8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

While making these today, I refreshed my memory as to how many years I've been making these cookies. My recipe is the orignal page that I pulled from Better Homes and Gardens magazine, dated December 1985. They were the $1000 grand prize winner submitted by Kate Beckman from Chino, CA. I'll never forget stepping back from the finished product the first time I made them...those with me and I were in awe....make them just one time and they'll become a tradition in your family too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryW 4361226 December 14, 2011

Thank you so much for sending this in. I used to make these almost 20 yrs. ago and always got rave reviews. I lost the recipe and have searched endlessly. The one thing to remember is be sure to use seedless jam. I hve decorated these to match many different holidays square flags, oval Easter eggs etc. I'm soooooo happy to have the recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monica in hondo October 24, 2006

These are so beatiful! They're abit time-consuming, but not difficult to make. Mine came out abit bigger because my cookie cutter was 2 1/2" wide, so I baked them for about 12 minutes. That was good, but I still think next time I'll make them smaller because you have to remember that you're really eating two cookies at one time - they're wonderful! Thanks for a festive, elegant cookie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melting pot November 27, 2005

These cookies have become our favorite Christmas cookie of all times. It's just not Christmas without them. I've been making them for many years and thought I would never find the recipe again until I looked here and found Debbie's. Thanks so much...our tradition will carry on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy Rose December 16, 2004

I've been making these cookies for years at Christmas time. I found the recipe maybe in BH&G magazine. they are the hit of the season. I'm going to make them for the 4th of July by painting a flag on them instead of holly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NANCY GASS June 26, 2004

I lost the recipe several years ago, and was sooo happy to find it here! I, too, had the original BH&G magazine recipe! Can't wait to add this back to our family tradition!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbaramaggart November 15, 2012

I found this recipe in Better Homes and Gardens in the early 80s I think. It was part of a contest. I've made them every Christmas and they always sell out at the cookie walk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bronwan December 18, 2008

Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I made them years ago and then lost the recipe and have searched over and over for it. These are so delicious and so Christmasy. I was thrilled to be able to make them again for my family and they will be a tradition from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divinemom5 January 05, 2007
New Zealand Holly Cookies