies, everyone LOVES them young and old. I've make them for my 2 children's birthdays since they were ooh about 7 years old (by request), cut into small squares, sprinkled with icing sugar and dotted with candles higgldy piggldy style. The secret is the BEST DARK chocolate which doesn't seem to bother children when made into brownies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      Tastes very good but far too gooey! After it had baked for 25mins I made a small hole in the middle and the te

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Very naughty, but soooooo nice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I love this brownie so much, I highly recomend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      This is the third time I have made these and they get better each time. I don't like gooey brownies so I leave them in longer - at least 35 mins at about 170. Then I turn the oven off and leave them in another 10 or so minutes. They are a hit at Kindy. Thank you Nigella!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      /i luv these brownies!!!
      especially when you take them out at 22mins because they're slightly gooey!
      also great with Chantilly cream

      you need 150ml double cream
      some icing sugar ( not sure how much sox)
      tsp vanilla essence

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      These brownies were effortless and simply delicious. They were beyond awesome with ice cream while they were hot.
      The center was rather gooey and 'batterish', though.

      Nevertheless, they were AMAZING for amatuers in the kitchen :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      I've made these quite a few times - they are always a hit, (No nuts).

      I'm wondering if anyone has tried Self Raising Four instead of Plain Flour OR added Backing Soda?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      I have made these several times and its an easy recipe to follow and they are DELICIOUS. The trick is to cook them for 25 mins exactly at the prescribed pre heated oven temp. If you cook them any longer they will be dry. They are gooey in the middle when they come out of the oven and keep cooking in the pan after they come out of the oven. They firm even more once they go in the fridge after cooling. Everyone just loves them....fudgy uber chocolate brownies!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      My partner and i made these today, I was really excited about them but they came out really stodgy and horrible. Not in eddible but they had a really unpleasent texture. Never the less they were still tasty...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      I made these the other night to take in to work for my colleagues. I made them using some dried fruit: cranberries, blueberries & strawberries, plus small biscuit chunks and choc chips, in case anyone had nut allergies... needless to say they went down very well! Made the meeting a bit more bearable.
      I will say that they were too soft in the middle when I first took them out of the oven... I had to cook them much longer, and they were still really gooey inside. Not sure if this was because I'd cooked them in a silicon brownie tray?... A definite crowd pleaser though, and the kids love 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This was my third attempt at brownies and they were a hit! Easy to make and absolutely yummilicious. Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I love making cakes and am always quite average but these brownies are so lovely and easy to make - I keep getting requests from family and friends to make a batch. I have also mixed almonds in too! Beware........ once you have made these, shop & cafe brought ones will never taste as nice again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe. I was worried about using plain flour instead of self raising flour as worried the brownies would turn out as heavy as pieces of lead but this is not the case. They do raise a little and aren't heavy at all. However, I made sure to whip the eggs well with an electric beater to to add some air to the mixture. I have used brazil nuts instead of walnuts as I prefer them and their consistency stayed crunchy even when cooked (sometimes walnuts don't). I have halved quantities as did not want such a great batch, reduced cooking time to 18 minutes (fan assisted oven) and the brownies were all gungy and perfect. And there was still a lot of them, enough for 6/8 people I would say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

    • on January 11, 2008

      This is so simple and delicious. I substitue the vanilla with Baileys. yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      I have made these brownies a few times now and they are sooo good, and easy to make. I leave out the nuts as some family members have allergies, but they are delicious just the same. A niece even asked for them as a birthday present after she first tasted them:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      These were delicious! Made them the other day and everyone loved them, kids already demanding more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      These brownies were terrible. I ended up throwing away the whole pan of them. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      These are the best brownies ever, I make them all the time and my friends, family and work colleagues love them! Brilliant with the white chocolate buttons. Some advice, never leave the walnuts out because they really give something to the texture. Never be tempted to overcook them as the gooeyness is the best bit, and they dry out a little the longer you store them - not that they are ever around that long in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nigella Lawson Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (2150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.3
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    65%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 40.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 60.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    42%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes