Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nifty Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nifty Carrots

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2009

      I love horseradish and this dish was awesome! The only change I made was popping it under a low-broil for 10 minutes (instead of the baking) and the idea of the breadcrumb topping was off-putting so I also omitted it. I will definately be making this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Yum! I love Best of Bridge recipes and this was another good one. I messed up a little bit - forgot to add the cooking water, lol, so my sauce was thicker than it should have been. Still tasted really good. Thanks Cathy17 for a nice side dish. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I have to give it 4 stars since I loved it and my husband didn't, the kids were ambivalent :-) I made this for the first time with a Beef loin roast. I loved the flavors and the texture. My husband just doesn't like horseradish so he just wanted the cream sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Good carrot side dish. Everyone at the table enjoyed it. I took your word for it and did not include the bread crumbs. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Sorry, but we did not like this. followed recipe but I think because the mayo it ended up to sweet for us. But thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      I don't really like carrots, so am always looking for recipes because my sisters do like them. These are something I will prepare again. Thnx for posting, Cathy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      delish! i actually roasted my carrots in evoo, salt and pepper at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. I omitted the carrot water and added some dill and fresh parsley. I thought the breadcrumbs were the perfect addition. thanks for the unique carrot dish!! my dh hates carrots, but loved this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      My friends now consider this my "signature Dish" I've kicked it up a bit and seem to vary every time.This is excellent, I recommend it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Perhaps this is just a matter of taste, but... we didn't like these. All of the reviewers seemed to like it, so I really looked forward to trying it... but we didn't even eat them. All I could taste was the heavy mayo, and didn't think the flavors went well. But that just must be us, because everybody else liked it, it seems.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      I love this dish! It is wonderful with a roast beef dinner! The suggested amount of horseradish adds the perfect zip! Each time I serve this dish, people rave about it. I love that it is so unique, as my other carrot recipes are boring and predictable. I also love that I can steam the carrots the night before and have the sauce all mixed up ahead of time as well. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Boy has this recipe gone around the block and back!!! Very easy and a great way to jazz up carrots

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      When I first tried them, the horseradish was overpowering, and I didn't care for the dish. I served them at another meal with a "bland" tuna dish, and they were wonderful. I love horseradish, but will probably cut back slightly on the horseradish the next time. Thanks, Cathy, for a nice carrot recipe. BTW, I was cutting back on the carbs, and didn't do the breadcrumb topping like you suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      I thought this was super! I cut back on the horseradish a tad so that hubby would eat it (would probably want to use less as well for children.) I also added a little more carrot water, and skipped the bread crumb topping. The only suggestion I would make is to specify the size that the carrots should be sliced and how long to boil/steam the carrots. I will absolutely keep this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      YUM! This is so tasty, I used lite mayonnaise and sour cream and a little less than the 1/4 cup of horseradish. Straight to the favourite file, thanks Cathy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      I LOVED LOVED LOVED these carrots. I was a bit worried that that amount of horseradish in the dressing would overpower both the taste and my nostrils. Neither was true. The horseradish complements the carrot flavor wonderfully and, mixed with the mayo and sour cream muted its intensity. For some reason, I overlooked that the recipe called for 1/4 cup reserved carrot water and used about 1/2 cup, but that amount seemed to work well. From now on this will be one of my favorite ways to serve carrots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      Great dish. I love horseradish, and it's so nice paired with carrots, an idea I wouldn't have come up with on my own. I julienned the carrots, which made for a nice presentation along with a parsley garnish. Next time I'll try the bread crumb topping to see what it's like, but it's great without. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      This was a great recipe!! I left out the breadcrumbs and butter. Next time I think I will try it...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      We loved this recipe. I added more horseradish. Dh is now requesting them-- always a plus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      Very good, made for Thanksgiving, and had rave reviews. The next time I make, I will add a little more water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      Very different carrots, I used a horseradish sauce and it was great. The breadcrumbs and butter didn't add much. I loved them and others expressed appreciation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nifty Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.3
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    53%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 6.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 165.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes