Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nickey's Sardines Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nickey's Sardines

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2007

      WOWEE!!! Who would have thunk that such an EASY recipe would be one of the BEST I've tried on Zaar so far?...and that's saying a lot! This was so incredibly FLAVORFUL and SATISFYING! I made it to share with my husband but neither of us wanted to share! I served it atop sushi rice and then sprinkled toasted sesame seeds over it all. YUM YUM YUM! I used Crown Prince boneless skinless sardine fillets packed in olive oil (which I used), 3 green onions, the fresh ginger, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes and the sesame oil. Made for PAC Spring 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was surprisingly good. I've never cooked sardines before but wanted to try it as I've been meaning to get more Omega 3s in my diet. It was uber quick and tasted pretty good. I served it over brown rice and mashed it all up and mixed it up. My sardines came in a flat tin and there were only 4 per tin, so I used two tins for the two of us. It had a familiar taste, though I couldn't quite put my finger on where I've had this before. Good recipe. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      This is a very easy and quick way to enjoy sardines. I usually just heat them with some onion and chili sauce, but his is much tastier and doesn't take much more time at all. I prepared this exactly as written and had it over leftover brown rice I had in the freezer. Very fast and healthy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      Easy and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, but added sesame seeds like in the picture. I ate it over rice with pickled onions on the side. Healthy and satisfying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      This was very nice! The sardines had a wonderfully strong, spicy flavour, which was perfect with the mild rice. It took mere minutes to put together and very little effort to make this tasty dish. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I just had a wonderful and healthy lunch. This was very good and I will be stocking sardines in my pantry from now on. I only made a few small changes. I put all ingredients in the pan except the fish and chili peppers (which I left out all together) and added a drizzle of honey and boiled until it started to thicken then added the fish and cooked gently while coating with the sauce. I served over Jasmine rice along with a salad with ginger dressing and mandarin oranges for dessert. A lovely and satisfying bento that I will make often. Thank you for posting this. UPDATE: I made this into a sushi roll with cucumber and avocado. I dabbed a bit of the sauce on top of the cut roll like they do for eel. I put it in my Bento box along with just a cucumber roll, some pickled ginger, miso soup and green tea. It was a wonderful lunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This turned out pretty well. I basically followed the recipe, but added 2 tbls. soy sauce, a splash of sesame and a few thin slices of fresh jalapeno. It was a bit salty, so next time I would cut back on the amount of soy sauce, but overall this was tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      Cool idea, I really like the ginger in there especially. My sardines fell apart when I was mixing them, so I just mixed them with brown rice rice and made sardine fried rice. It was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nickey's Sardines

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.7
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    47%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 102.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 367.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes