12 Reviews

Great recipe- soft boiled without being overcooked. I used an egg topper tool on mine which scores the egg so the top can be cut off without cracking into jagged edges, but you can use the tip of a sharp paring knife to do this as well- just kind of scratch a ring around the egg. Takes the headache out of cutting the top off. Thanks for sharing-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau February 11, 2013

if you grew up with your mom making these eggs for you, they continue to be comfort food when you grow up (even into your 60's LOL). This is an easy breakfast and needs to be enjoyed often! Thanks for posting Nif! Made for Zwizzle Chicks for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn June 20, 2010

ok this brought forth good memories easy and tastes good zaar 6 tour

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. June 20, 2010

DD could eat soft boiled eggs every day! Made them for breakfast for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 20, 2010

This brought back childhood memories for my hubsand eating these eggs and remembering how much he enjoyed them as a child. This was the 1st time I have made these eggs for my hubsand. Will be making them again. Thank You. Made for ZWT6 the No-Nonsense Nibblers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 19, 2010

Follow the recipe to the T and you will have perfectly cooked soft boiled eggs. I made up for 3 eggs for 2 of us, removed DM's to make her toast etc while I left mine in the hot water, the DM's was perfect but in just that couple of minutes mine had firmed up (would do this way in future when I want just boiled firm yolk eggs for egg salad though) - so in future all eggs come out of the pot. Thank you Nif, made for ZAAR Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 19, 2010

I don't care for soft boiled eggs but DH loves them. He really enjoyed the whimsical sliced toast although he did tell me he's not a dipper...he just likes to spoon his eggs and bite his toast. Oh well, he loved his breakfast. Thanks for posting an unusual way of serving him his breakfast. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 14, 2009

Delish! One tip: use room temperature eggs so they will be less likely to crack. Thanks for a lovely breakfast! :) Made for the Gimme 5 game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 23, 2009

Made & reviewed for Ramadan Tag 2009 in the NA*ME forum. This is such a great dish, my family has been enjoying it for decades! DS has an egg allergy (poor thing) so we don't get to eat this too often which is awkward as my 2 year old DD goes beserk for it & has her own 'egg cup plate' & matching 'spork' to eat with. Delicious and healthy way to enjoy eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia August 20, 2009

This is how my mother an me made it! I also remember having this for a light dinner...I love the sloggieness of the bread and i also enjoy this with not toasted french rolls (tear out the white part and leave the crust for your mother) Made for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iceland May 17, 2009
Nif's Egg in a Cup