8 Reviews

Yum! I made these as directed to go along as a side with steak. But, I kept 'sampling' them while cooking the steak and there were very few left by the time the steak was done, lol. Thanks Nif for a great keeper that I'll continue making. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 24, 2011

Nif, these are fantastic! I thought I was going to have to scrape DH off the ceiling when I served these with breezermom's "The Best Grilled Steak Ever" (The Best Grilled Steak Ever!). I found them so easy to make--I put them on just before throwing on the steaks and everything was done at about the same time. I did cut the oil back a smidge, but I guess I kept the temp low enough that the garlic still didn't burn. Thanks so much for sharing! Made for Went to Market Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian April 10, 2011

This is going to be my "go-to" sauteed mushroom recipe for steak and chicken from now on! Much lighter tasting than my old red wine version. You can actually taste mushroom! Thanks for this keeper, Nif!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here April 03, 2011

I just love mushrooms, and this recipe wasn't a disappointment! Very simple to make, and a wonderful side dish. I used this for a side to chicken, but it would be delicious with beef as well. I saved a little bit to put on a chicken sandwich for tomorrow's lunch. Very versatile recipe with the sherry....it goes well with anything. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 15, 2010

Mushrooms are one of my DH's favorites so I tagged this recipe for him. I didnt have any sherry on hand so I googled and found balsamic vinegar as a good substitute. Not sure if that is really correct but the mushrooms sure tasted good. :) Added another pat or two of butter and used dried parsley. Will make these again and make sure I buy some sherry. Made and reviewed for KK's Chef's Pick Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 January 28, 2010

loved this recipe! I increased the fresh garlic and butter and also added in cayenne pepper, the addition of the sherry really adds to the flavor, this was made for KK's Chef's Pick, thanks for sharing this Nif!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 21, 2010

I am a great lover of mushrooms and was really impressed with how easy to make and how delicious this recipe is. I used some spakling rose in place of the sherry wine as that's what I had open and it added a great flavour. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Certainly a recipe I'll be making again. Thanks for sharing this one, Nif!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 11, 2009

Excellent! Its amazing how just two tablespoons of sherry can affect the whole cup of mushrooms in such a positive way. I used cream sherry which game the mushrooms a sweet and savory taste which we couldn't get enough of. Thanks for posting. Made for the New Kids On the Block tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo July 16, 2009
Nif's Sherry-Sauteed Mushrooms