Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Newfoundland Cod Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Newfoundland Cod Cakes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2002

      This is INCREDIBLE! My mother,who is not a fish fan,had to have some of this,it was sooo good! I served it with homehade "chips" and it was perfect! No question,this will become a regular meal in our home! Very pleased! Thanks for sharing! 8)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      These cod cakes were just wonderful. I followed your recipe exactly and the cakes had a nice crisp coating. Very tender on the inside. I served with cole slaw and baked beans actually. Cheers to the Newfie's. Thanks Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I'm from Newfoundland and wanted to take cod cakes to a pot luck, and these were perfect. The only change I made was to use salt cod, soaked, which is more traditional in my family. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      I'm impressed with the crisp coating and how they fry up without sticking--even when using minimal oil for the "skinny" version. This recipe has a perfect balance among the ingredients. Quick, easy, and very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      I cook sometimes to give my wife a break. My finicky family loved it. I cut back on the parsley, added celery, used plain crumbs but added creole seasoning. Served with baked beans, cole slaw, & baguette of bread. I was asked to make it again. That's the highest compliment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      salt cod cakes are great. if you can get Newfoundland savory they are even better than with parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

    • on October 02, 2011

      This recipe rocks. Best way I have had cod yet. Thanks for sharing this one Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      These were just fantastic! Loved the seasoned breadcrumbs. It just made them so tasty. They were so nice and crispy. Will be making these from now on. Thanks for posting such a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Have also made these using sweet potatoes with red pepper and corn added to the mix! Any fish works great including Salmon. The girlfriend enjoys here with imitation crab. We have about 20lbs of bluegill in our freezer and this recipe is perfect for using some up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Thank you so much! I'm from NS, and having these last night was like a big blast from the past for me. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      These were wonderfull!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Some shockin' good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Soooo good! Really. Trying to stay away from meat and tired of just fish fillets. Would be awesome with any white fish, but I used Cod. Followed the reipe exactly. Added tartar sauce. YUMMY! Thanks Hates2cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Great recipe for leftover mashed potatoes! I'm on a no grain diet so I used crushed kettle salt n cracked pepper potato chips instead of bread crumbs and it was excellent and so easy! My husband ate 8 cakes in one sitting and I had to fight him off of my 2! I will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Oh Bergy! These wonderful little cakes are awesome. Fast and easy to put together. We only get frozen fish where we live (yuck). So I am tired of trying new recipes to help with the lack of quality. But with this recipe, it is not a problem. I did add 3 cloves of garlic, and seasoned fresh bread crumbs with Smash Seasoning(318441). It has no salt! I made tartar sauce to go with it (56860). Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      A delicious downeast dinner tonight!! I added both parsley and summer savoury. I used salt cod fish which I soaked overnight to remove some of the salt and simmered the fish until tender, then followed the recipe as written. I added some freshly ground pepper, did not add any salt. Served with baked beans, hmmmmm, hmmmmm good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I was uncertain about the mashed potatos, whether to add my usual milk, butter, etc., so I made them the way I always do. I wonder if I should have just mashed them and left out the milk, etc. because the cakes were very soggy. It was all I could do to get them into the pan in one piece. I'm guessing I should have just smashed them and not actually made mashed potatos. My mom used to make similar potato patties with left-over mashed potatos (hers were also pretty soft and hard to handle.) The taste was good, but kind of bland. There was almost no fish taste here, so if you don't like fish these would be a good choice. If I make these again, I'll add some extra seasonings (maybe cajun spice or garlic) to perk these up. These would also benefit from some tartar sauce or similar tasty add-on. I wonder if you coated them in crushed potato chips if that would be an improvement? Hmmmm. Maybe I'll try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Delicious! I also through in some spicy seasoning I had and my husband and I loved it!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Newfoundland Cod Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (1136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.2
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    54%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 65.9 mg
    21%
    Sodium 230.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites