Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New Zealand Lolly Log Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New Zealand Lolly Log Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2001

      Hey everyone. Im a young man from New Zealand and have been brought up on Lolly Cake. My advice is try it. Its so nice and so simple to make. Peace be with you all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2001

      Just made this and it is absolutely beautiful so easy to make - well worth trying

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      The best sweet thing ever...Maybe only saying that because we had it all the time when we were kids... :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2001

      I absolutley luuuurve lolly cake and was brought up on by my mum who used to eat it 24/7. She is so big now because she just couldn't stop herself so be careful. Happy eating :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      YUM! My fave kiwi treat! I made this lolly cake in the UK. I bought malt biscuts and eskimo lollies from the NZ shop. Came out looking and tasting just like shop bought cake...mmmm so excited! Craved all through my pregnancy, now I have 9 days left. Better make the most of it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2004

      Hi! I thought I'd throw in my 2 cents (or, ok, there are no "pennies" in NZ so maybe I'll throw in my 5 cents worth ;)). My husband is a kiwi and left NZ to marry me and move to the USA where we now live with our 2 sons. He made such a sacrifice to marry me that every chance I get I try to make something "kiwi" for him so he doesn't get homesick. I've had to adjust this recipe a bit (only for USA amount/ingredient conversions). Fruit puffs are multicolored and are sorta like marshmallows. I haven't been able to find anything like malt biscuits in the grocery shop but I did manange to find a store in the SF Bay Area (CA, USA) that sells kiwi foods so we pick up the malt biscuits there. You might want to try graham crackers, I haven't tried it but they might be similar. If you want details to the shop email me at ocean413@yahoo.com. Here is the way I made the lolly cake...and my kiwi hubby put his stamp of approval on it. Enjoy...they are YUMMY! :) The above recipe is perfect, if you need a USA Conversion version of the Lolly Cake, here it is: 7 TBSP butter, melted 1 pkt malt biscuits, crushed 1/2 c sweetened condensed milk 2.5 c mini marshmallows finely chopped coconut Mix together butter, biscuits, condensed milk and marshmallows. Sprinkle coconut onto wax paper, shape dough into a log and roll in coconut. Fold wax paper aroung log and refrigerate until firm (a couple hours usually) and then slice into rounds. Have a nice day! Tiffany :) ~~~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      tried this at a kiwi relative's home last month, its very delicious. Just have to find eskimo lollies at the IGA so I can make some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      I too live on the Goldcoast Australia and make what we call "unicorn logs" every year for Christmas and looooove them. I use Woolies home brand fruit sticks and Malt-a-milk Biscuits. but be aware the unicorn logs are very very morish. Diane. Happy Christmas to all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      Very easy recipe and worked so well! Delicious! I made double the recipe though, but only half the amount of eskimos! Worked awesomely. Thanks for the recipe! ;D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Really, really quick but sickly sweet.. I'm going to make it next time with unsweetened condensed milk as I reckon this will improve it a lot.. kids love it due to bright colours (and huge sugar rush)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I made this for a hens night, I won't show the actual "rude" version of it :) But it was the easiest cake I've ever made! Done and moulded in 10 minutes! It received great "mmm!" and "oooh, this is really good!" from all the girls, and on the back of the Eskimo package, is the exact same recipe (except the Eskimo is 190g and it said 190g Eskimo required) For those who don't know about Eskimo, it's basically just a little harder version of marshmellows which comes in many colours, so marshmellows are great substitutes. The coconuts can also be dyed easily with any food colouring for a colourful coating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I'm a New Zealander living in the U.S. My family always used to make this "Rainbow Log" for birthdays. I just made it using Nabisco Nilla Wafers instead of Malt Biscuits, and Marshmallow Peanuts from my local grocery store as I didn't have access to Eskimos or Fruit Puffs. Absolutely delicious and very similar to the original! Maybe a tiny bit sweeter than if Malt Biscuits were used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I live on the Gold Coast of Australia and make this recipe all the time. I have to use NZ Eskimos as Allens no longer make the Fruit Puffs. Eskimos are fine to use there is hardly any difference. I have just finished making it and can't wait for it to chill so I can start eating it. In NZ our family called it Poo Log.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Yay, �'m soo excited that I've found this recipe, moved from NZ to Australia and couldn't believe no one over here had ever heard of it . . . Now I've just got to find somewhere that sells fruit puffs or eskimos :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      LOL, this brings back soooo many memories! I used to love Lolly Cake growing up in Otago, NZ and are going to make it now for all my American friends. Fruit Puffs are delicious pastel coloured candies (like marshmallows) and you can also use another NZ candy called eskimoes (remember them?) I am going to make this using Graham Crackers and plain old white marshmallows and if it's a dud I will call my Mother and tell her to send me some frui puffs and some Malt Biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      This is just the easiest thing to make and my it brought back those childhood memories!! I cant believe i had forgotten about "Lolly Cake" it is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      Love this classic Kiwi recipe. I managed to get some fruit puffs from a shop in Brisbane to use especially for this. We had a lot of fun making and as much fun eating it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      I just tried this today and it's REALY nice, and not too sweet depending on which biscuits you use. You don't strictly have to use malt biscuits. Only here they don't sell fruit puffs so we made this with chopped up snakes and bananas and milk bottles, and that gave a really cool twist to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      thank you its a wonderful recipe lost mine when i moved home to aust

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      I hadn't made lolly cake for years, but my eldest son was making a trip to visit us and asked if I could pick up some from a bakery he had once visited, I said 'forget it' I'll make it instead, much easier to search on Zaar for the recipe (had lost mine over the years) and the homemade is always nicer than the storebought imho, I doubled the recipe used a bag of eskimos instead of the fruit puffs, and used malt biscuits. This recipe is a kiwi icon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New Zealand Lolly Log Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.7
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    61%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 27.2 mg
    9%
    Sodium 210.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit puffs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites