Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / New York-Style Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    New York-Style Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2011

      It's a nice flavorful sauce, BUT....It's not a New York style pizza sauce by a long shot. This is more in line with a Spaghetti sauce. Yes, there is a difference. I was very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This recipe is a real find and with just minor changes is awesome! I do not like oregano so I left it out. Will decrease salt next time to 1/2 teaspoon. Used fire roasted tomatoes - my favorite. This is a very thick sauce so I added a splash of water to thin it out. Just put everything in blender if you want a smoother sauce - couldn't be easier. Still 5 stars and will become my go to recipe for pizza sauce. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      This is a super delicious pizza sauce!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2014

      We loved this sauce! So flavorful and I can't believe how easy it was to mix up. My only change for next time will be to use about half the amount of salt called for. Thanks so much for the great keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      REally good sauce recipe. I made this for a hamburger pizza and we loved it. Its easy to prepare, I don't think I will buy again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Very good sauce....nice flavor and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      I used crushed tomatoes instead of diced and it was PERFECT. All the cooking I do, I have never made my own sauce. Fabulous stuff. I did use fresh and dried oregano. This is a great recipe to make and freeze when the herbs are getting ready to die off in the garden!!! Will definitely make this again. UPDATE: My 6 yr old son wanted pizza last night so I had him make this sauce himself. He was so proud of the result!!! His was a bit pastey tasting this time -perhaps next time I will just add 1/2 the can of paste and then add more to taste. Love to keep this in the freezer for a quick pizza night. We used the blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      My family flipped over this sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      This is delicious! I have never thought to make my own pizza sauce, but it tastes way better than the stuff in a jar. I think it is the sugar...the slight sweetness really complements the savory cheese on the pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I normally am not a fan of sauce, but this was delicious! The only change I made was replacing thecan of diced tomatoes with a quarter cup of water, I may try wine next time, very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Turned out perfect! I added too much salt (my fault) but I added an 8oz can of tomato sauce and it was fine. So easy and so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Sauce was kind of good. I hate to compare it, but if I had to, I'd say it kind of tastes like Papa John's, but is seasoned better. Personally, I think it could use a little more garlic, but that's a personal taste. It also could just use a big pinch of sugar instead of 1 1/2 tsp, but again that's a personal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Was going to post this from Cooking Light for safekeeping as this is a very easy, delicious, low calorie sauce to whip up and tastes so much better than store bought! Thanks so much for putting this on the site!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      A great sauce and so easy. I didn't use fresh Basil because I didn't have any. Still was good, However, I am certain it would be even better with the fresh basil. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This sauce is excellent! We tried this as a quick sauce for calzones we made using Pillsbury dough and it turned out fantastic. The sauce is so easy to make and it was definitely the best part of the calzones. We also plan on using this sauce as a dip for cheese sticks during football season. Thank you so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Very yummy! We have tried several different preparations on tomatoes while maintaining the seasoning in the recipe and I have loved every one of them. I think I will use the same seasoning to make a marinara, a feat which I had previously sworn off as a task not worth the effort. It certainly is when it tastes like this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Wow, so simple yet so good. Fresh basil makes a big difference My family said it was the best pizza sauce I have made yet, so can't get better than that. I love how its "no cook" too. I put it in the blender to make a smooth version and that works well on less saucy thin crust pizzas. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      I loved this sauce! It was great-tasting and so easy. I only used 3/4 tsp. kosher salt and that seemed perfect. Thanks for posting:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      AMAZING! I was surprised at how incredibly tasty this sauce was, and how easy it was to make. I used dry herbs, adding a touch more just because I really love the strong flavours of basil and oregano. This was PERFECT on our pizzas and it's definitely filed away for future pizza nights! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was better than any sauce I have made for pizza. Had perfect flavor and consistency. Will use this from now on . Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for New York-Style Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (627 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.4
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    53%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1843.8 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites